Duncan Wins FAST Feature at Muskingum County

Cole Duncan. (Dan McFarland photo)

From Aaron Fry

DRESDEN, Ohio (August 5, 2023) — The Muskingum County Speedway paid special tribute to the late Louis Morosco on Saturday night with the Ti22 Performance FAST on Dirt series. Morosco, a racer himself, purchased the land in 1939 to build Zanesville Speedway, where the Moran family now operates the facility as we know it today.

What the field lacked in numbers was more than made up with the quality of the 16 sprint cars who signed in for competition. Sean Rayhall set quick time in ARP Fasteners qualifying to lead group one, then, ironically, former World of Outlaw Rookie of the Year Brandon Wimmer led group 2 with an identical 13.627 second lap. The pair of caution free heat races were won by 2019 tour champion Cole Duncan and third in current tour points Danny Sams III.

Cole Duncan would draw the pole position for the 30-lap main event and bring the field to green alongside Jordan Ryan with Sams and Rayhall in row 2 while Wimmer and Jake Hesson started from the third row. Duncan wasted no time in getting to the lead early but pressure came quickly from Hesson who had his mount working well on the high side. Hesson was able to take the lead on lap 9, but the lead was short lived as Duncan got back by, then Hesson spun in front of the field in turn 2 bringing out the first of 3 cautions.

Back under green, it was seventh starting Brandon Spithaler who appeared to be the threat to the leader as he closed in to wage a torrid battle at the point. The battle between the pair of 22 cars was slowed 2 more times late for a stalled car of Bradley Ashford and a spin by Lee Haskins. But in the final shootout, Duncan proved strong enough to hold off the current tour point leader, forcing Spithaler to settle for second with Brandon Wimmer finishing third.

The story of the night for many was Ricky Peterson and his team, who had engine trouble in qualifying and the heat race, then pulled an engine change on a night that moved through the program very quickly. Peterson started 16th in the main event, passing 5 cars in the opening 5 laps, then rolling on to a fourth-place finish and earn the Indy Race Parts “Hard Charger” award. Jordan Ryan completed a very stout top 5 finishers. The rest of the top 10 included Rayhall, Bryan Nuckles, Sams, Hesson and Jeremy Weaver.

The next event for the FAST on Dirt tour is Saturday, August 26 at Lernerville Speedway. Then, a week later, the tour will invade Pittsburgh’s Pennsylvania Motor Speedway on Saturday, September 2 with the following day being the prestigious Pete Jacobs Memorial at Wayne County Speedway! Make plans to join us as the 2023 season begins to wind down.

FAST on Dirt Sprint Car Series
Muskingum County Raceway
Dresden, Ohio
Saturday, August 5, 2023

Qualifying A
1. 19-Sean Rayhall, 13.627[1]
2. 22-Brandon Spithaler, 13.687[5]
3. 25R-Jordan Ryan, 13.748[7]
4. 22D-Cole Duncan, 13.807[3]
5. 23JR-Jack Sodeman Jr, 13.999[4]
6. 4-Danny Smith, 14.330[6]
7. 4X-Bradley Ashford, 14.437[2]
8. 1B-Keith Baxter, 14.703[8]

Qualifying B
1. 5H-Jake Hesson, 13.908[6]
2. 24D-Danny Sams III, 14.019[7]
3. 5-Jeremy Weaver, 14.068[3]
4. 59-Bryan Nuckles, 14.134[2]
5. TA79-Devin Moran, 14.300[1]
6. 2-Ricky Peterson, 14.317[4]
7. 24H-Lee Haskins, 15.034[5]
8. A79-Brandon Wimmer[8]

Heat Race #1 (8 Laps)
1. 22D-Cole Duncan[1]
2. 25R-Jordan Ryan[2]
3. 22-Brandon Spithaler[3]
4. 19-Sean Rayhall[4]
5. 23JR-Jack Sodeman Jr[5]
6. 4-Danny Smith[6]
7. 1B-Keith Baxter[8]
8. 4X-Bradley Ashford[7]

Heat Race #2 (8 Laps)
1. 24D-Danny Sams III[2]
2. 5H-Jake Hesson[3]
3. A79-Brandon Wimmer[4]
4. 5-Jeremy Weaver[1]
5. 59-Bryan Nuckles[5]
6. TA79-Devin Moran[6]
7. 24H-Lee Haskins[8]
8. 2-Ricky Peterson[7]

Feature (30 Laps)
1. 22D-Cole Duncan[1]
2. 22-Brandon Spithaler[7]
3. A79-Brandon Wimmer[5]
4. 2-Ricky Peterson[16]
5. 25R-Jordan Ryan[2]
6. 19-Sean Rayhall[4]
7. 59-Bryan Nuckles[10]
8. 24D-Danny Sams III[3]
9. 5H-Jake Hesson[6]
10. 5-Jeremy Weaver[8]
11. 4-Danny Smith[11]
12. 1B-Keith Baxter[13]
13. TA79-Devin Moran[12]
14. 24H-Lee Haskins[14]
15. 23JR-Jack Sodeman Jr[9]
16. 4X-Bradley Ashford[15]