Stinson Stops Sprints at Atomic Speedway

From Scott Wolfe


Chillicothe, OH — (May 17, 2014) —  Vandalia, Ohio’s Jimmy Stinson, aboard the Jamie Miller-owned 6s, claimed the biggest win of the night by outdistancing early leader Ryan Broughton in the Pine Tree Towing and Recovery 410 Sprint Car main.  Kenny “Worth the Price of Admission” Johnson lived up to his namesake by holding off the challenges of K-C Burdette for a photo finish in the Advanced Services AMRA Octane Modified 20-lap main and Dean Boyd pulled off his fourth win of the year in the Street Stock main after a torrid race-long battle with Adam Jones.

Twenty-eight of the finest sprint cars in the Midwest sorted through three qualifying heat races, and an eye-opening b-main to set the line-up for an exciting A-main. The trace was tacky, fast, and racy throughout the night with multi-groove passing from start  finish.

Ryan Broughton got the jump on Danny Smith at the start of the event and withstood the challenges of a stacked-field for the first 17 laps.  In the early stages of the race, heat winner Ronnie Blair jumped the cushion was shuffled out of the top ten as was youngster Kory Crabtree.  On lap four Smith suffered a similar fate and was shuffled back to fourth behind Broughton, Stinson, and Mitchell Harble.

Two laps later Smith again jumped the cushion and sailed off the turn two embankment.  That set the stage for one of many spectacular drives up through the pack.  Ryan Myers suffered a flat tire in the heat race after anchoring a transfer spot. The flat delegated him a spot in the b-main where he started 11th and blasted to fourth. That in turn pitted Myers in a 19th place starting spot that set the stage for a hard-charging 19th to fourth place run that earned the Lewisburg, Ohio driver the Hummel’s Factory Kahne Hard-charger award.

Meanwhile, Broughton continued to be the cream of the crop as the race leader. Mitchell Harble anchored a strong top three, the entire race while Aaron Higgins and Wes McGlumphy contended for a top five most of the race.  Only late race charges from Myers and Smith would shield these drivers from top five runs. On the 17th circuit, Jordan Harble spun with the leaders taking evasive                Stinson in the Claxton Mopar/Kahne Maxim #6 drove hard into turn one and alongside Broughton.  Side-by-side the two dueled into three where Stinson put the decisive slide job on the 22 car and sailed on to victory. Myers blasted into the top five and on the last lap Smith did the same with a barnstorming run past Higgins. Crabtree recovered to recover a top ten after his early bout with the cushion.

Rounding out the top ten were Stinson, Ryan Broughton, Mitchell Harble, Ryan Myers, Danny Smith, Aaron Higgins, Wes McGlumphy, Kory Crabtree, Todd Kane, and Mark Imler. The win was a clean sweep for Stinson who set fast time with an 11:491 and won the first                “We had a great car and a great race track tonight,” said Stinson. “It was fast everywhere, a little choppy and bumpy for all of us in places, but an exciting track to race on.  I’d like to thank my owner Jamie Miller for doing it all to get us here to victory lane and thanks to the fans for braving the weather and staying here for the finish. That had to be a great race to watch.”

THE SUMMARY:   May 17th, 2014


410 Sprints  (28)

Heat One- Jimmy Stinson, Mitchell Harble, Todd Kane, Aaron HIggins,  Cody Gardner,Jimmy Light,  Jordan Harble, Mark Coleman,

Heat Two- Ronnie Blair,Cole Duncan,  Mark Imler,Jesse McCreary, Josh Davis,  Jason Dollick, Nate Reeser, Rick Fraley, Dean Kester

Heat Three- Danny Smith, Ryan Broughton, Kory Crabtree, Wes McGlumphy,Trey Gustin, Brandy Bower, Eddie Slone,  Ryan Myers, John Shewbrooks

B-Main- Jimmy Light, Jordan Harble, Jason Dollick, Ryan Myers,  Eddie Slone, David Smith, John Shewbrooks, Mark Coleman, Rick Fraley, Dean Kester, Brandy Bower, Nate Reaser

Feature: Jimmy Stinson, Ryan Broughton, Mitchell Harble,Ryan Myers,  Danny Smith, Aaron Higgins,Wes McGlumphy, Kory Crabtree,Todd Kane, Mark Imler, Josh Davis,Trey Gustin,  Jesse McCreary, Ron Blair, David Smith, Jason Dolick, Jordan Harble, Cole Duncan, Jimmy Light, Cody Gardner