Daggett Nabs Another ASCS SOD Win at Ionia Free Fair!

By Mike Strevel

IONIA, Mich. (July 22, 2011) – Dustin Daggett took his fifth Engine Pro ASCS Sprints on Dirt Presented by ARP checkered flag of the season in Friday night’s 25-lap main event at the half-mile, Ionia Fairgrounds Speedway.

Daggett tacked on his 81st career series win and second in a row at the Ionia Free Fair as the series made its fourth annual appearance at the world’s largest free fair.

The Portland, MI, shoe gridded the feature field fifth, working to the top spot in the non-stop affair, the third such caution-free ASCS SOD feature of the year. An incredible battle developed mid-race when 2010 champion Ryan Grubaugh started to feel the pressure from Daggett.

After running side-by-side for two laps, Daggett made his move on lap 16 diving into turn one and coming out with the lead out of turn two. Daggett then held onto the lead after being challenged by Grubaugh and Ryan Ruhl. The feature winner in his Maxim chassis was able to capture the $1,200 first prize after that challenge.

Daggett stated, “I just love running at these big go-fast tracks, it was hard to pass here but I gave it a try and was able to get under Ryan”

The winner of the Engine Pro ASCS Sprints on Dirt Presented by ARP feature thanked his sponsors including Miles Petroleum, Sweet Manufacturing, Glen’s Gas & Welding, Steve Winnie Auto Sales and Richardson Farms and the great fans of the Ionia Free Fair.

The top five finishers of the feature race for the Engine Pro ASCS Sprints on Dirt Presented by ARP were Daggett, Grubaugh, Ryan Ruhl, Brett Mann and Joe Bares.

Heat race wins were captured by Joe Bares, Mann and Daggett. The fast car dash went to Andy Teunnesen.

Engine Pro ASCS Sprints on Dirt Presented by ARP Results-
Friday July 22, 2011
Ionia Fair Speedway-Ionia, MI
Car Count (17)

Heat Races (Top 16 in passing points transfer to the “A” Feature)

Engler Machine and Tool Heat Race #1 (8 laps): 1. 91 Joe Bares, 2. 25m Ken Mackey, 3. 3w Ryan Ruhl, 4. 2G Joe Griebe, 5. 29s Marques Huffer. DNS: 8 Tim Champlin.

Lane Automotive/Comp Cams Heat Race #2 (8 Laps): 1. 19s Brett Mann, 2. 46 Robert Huisken, 3. 73 Dusty Shriver 4. 70 Jim Lingar 5. 21 Matt Lumbert 6. 2t Ralph Brakenberry.

ARP Fasteners Heat Race #3 (8 Laps): 1. 2m Dustin Daggett , 2. 00 Ryan Grubaugh, 3. 31 Andy Teunnesen, 4. 88 Mike Daggett 5.10 Davey Brown.

Gaerte Engines Fast Car Dash (4 Laps): 1. 31 Andy Teunnesen2. 88 Mike Daggett 3. 2G Joe Griebe 4. 70 Jim Lingar.

Engine Pro ASCS Sprints on Dirt Presented by ARP “A” Feature

“A” Feature (25 Laps): 1. 2m Dustin Daggett, 2. 00 Ryan Grubaugh, 3. 3w Ryan Ruhl, 4. 19s Bret Mann, 5. 91 Joe Bares, 6. 25m Ken Mackey, 7. 88 Mike Daggett 8. 31 Andy Teunnesen 9. 46 Robert Huisken 10. 10 Davey Brown 11. 73 Dusty Shriver 12. 2G Joe Griebe 13. 21 Matt Lumbert 14. 70 Jim Lingar 15. 29s Marques Huffer. DNS: 2t Ralph Brakenberry, 8 Tim Champlin.

Engine Pro ASCS Sprints on Dirt presented by ARP Points (Top Ten): 1. Dustin Daggett 1,262, 2. Brett Mann 1,016, 3. Ryan Grubaugh 1,007, 4. Robert Huisken 958, 5. Davey Brown 898, 6. Jim Lingar 850, 7. Matt Lumbert 838, 8. Ryan Ruhl 756, 9. Marques Huffer 752, 10. Ken Mackey 748.