2010 ISMA Season Comes to a Close at Awards Banquet Nov. 13

From Carol Haynes

Oswego, NY – The Turning Stone Casino’s Shenendoah Clubhouse was the backdrop for the 28th annual International SuperModified Association Awards Banquet, Saturday Nov. 13. For the first time in a while, a new champion was crowned after almost a decade of domination by the Vic Miller-Chris Perley team. The 2010 owner and driver champions were not entirely strangers to the title however. Although it was a first ISMA championship for car owner Jeff Holbrook, it was a record-setting seventh for Pelham, NH driver Russ Wood. The top 20 owners and drivers and the top drivers in the separate driver’s point fund, were presented with their plaques and checks with Wood and Holbrook carrying home the $10,000 winner’s check and the huge trophy that is kept by the winner. Chris Perley passed on the trophy to Wood with a few humorous quips about how he’d taken it around to various places ala Stanley Cup style.

Wood acknowledged that this title was a team effort for the Holbrook 29 team and he thanked his crew, car owner Holbrook, who unfortunately was out of town, and all those who helped make it happen. He also acknowledged enjoying the battle between him and second place finisher Mike Lichty in a point-swapping fight that went down to the finale at Thompson.

The other annual awards were then presented. As voted on by the ISMA membership, car owner Brad Lichty was awarded the Mechanic of the Year honor as sponsored by Slice n Go Deli of Fulton, NY.

The Randy Witkum Memorial Rookie title went to Joey Scanlon in the Budnick 88. It is the second year in the row that Budnick’s car has produced the ISMA rookie. Shea Concrete sponsors this award, which features a jacket and a $500 check, as does the Mechanic of the Year.

Other awards and their winners: Most Improved Driver, Dave Duggan; Support Award, president Howie Lane; Gater Racing News Most Popular Driver (fan vote), Bobby Bond; Achievement Award, Mike Lichty; Race Threads Crew of the Year, Brad and Mike Lichty and the PATCO team; Lois Matczak Memorial Award, Delores Murphy; Jim Soule Dedication Award, Brad Lichty and finally, the Jim Shampine Memorial Award, Dennis Heppell.

By luck of the draw, Russ Wood won the Seymour Enterprises helmet, donated each year by Bobby Seymour and Vic Miller, again by a draw, won the BS&B Radiator (London, Ont) new radiator.

A very special award – a lifetime honorary Board Membership went to past ISMA president, Board member and current head Tech man, Jack Murphy for his dedication and service to ISMA and the sport of racing that has carried through seven decades.

With the ISMA officers still in place for another year, only 3 Board spots were up for grabs with Eddie Bellinger, Jerry Kritzman and Mark Burns elected to 3-year terms. It was also announced that Kritzman would once again be the full-time Race Director.

Meeting during the day opened up some handicapping and small rule changes for the 2011 season and a very tentative schedule was put out to those on hand with one new venue to date, Autodrome Chaudiere in Quebec, on the slate for July. The official schedule will be announced when finalized, as there are talks with several other tracks still in progress at this time.

Bob Gangwer was the capable master of ceremonies and Whirlin’ Disc DJ’s Kasey provided the post ceremony entertainment.