trail-way speedway trail way logo

trail-way speedwayFrom Trail-Way Speedway

Hanover, PA (08/03/12) – Trail-Way’s all-time winningest driver took to the top side to score his first win of the year in the 25-lap “358” sprint car feature on Friday night.

“This car was hooked up!” said Brad McClelland after claiming his first Trail-Way win of the year, “I knew part-way through the race that I’d need to go to the top to win. I did, and the outside worked. I guess we got it with experience tonight.”

McClelland’s win from 12th starting spot also earned him the Big Mike’s Crabhouse hard charger award.

“I want to thank Steve Rucker and the Rucker family for putting me in this car,” said McClelland after claiming his 27th career Trail-Way 358 sprint win, “I also want to thank the Sneeringers. I was going through the pits looking for a gear, and Isaac and his team lent me one.”

McClelland, who is also Trail-Way’s all-time leading micro-sprint feature winner with 74, took the field to school is advancing to fifth by lap five. He caught Tim Wagaman for fourth on lap 10, passed Mike Bittinger for third on lap 18, drove around Randy Whisler for second on lap 19, and drove around polesitter and race-long leader Matt Boland for the lead in turn two of lap 21.

Boland settled for second, with Bittinger, Whisler, and Wagaman completing the top five. Sixth through tenth were points leader Kyle Moody (who came from the back after a spin on the initial start), Jordan Givler, Joe Trone, Jr., Jeff Rohrbaugh, and Austin Hogue. Both Rohrbaugh and Hogue came from the back after getting together on the backstretch of lap two.

Heats for the 20 “358” sprint cars were won by Whisler and Rohrbaugh.

Seth Kearchner passed both Zach Overmiller and race-long leader Josh Chess in turn four of lap 14 and drove away to an impressive four-second win in the 20-lap 1000cc “Sidewinder” micro-sprint feature.

Chess faded after the pass, and was the last car running (eighth) at the end.

Second through fifth were Overmiller, Reed Salony, Donnie Hendershot, and Jason Stahl.

The lone qualifier for the “Sidewinders” was won by Overmiller.

Jason Chronister turned around a dismal 2012 by picking up his first win in the 15-lap limited stock feature.

It was his first finish of the year after suspension and other mechanical-related issues, and Chronister quipped in victory lane that his year has been so bad that he was hoping for rain.

Chronister on the front row and led every lap.

Points leader Kyle Rohrbaugh came from tenth starting spot to finish second, with Cory Weishaar, Todd Miller, and Terry Hartlaub rounding out the top five.

Heats for the 19 limited stocks were won by Jason and Matt Chronister.

Saturday (8/4), Trail-Way will host the first Junk Car Demolition race of the season. Also on the schedule are the Limited Stocks, Scramble Cars, Figure 8s and Powder Puffs. Gates open at 4:00 p.m. with racing beginning at 6:00 p.m.

Next Friday (8/10), Trail-Way Speedway will host the 358 Sprint Cars and Limited Stocks. Also on the schedule are the 4-cylinder Stock Cars, which will compete in a qualifying race for the Miller Fall Classic. Gates open at 5:30 p.m. and racing begins at 7:30 p.m.

Next Saturday (8/11), Trail-Way will host the 600cc and 270cc Micro Sprints. Also on the schedule are the Central PA Legends Cars, Classic Cars, Scramble Cars, and Limited Stocks. Gates open at 4:30 p.m. with racing beginning at 6:30 p.m.

For all the latest news and related information from Trail-Way Speedway, fans are reminded to visit the speedway website at The complete story and agate from each race night is posted shortly after the final checkered falls.

Trail-Way Speedway August 3, 2012


358 Sprint Cars

Feature (25 Laps)

1. 6R-Brad McClelland; 2. 22T-Matt Boland; 3. 12-Mike Bittinger; 4. 64-Randy Whisler; 5. 1-Tim Wagaman; 6. 99M-Kyle Moody; 7. 90-Jordan Givler; 8. 99-Joe Trone, Jr.; 9. 45-Jeff Rohrbaugh; 10. 52-Austin Hogue; 11. 11D-Mike Duncan, Jr.; 12. 10-Zach Euculano; 13. 89-Ashley Cappetta; 14. 33- Brad Gleason; 15. 85-Nathan Berwager(DNF); 16. 00-Shane Smith(DNF); 17. 28-Keith Prutzman(DNF); DNS: 9-Wes Irwin; 83-Alex Spalding. No Time.

Lap Leaders- Matt Boland (1-20), Brad McClelland (21-25).

Heat 1 (10 Laps/All to Qualify)

1. 64-Randy Whisler; 2. 22T-Matt Boland; 3. 52-Austin Hogue; 4. 28-Keith Prutzman; 5. 19Z-Isaac Sneeringer; 6. 12-Mike Bittinger; 7. 9-Wes Irwin; 8. 00-Shane Smith; 9. 89-Ashley Cappetta; 10. 33-Brad Gleason. Time 2:24.63.

Heat 2 (10 Laps/All to Qualify)

1. 45-Jeff Rohrbaugh; 2. 6R-Brad McClelland; 3. 83-Alex Spalding; 4. 90-Jordan Givler; 5. 1-Tim Wagaman; 6. 99M-Kyle Moody; 7. 99-Joe Trone, Jr.; 8. 11D-Mike Duncan, Jr.; 9. 85-Nate Berwager; 10. 10-Zach Euculano(DNF). Time 2:23.35.