USAC Southwest Sprint Car featured during the Canyon Clash

Canyon Speedway Park Top Story

Canyon Speedway Park Top StoryFrom Lonnie Wheatley

Peoria, AZ — (April 28, 2015) — The spotlight shines Saturday night at Canyon Speedway Park as the wingless USAC Southwest Sprint Cars headline the Fifth Annual Canyon Clash atop the 1/3-mile clay oval near Phoenix.

Following an open practice on Friday from 6:00 p.m. to 9:00 p.m., Saturday’s Canyon Clash fires off at 7:00 p.m.

Along with the USAC Southwest forces, Saturday’s action also includes the 9th World Vapor IMCA Modifieds, Micro Sprints and Arizona Differential Pure Stocks.

While Charles Davis, Jr., defends his Canyon Clash title on Saturday, it’s reigning series champion R.J. Johnson that carries the hot hand into the much-anticipated tilt.

Johnson has reeled off three consecutive USAC Southwest triumphs, a streak that began with the March 28 Hank Arnold Memorial at CSP.

Johnson, who claimed three CSP triumphs last year in USAC Southwest action, has built a 37-point lead over Davis, Jr., in the series title chase on the strength of his three recent wins with Matt Rossi, Stevie Sussex and Mike Martin also among the current top five.

After Jeremy Sherman topped the inaugural pair of Canyon Clash events, Johnson took 2013 honors before Davis, Jr., outdueled Johnson to win the 2014 edition.