Chaney Wins at Wayne County

From WCS

Orrville, OH — (July 6, 2012) — The action at NAPA Auto Parts speedway was blazing hot just like the temperatures for Friday July 6th. It didn’t deter the fans and race teams as NAPA Auto Parts WCS had nice fields in all divisions and a good crowd came out for carload night.

In the Fisher Performance 410 Sprints Wooster, Ohio’s Danny Mumaw jumped out to the early lead with Andrew Palker, Rob Chaney, Cole Duncan and Alec Martin hot on his heels. Mumaw set a blistering pace early which forced Chaney to dive under Palker to take the second position. On lap six Palker’s tires warmed up and he flew back pass Chaney and set his sights on Mumaw. Palker stalked Mumaw and powered past him to take the lead bringing Chaney with him moving Chaney to second and Mumaw to third. Palker stretched his lead over the pack but on lap eight the caution flew for Chris Smith who spun out. When the racing resumed Palker held a comfortable lead but on lap sixteen the front runners avoided disaster as Smith spun again nearly collecting Mumaw who got back past Chaney for second, Chaney and Cole Duncan. It appeared Mumaw did make contact with the guardrail to avoid Smith who was stopped right in the high grove where Mumaw, Chaney and Duncan were running. As the green flag dropped and the racing heated back up Duncan began applying pressure to Chaney for the third position. Lap eighteen found sixteen starting Nathan Skaggs running in the fifth position. Skaggs started on the tail due to damage sustained in his heat race and was unable to finish his heat. Palker still held the lead but on lap twenty Chaney moved around Mumaw for second and tried catching the leader. Mumaw then was challenged by Duncan in a fierce battle for third. Duncan was able to overtake Mumaw for position. Eyes were on Chaney as he pushed his sprint car to the edge banging his right rear tire off the cushion lap after lap trying everything he could to catch the leader. On lap twenty three the race was halted for Alec Martin who flipped over the guard rail in turn two landing outside of the race track. Martin was ok but the car suffered heavy damage. On the restart Palker still held the point but Chaney was trying to catch him. On the final lap as both Palker and Chaney raced down the back stretch Chaney with a great run off turn two dove under Palker and slid past him to take the lead. As they came off turn four Chaney slipped high and Palker dove back under Chaney. The drag race to the finish line found Chaney taking the win narrowly ahead of Palker by 0.321 of a second. Finishing third was Andre Layfield who made a late race charge around Duncan. Skaggs rounded out the top five. Chaney and Mumaw won heat races. It was an emotional win for Chaney and car owner Vince and Tony Popa. Two week prior long time local sprint car racer Duffy Smith who raced for several years for the Popas was tragically killed in a car accident. Prior to the feature Jeff Smith lead the field to the green flag driving Duffy Smith’s sprint car in tribute to Duffy.

In the Lias Tire Super Late Model division Millersburg, Ohio’s Keith Berner jumped to the early lead ahead of Sydney Australian Ross Nicastri, Shane McLoughlin, Charlie Duncan and ninth starting Eric Myers. Berner immediately blasted away from the field and held a sizeable lead. The racing through the pack was intense as McLoughlin battled several laps to nose past Nicastri for second place. On lap thirteen Berner began flexing his muscles and stretched his lead to a straightaway lead of McLoughlin and Nicastri. Seventh starting Cory Conley battled door handle to door handle with Myers for fifth place for several laps. Conley used the highside and cushion while Myers took to the inside and the shorter way around. On lap fourteen the caution flag flew for DJ Miller who spun and collected Brad Malcuit. This erased the large lead Berner had built up. On the restart Conley slung shot around Myers and Duncan jumping up to the fourth position as Berner again pulled away from the field. Conley using the highside to catch third running Nicastri pressured him and pulled a crossover move where he dove under him to take the position. At the checkers it was Berner who took the win ahead of McLoughlin, Conley, Nicastri, Duncan and Myers. Berner, McLoughlin and Nicastri won heats; while George Lee won the B-Main.

In the Bremenour Electric Modifieds Adena Ohio’s Chris Basich jumped out to the early lead ahead of Dave Bodkins, Norm Aronhalt, Jim Nicely and Bruce Miller. Basich held the lead but Aronhalt had second place in his sights and he began pressuring Bodkins. Aronhalt pulled close to Bodkins but Bodkins slammed the door and held the second running position. Bodkins and Aronhalt continued this furious battle for second place as Basich still lead. Aronhalt not giving up took to the high side to try and pass Bodkins and on lap twelve Aronhalt was able to slip past to take second. Coming home the winner was Basich, he was followed by Aronhalt, Miller, Larry Kugel and Eric Singhaus. Aronhalt and Bodkins won heat races.

In the Thrifty Discount Muffler Pure Stocks at the drop of the green Chase Alexander and Gary Hoopingarner led the field to the green flag. The caution flag flew early as Victor Bunt hit the guardrail bringing out the caution. As the field continued Alexander and Hoopingarner got together and Hoopingarner spun into the infield and struck a uke tire thus ending his night. Jeremy Dickerson took the lead in the early stages and pulled away from the field. Josh Miller, Shaun Cains, Roger Drouhard and Gary Hensel were left to battle for positions in the top five. On lap thirteen Jamie Gibbs spun and brought out the caution. The late caution set up a green white checkers situation. At the finish line it was Dickerson taking home the win just ahead of Miller, Alexander, Hensel and Brandon Craver. Hoopingarner, Dickerson and Todd Werntz won heat races.

For additional information contact Jason or Kristin Flory at: 330-465-2365, or email at For news, updates and schedule visit the Wayne County Speedway website at Wayne County Speedway is located nine miles east of Wooster, or 15 miles west of Massillon on US Rt. 30, then one mile north on Carr Road.

Fisher Performance 410 Sprints (16 Cars)

Heat #1

1. Rob Chaney 2. Cole Duncan 3. Andre Layfield 4. Alec Martin 5. Shaun Hubler 6. Chris Smith 7. Nick Patterson 8. Chris Myers

Heat #2

1. Danny Mumaw 2. Andrew Palker 3. Jamie Myers 4. Mitch Harble 5. Wes McGlumphy 6. Josh Davis 7. Nick Patterson 8. Nathan Skaggs


1. Rob Chaney 2. Andrew Palker 3. Andre Layfield 4. Cole Duncan 5. Nathan Skaggs 6. Josh Davis 7. Chris Myers 8. Jamie Myers 9. Shawn Hubler 10. Wes McGlumphy 11. Nick Patterson (23) 12. Danny Mumaw 13. Alec Martin 14. Chris Smith 15. Mitch Harble 16. Nick Patterson (33)