Henderson Opens Championhip Weekend at Husets with Feature Victory

14 - Justin Henderson (Serena Dalhamer photo)

From ILP
Justin Henderson, Nick Barger and Cory Yeigh posted victories on Saturday at Huset’s Speedway during the penultimate night of Championship Weekend.

Henderson is one step closer to winning the Casey’s 410 Sprint Cars presented by Big Frig track championship as he added to his points lead entering the season finale on Sunday thanks to a dominating performance on Saturday evening when the Buffalo Wild Wings Northern Outlaw Sprint Association sanctioned the action.

Henderson led all 25 laps during the feature, which was broken up by cautions on Lap 8, Lap 16, Lap 18, Lap 19 and Lap 24 – the final stoppage creating a green-white-checkered finish that took Henderson out of traffic.

Henderson, whose lead was dwindled down to less than half a second as traffic was side by side in front of him prior to the caution, made the most of the clear track for the final restart and he pulled away to win by 1.396 seconds.

“I’m really proud of these guys and really proud to be on the front stretch, and going to be extremely happy to win the championship tomorrow,” he said in Victory Lane.

Matt Juhl came out on top of a spirited battle for the runner-up position.

“The car felt great,” he said. “I just could not get any great restarts. I felt good in (turns) one and two and everybody was kind of the same in (turns) three and four. It would have gotten fun there (without the final caution), but that’s racing.”

Mark Dobmeier rallied from 10th to round out the podium.

“Overall it was a great Huset’s track,” he said. “We just got ourselves behind the eight ball early. We had an excellent car, especially on long green-flag runs. That last yellow, I didn’t really want to see it because we had Henderson and Juhl right there, lapped cars all in the way. I was really licking my chops there.”

Brooke Tatnell finished fourth and Ryan Timms charged from the back of the field following an early incident to a fifth-place result. Timms was running second when he brought out the first caution of the race after jumping the cushion and spinning in turns three and four on Lap 8.

Timms and Juhl set quick time during their qualifying groups. Timms, Jack Dover, Skylar Prochaska and Jade Hastings each won a heat race. Colin Smith captured the B Main.

Barger produced his first career sprint car win as he led the distance of the 20-lap Wyffels Hybrids RaceSaver Sprint Car Series A Main.

“It’s pretty incredible,” he said. “It’s been a long road. I’m just happy to get one done.”

Bayley Ballenger earned a second-place showing with Lee Goos Jr. charging from 20th to third. Brandon Bosma advanced from 15th to fourth and points leader Dusty Ballenger hustled from 18th to fifth.

Taylor Ryan, Shane Fick, Barger and Ty Hanten won the heat races. Whitley Barr garnered the B Main.

Northern Outlaw Sprint Association
Huset’s Speedway
Brandon, South Dakota
Saturday, September 25, 2021

Winged 410 Sprint Carson

Qualifying A (2 Laps)
1. 5T-Ryan Timms, 10.822[1]
2. 7-Justin Henderson, 11.081[7]
3. 16-Brooke Tatnell, 11.142[2]
4. 11M-Brendan Mullen, 11.229[3]
5. 13-Mark Dobmeier, 11.294[10]
6. 81-Jack Dover, 11.386[11]
7. 22-Riley Goodno, 11.424[13]
8. 14-Jody Rosenboom, 11.431[4]
9. 14T-Tim Estenson, 11.440[8]
10. 10S-Josh Swangler, 11.458[6]
11. 05-Colin Smith, 11.562[14]
12. 10J-Justin Jacobsma, 11.727[5]
13. 0X-Alex Schriever, 12.001[12]
14. (DQ) 37-Sye Anderson, 11.895[9]

Qualifying B (2 Laps)
1. 09-Matt Juhl, 11.227[8]
2. 27-Carson McCarl, 11.237[3]
3. 9N-Wade Nygaard, 11.271[14]
4. ACE-Dusty Zomer, 11.396[9]
5. 99-Jordan Graham, 11.430[7]
6. 8H-Jade Hastings, 11.449[10]
7. 35-Skylar Prochaska, 11.472[1]
8. 17-Zach Omdahl, 11.540[11]
9. 8-Jack Croaker, 11.655[4]
10. 0-Nick Omdahl, 11.707[6]
11. 4W-Matt Wasmund, 11.801[12]
12. 11X-Donovan Peterson, 11.927[5]
13. 20A-Jordan Adams, 12.077[2]
DNS: 101-Chuck McGillivray, 12.077

Heat Race #1 (10 Laps)
1. 5T-Ryan Timms[4]
2. 13-Mark Dobmeier[2]
3. 22-Riley Goodno[1]
4. 16-Brooke Tatnell[3]
5. 14-Jody Rosenboom[5]
6. 05-Colin Smith[6]
7. 0X-Alex Schriever[7]

Heat Race #2 (10 Laps)
1. 81-Jack Dover[2]
2. 14T-Tim Estenson[1]
3. 7-Justin Henderson[4]
4. 11M-Brendan Mullen[3]
5. 37-Sye Anderson[7]
6. 10S-Josh Swangler[5]
7. 10J-Justin Jacobsma[6]

Heat Race #3 (10 Laps)
1. 35-Skylar Prochaska[1]
2. 9N-Wade Nygaard[3]
3. 09-Matt Juhl[4]
4. 99-Jordan Graham[2]
5. 8-Jack Croaker[5]
6. 20A-Jordan Adams[7]
7. 4W-Matt Wasmund[6]

Heat Race #4 (10 Laps)
1. 8H-Jade Hastings[2]
2. 27-Carson McCarl[4]
3. ACE-Dusty Zomer[3]
4. 17-Zach Omdahl[1]
5. 0-Nick Omdahl[5]
6. 11X-Donovan Peterson[6]
7. 101-Chuck McGillivray[7]

B-Main (12 Laps)
1. 05-Colin Smith[3]
2. 4W-Matt Wasmund[2]
3. 0X-Alex Schriever[6]
4. 20A-Jordan Adams[4]
5. 101-Chuck McGillivray[7]
6. 10S-Josh Swangler[1]
DNS: 10J-Justin Jacobsma
DNS: 11X-Donovan Peterson

A-Main (25 Laps)
1. 7-Justin Henderson[1]
2. 09-Matt Juhl[5]
3. 13-Mark Dobmeier[10]
4. 16-Brooke Tatnell[4]
5. 5T-Ryan Timms[2]
6. 27-Carson McCarl[8]
7. 14-Jody Rosenboom[17]
8. 8H-Jade Hastings[6]
9. 22-Riley Goodno[13]
10. 11M-Brendan Mullen[14]
11. 8-Jack Croaker[18]
12. 05-Colin Smith[21]
13. 20A-Jordan Adams[24]
14. 99-Jordan Graham[15]
15. 4W-Matt Wasmund[22]
16. 9N-Wade Nygaard[9]
17. 0-Nick Omdahl[19]
18. 0X-Alex Schriever[23]
19. 35-Skylar Prochaska[3]
20. ACE-Dusty Zomer[12]
21. 17-Zach Omdahl[16]
22. 14T-Tim Estenson[11]
23. 81-Jack Dover[7]
24. 37-Sye Anderson[20]

Winged 305 Sprint Cars

Gunderson Racing Inc Heat Race #1 (8 Laps)
1. 77-Taylor Ryan[1]
2. X-Josh Sterrett[4]
3. 8K-Micah Slendy[5]
4. 17V-Casey Abbas[6]
5. 40-Whitley Barr[3]
6. 18-Dalton Domagala[7]
DNS: 8-Jacob Hughes

Keizer Wheels Heat Race #2 (8 Laps)
1. 7-Shane Fick[1]
2. 7L-Jesse Lindberg[2]
3. 69-Mike Moore[4]
4. 5-Stu Snyder[5]
5. 22W-Aaron Werner[3]
6. 3M-Marcus Rothenbacher[6]
7. 86-Aaron Penning[7]

Saldana Racing Products Heat Race #3 (8 Laps)
1. 14-Nick Barger[1]
2. 81-Jared Jansen[2]
3. 12L-John Lambertz[3]
4. 23-Brandon Bosma[4]
5. 17-Lee Goos Jr[5]
6. 2D-Dusty Ballenger[6]
7. 11S-Logan Kafka[7]

Heat Race #4 (8 Laps)
1. 32T-Trefer Waller[3]
2. 13-Ty Hanten[2]
3. 6B-Bayley Ballenger[6]
4. F5-Tim Rustad[4]
5. M00-Courtney Stambeck[1]
6. 98-Nate Barger[5]

B-Main (10 Laps)
1. 40-Whitley Barr[1]
2. 2D-Dusty Ballenger[7]
3. 22W-Aaron Werner[2]
4. 17-Lee Goos Jr[3]
5. 3M-Marcus Rothenbacher[6]
6. 98-Nate Barger[10]
7. 11S-Logan Kafka[9]
8. M00-Courtney Stambeck[4]
DNS: 18-Dalton Domagala
DNS: 8-Jacob Hughes
DNS: 86-Aaron Penning

A-Main (20 Laps)
1. 14-Nick Barger[3]
2. 6B-Bayley Ballenger[4]
3. 17-Lee Goos Jr[20]
4. 23-Brandon Bosma[15]
5. 2D-Dusty Ballenger[18]
6. 7L-Jesse Lindberg[7]
7. 81-Jared Jansen[11]
8. 13-Ty Hanten[5]
9. 17V-Casey Abbas[13]
10. 77-Taylor Ryan[9]
11. 32T-Trefer Waller[6]
12. 22W-Aaron Werner[19]
13. F5-Tim Rustad[16]
14. 40-Whitley Barr[17]
15. X-Josh Sterrett[10]
16. 8K-Micah Slendy[1]
17. 12L-John Lambertz[2]
18. 69-Mike Moore[12]
19. 5-Stu Snyder[14]
20. 7-Shane Fick[8]