Rahmer Wins Outlaw Tune Up Feature at Williams Grove

From Shawn Brouse

MECHANICSBURG, PA (September 25, 2020) — Mechanicsburg – Freddie Rahmer won his third sprint car feature of the season at Williams Grove Speedway on Friday night in the National Open Tune Up race and in doing so the Salfordville speedster expanded his lead in the season-long point standings with just two races to go in the season.

In the 358 sprint main, Derek Locke of Carlisle drove by point challenger Kevin Nouse to score the win and the track title in the division. The victory was also his third of the season at the track.

The 25-lap 410 sprint car main would go non-stop with Rahmer leading flag to flag.

On the opening lap with Rahmer at the helm, TJ Stutts, Anthony Macri and Robbie Kendall raced three-wide through the second corner for the second spot with Kendall coming away with the position.

Kendall would then chase Rahmer as he drew up on the rear of the field and by lap nine the leaders had traffic running directly in front of them.

The high line was the lane of choice on this night and Rahmer refused to drop off of the cushion to get around traffic.

This allowed the front four of Rahmer, Kendall, Macri and Stutts to bunch up and pull within half a straight away of each other while all the pilots waited for someone to pull the trigger and drop to the bottom lane.

Rahmer finally put himself into traffic on the 12th tour, bulling his way into the back of the pack and it was then that Kendall made his first bid for control although Rahmer was up to the task.

With 11 laps to go Rahmer made contact with the backmarker of Tim Glatfelter at the flagstand as he raced to stay at the front.

Moments later Lance Dewease slowed and pulled pitside while racing inside the top ten after also dropping out of the dash earlier in the night.

Kendall took a second stab at the lead, more contentious this time on the 17th tour when he dipped under Rahmer in the third and fourth turns only to come up short as Rahmer continued to refuse to forsake his cushion line around the oval.

After that Rahmer began to snake his way through the field and get away from Kendall as Anthony Macri and Brent Marks made moved in to overtake him.

In the end Rahmer took the win by 1.104 seconds over Macri, Marks, Kendall and Brian Montieth.

Sixth through 10th went to Stutts, Brian Brown, Matt Campbell, Danny Dietrich and Kyle Reinhardt.

With three laps to go, Stutts nearly spun on the turn two cushion but recovered while Danny Dietrich did spin to avoid direct contact before continuing on. At the time, both drivers were vying for a top-five finish.

Heats went to Rahmer, Dewease and Macri with Jeff Halligan scoring the consolation and Rahmer winning the dash to earn the pole for the main event.

Stutts set fast time with a lap of 16.629 seconds.

Kevin Nouse took the lead at the start of the 358 sprint main with the track title awaiting at the end of the 20-lap distance.

Derek Locke started the race in third and watched as Nouse took the lead when action began.

The red flag appeared with two laps recorded for a six-car pile up in the second turn.

When action resumed Locke lined up second and immediately went to work on Nouse for the lead.

He worked either side of the speedway with smooth precision to draw even with Nouse more than once before finally driving by with an outside move in the second turn on lap six.

Once at the front, Locke drove away to the third oval win of his career and of the season while also wrapping up the 2020 track title over Nouse.

Nouse was second in the race followed by Brett Wanner, Steve Owings and Alyson Dietz.

Heats went to Dietz, Nouse and Locke with the last chance race going to Scott Fisher.

Williams Grove Speedway
Mechanicsburg, Pennsylvania
Friday September 25, 2020

Winged 410 Sprint Cars

1. 11T-T.J. Stutts, 16.629
2. 69K-Lance Dewease, 16.759
3. 39M-Anthony Macri, 16.785
4. 51-Freddie Rahmer, 16.840
5. 21-Brian Montieth, 16.898
6. 1X-Chad Trout, 16.906
7. 5C-Dylan Cisney, 16.920
8. 21B-Brian Brown, 16.966
9. 55K-Robbie Kendall, 17.010
10. 1Z-Logan Wagner, 17.075
11. 48-Danny Dietrich, 17.079
12. 1W-Matt Campbell, 17.091
13. 5M-Brent Marks, 17.150
14. 91-Kyle Reinhardt, 17.231
15. 69-Tim Glatfelter, 17.262
16. 19M-Landon Myers, 17.275
17. 24-Lucas Wolfe, 17.280
18. 19-Troy Wagaman, 17.330
19. 45-Jeff Halligan, 17.338
20. 4R-Doug Hammaker, 17.342
21. 75-Nicole Bower, 17.344
22. 39-Justin Peck, 17.351
23. 17B-Steve Buckwalter, 17.408
24. 12S-Brent Shearer, 17.421
25. 99M-Kyle Moody, 17.482
26. 38-Mark Smith, 17.566
27. 27S-Adrian Shaffer, 17.601
28. 73B-Brett Michalski, 17.813
29. 12W-Troy Fraker, 18.378

Heat Race #1:
1. 51-Freddie Rahmer
2. 11t-Tj Stutts
3. 5m-Brent Marks
4. 5c-Dylan Cisney
5. 1z-Logan Wagner
6. 19m-Landon Myers
7. 39-Justin Peck
8. 45-Jeff Halligan
9. 99m-Kyle Moody
10. 73b-Brett Michalski

Heat Race #2:
1. 69k-Lance Dewease
2. 21-Brian Montieth
3. 21b-Brian Brown
4. 48-Danny Dietrich
5. 91-Kyle Reinhardt
6. 24-Lucas Wolfe
7. 38-Mark Smith
8. 17b-Steve Buckwalter
9. 4r-Doug Hammaker
10. 12w-Troy Fraker

Heat Race #3:
1. 39m-Anthony Macri
2. 55k-Robbie Kendall
3. 1x-Chad Trout
4. 1w-Matt Campbell
5. 19-Troy Wagaman
6. 69-Tim Glatfelter
7. 75-Nicole Bower
8. 12s-Brent Shearer
9. 27s-Adrian Shaffer

1. 51-Freddie Rahmer
2. 55k-Robbie Kendall
3. 11t-T.J. Stutts
4. 39m-Anthony Macri
5. 21-Brian Montieth
7. 69k-Lance Dewease

1. 45-Jeff Halligan
2. 39-Justin Peck
3. 17b-Steve Buckwalter
4. 4r-Doug Hammaker
5. 38-Mark Smith
6. 99m-Kyle Moody
7. 12s-Brent Shearer
8. 27s-Adrian Shaffer
9. 73b-Brett Michalski
10. 75-Nicole Bower
11. 12w-Troy Fraker

1. 51-Freddie Rahmer
2. 55k-Robbie Kendall
3. 11t-T.J. Stutts
4. 39m-Anthony Macri
5. 21b-Brian Brown
6. 69k-Lance Dewease
7. 21-Brian Montieth
8. 5m-Brent Marks
9. 48-Danny Dietrich
10. 1w-Matt Campbell
11. 5c-Dylan Cisney
12. 1x-Chad Trout
13. 91-Kyle Reinhardt
14. 1z-Logan Wagner
15. 24-Lucas Wolfe
16. 19m-Landon Myers
17. 19-Troy Wagaman
18. 69-Tim Glatfelter
19. 39-Justin Peck
20. 45-Jeff Halligan
21. 17b-Steve Buckwalter
22. 99m-Kyle Moody
23. 4r-Doug Hammaker
24. 38-Mark Smith

Winged 358 Sprint Cars

1. Derek Locke
2. Kevin Nouse
3. Brett Wanner
4. Steve Owings
5. Alyson Dietz
6. Chad Criswell
7. Chris Arnold
8. Steve Wilbur
9. Dylan Norris
10. Zach Newlin
11. Tyler Brehm
12. Scott Fisher
13. Matt Findley
14. Wyatt Hinkle
15. Cody Fletcher
16. Jordan Givler
17. Chris Frank
18. Justin Foster
19. Russell Hammaker
20. Mark Van Vorst
21. Hannah Riser
22. Ashley Capetta
23. Dylan Orwig
24. Steve Kissmaore