2016 Royal Purple NSRA Season Gets Underway At Ephrata Raceway Park This Saturday

2011 NSRA Northwest Sprintcar Racing Association
2011 NSRA Northwest Sprintcar Racing Association


By Ben Deatherage

2011 NSRA Northwest Sprintcar Racing Association
2011 NSRA Northwest Sprintcar Racing Association

Ephrata, Washington- After all of the months of waiting, Sprint Car racing on pavement returns to the Pacific Northwest.  The Royal Purple NSRA Sprints will return to Ephrata Raceway Park, in Ephrata, Washington, for the first time since 2011.

The historical ¼-mile paved oval will be hosting the Rebel Jackson Memorial ran in honor of the late legend Rebel Jackson.  Since 2003 ERP has hosted this prestigious event which preserves the memory of one of the legendary figures in Pacific Northwest history.  Rebel’s son, Rebel Jr., was a NSRA Supermodified champion in 1992 and 1993.

In nine Rebel Jackson Memorials there have been just four different winners.  Defending NSRA champ Matt Hein, who won the last three editions, and Craig Deaver are both tied with most at three.  Andy Alberding won the first running of the event as well as in 2005 to bring his total to two.  Sierra Jackson is the only driver to have managed to win the Rebel Jackson Memorial once.

Front Gates open at 5:00, Qualifying is scheduled to get kicked off around 5:30, and Racing begins at 7:00.  Ticket prices are Adults $14.00, Seniors/Students/Military $12.00, and 5 or Under is FREE.  Ephrata will be offering a Family Pass (consisting of 2 Adults and 3 Youths) for $35.00.  For more information either log on to www.ephrataracewaypark.com or follow them on Facebook.

Be sure and stay up to date with the NSRA by visiting the series website at www.nsraracing.com.  Also check out the official Facebook page and click “Like” to follow the tour via your favorite electronic devices.

Royal Purple is the proud title sponsor of the NSRA Pavement Sprint Car Series.  Royal Purple manufactures high performance lubricants for most automotive, industrial, marine, motorcycle and racing applications. It is considered the best synthetic motor oil by many end users.  For more information or to find a store that carries these wonderful products log on to www.royalpurpleconsumer.com.

Past Rebel Jackson Memorial Winners:

2003- Andy Alberding

2004- Craig Deaver

2005- Andy Alberding

2006- Craig Deaver

2007- Craig Deaver

2008- Sierra Jackson

2009- Matt Hein

2010- Matt Hein

2011- Matt Hein