ASCS Southwest Glory Belongs to Imperial at Arizona Speedway

J.T. Imperial. (Ron Gilson photo)

From Bryan Hulbert

QUEEN CREEK, Ariz. (April 3, 2021) – Taking the lead on Lap 14, the No. 75x of JT Imperial held off the charge of Colton Hardy for Saturday night’s top prize with the ASCS Southwest Region at Arizona Speedway.

Winning by 0.678-seconds over Hardy, the two were joined on the podium by New Mexico’s Lorne Wofford. Making it a trend, Lorne’s sons Wes and Vance were in tow at the finish. Making up ground from 20th, Chris Bonneau crossed sixth with Nick Parker in seventh.

Having led the opening 13 revolutions, John Carney II fell back to 13th after contact between he and Imperial. Able to continue, Carney made it back to eighth. Logan Calderwood was ninth, with Charles Davis, Jr. moving from last to 10th.

The next event for the ASCS Southwest Region is currently in the air as the track works out a new schedule. Getting a last-minute extension on the lease by the Arizona Land Department, the one-third-mile oval will continue to operate until November 30, 2021.

Updates on the 2021 lineup will be posted to

ASCS Southwest Sprint Car Region
Arizona Speedway
Queen Creek, Arizona
Saturday April 3, 2021

Heat Race #1 (8 Laps)
1. 41-Colton Hardy[6]
2. 01-John Carney[8]
3. 2-Alex Pettas[2]
4. 44-Eric Wilkins[4]
5. 2B-Billy Chester III[7]
6. 50S-Rocky Silva[3]
7. 15-Chris Bonneau[5]
8. 29-Darrell Sickles[1]

Heat Race #2 (8 Laps)
1. 75X-JT Imperial[3]
2. 57-Jayme Barnes[4]
3. 6-Logan Calderwood[1]
4. 19-Wes Wofford[6]
5. 12-Jesse Stonecipher[5]
6. 14-Cody Sickles[2]
7. 71H-Robert Horsley[7]

Heat Race #3 (8 Laps)
1. 115-Nick Parker[3]
2. 18-Lorne Wofford[4]
3. 116-Vance Wofford[6]
4. 19AZ-Hayden Reinbold[2]
5. 4-Tuesday Calderwood[5]
6. 7-Mark Clark[1]
DNS: 47-Charles Davis Jr

A-Main (25 Laps)
1. 75X-JT Imperial[3]
2. 41-Colton Hardy[4]
3. 18-Lorne Wofford[7]
4. 19-Wes Wofford[5]
5. 116-Vance Wofford[6]
6. 15-Chris Bonneau[20]
7. 115-Nick Parker[1]
8. 01-John Carney[2]
9. 6-Logan Calderwood[10]
10. 47-Charles Davis Jr[22]
11. 12-Jesse Stonecipher[14]
12. 2B-Billy Chester III[12]
13. 7-Mark Clark[19]
14. 50S-Rocky Silva[16]
15. 4-Tuesday Calderwood[15]
16. 29-Darrell Sickles[21]
17. 44-Eric Wilkins[11]
18. 19AZ-Hayden Reinbold[13]
19. 57-Jayme Barnes[8]
20. 2-Alex Pettas[9]
21. 14-Cody Sickles[17]
22. 71H-Robert Horsley[18]