2016 USAC United States Auto Club Logo Top Story Logo Top Story


By Lance Jennings2016 USAC United States Auto Club Logo Top Story


JUNE 1, 2016… This Saturday, June 4th, USAC Western States Midgets will make their second of three appearances at Bakersfield Speedway. Promoted by Scott Schweitzer, the fourth point race will also feature the USAC Super 600 Micro Sprints, Mid Cal Fabrication IMCA Modifieds, Johasee Rebar American Stocks, and Coca-Cola Mini Stocks. The Pit Gates will open at 2:00pm, the Front Gates will open at 4:00pm, and Racing is scheduled for 6:00pm at “The West’s Fastest 1/3-Mile High Banked Clay Oval.” For event information, visit the track’s website at or call 661.393.3373.


NOTICE TO RACERS: The USAC Western States Midget Series approved/legal mufflers are:

B&B: FRAC-0375-S  w/side outlet,

Coast Fabrication: 300x625x17-2s, 350x625x17-2s, 400x625x17-2s

Extreme: 3512-3030 (with insert 2312-30), 3512-3030 SS (with insert 2312-30), 3515-3030, 4615-3035- 15″ long x 6″ diameter x 3″ inlet and 3.5 outlet w/internal cone

Flowmaster: (BCRA Approved) 13009130, 1509130, 13509135

Shoenfeld: 14272735-78, 14272535

*Failure to comply with the muffler rule will risk disqualification from the event.


Since July 3, 1987, Bakersfield Speedway hosted 103 USAC Western States Midget races. P.J. Jones claimed the inaugural victory and Ronnie Gardner won the event on April 30th. Former champions Sleepy Tripp and Robby Flock are tied for the series lead with eight Bakersfield triumphs, followed by Billy Boat (7), Jay Drake (5), and “Flash” Jordan Hermansader (4). Heading into Saturday’s race, Ricky Shelton holds the 1-lap qualifying track record of 12.339, set on June 21, 1997.


Ronnie Gardner (Corona, California) has won all three races of the campaign and holds a 29-point advantage over the competition. Piloting the Six8 Motorsports’ #68 Baldozier Racing / Esslinger Engineering Stewart, Gardner has also posted one Woodland Auto Display Fast Time Award, three heat race victories and 52 feature laps led to his credit. Currently tied with P.J. Jones, Jason Leffler, and Rusty Rasmussen with sixteen triumphs, the three-time champion has won three of the last six shows at the Bakersfield oval. Ronnie will be looking to continue his championship bid with another victory this Saturday night.


Michael Faccinto (Hanford, California) is second in the chase for the championship. Racing the MF Motorsports’ #35F OSV / Lucas Oil Spike, Faccinto ran fourth at Ventura Raceway on May 21st. In addition, the second generation driver has one Woodland Auto Display Fast Time Award, three top-10 finishes, and 27 feature laps led on the year. Michael has two career wins and will have his sights on gaining valuable points with a victory at Bakersfield.


Sean Dodenhoff (Bakersfield, California) sits third in the USAC Western States Midget point chase. Driving his #9D Lightning Medical Pro / Torco Oil Spike, Dodenhoff scored twelfth in the Ventura main event. Entering Saturday’s action, the veteran racer has one heat race victory, two top-10 finishes, and 2 feature laps led on the season. Sean will be looking to break through and earn his first victory at his hometown track.


After scoring third at Ventura, Frankie Guerrini (San Rafael, California) has climbed to fourth in the point standings. Piloting the family owned #63 F&F Racing / Davis Motorsports Spike, Guerrini has one Competition Suspension Inc. / Rod End Supply Semi-Main win and three top-10 finishes in the campaign. The defending BCRA Champion will have his sights on moving up the standings by claiming his second career USAC win.


Tyler Dolacki (Fresno, California) has risen to fifth in the championship chase. Racing the family owned #18 Cite-Clean / Ultimate Oil Cleanup Beast, Dolacki charged from seventeenth to seventh at Ventura. To date, the young driver has one Competition Suspension Inc. / Rod End Supply Semi-Main win, two Keizer Aluminum Wheels / Rod End Supply Hard Charger Awards, and two top-10 finishes to his credit. Tyler will be looking to claim his first series win at Bakersfield Speedway.


Currently tenth in points, Robert Dalby (Anaheim, California) leads the chase for Rookie of the Year honors. Maria Cofer (Macdoel, California), Courtney Crone (Corona, California), Dylan Ito (Ventura, California), and Ashley Hazelton (Chatsworth, California) are also in contention.


Among the other drivers expected to be in action are Randi Pankratz, Cory Elliott, Cody Swanson, “The Panda Express” Terry Nichols, Troy Rutherford, “The Hawk” Darren Hagen, Shannon McQueen, Robby Josett, Alex Schutte, and more.


Bakersfield Speedway is located at 5001 North Chester Extension in Bakersfield, California. Advance tickets are on sale and for more event/ticket information, visit the track’s website at or call 661.393.3373.


The USAC Western States Midget Series thanks Hoosier Tire, Brown and Miller Racing Solutions, Competition Suspension Incorporated, DJ Safety, Diversified Machine Incorporated, Extreme Mufflers, Keizer Aluminum Wheels, Rod End Supply, Stand 21 Racer Goes Safer Foundation, Ultra Shield Race Products, and Woodland Auto Display for their support. If you or your company would like to become part of the series, email PR Director Lance Jennings at


For more information on the series, visit the United States Auto Club (USAC) website at You can also find exclusive content on the USAC Western States Midget Facebook and Twitter pages.


Loudpedal Productions has USAC Western States Midget DVDs and videos on demand available for purchase at and 805.407.7229.



1982*-Jeff Heywood, 1983-Sleepy Tripp, 1984-Tommy White, 1985-Sleepy Tripp, 1986-Robby Flock, 1987-Sleepy Tripp, 1988-Sleepy Tripp, 1989-Robby Flock, 1990-Sleepy Tripp, 1991-Sleepy Tripp, 1992-Sleepy Tripp, 1993-Robby Flock, 1994-Johnny Cofer, 1995-Billy Boat, 1996-Jay Drake, 1997-Ricky Shelton, 1998-Rick Hendrix, 1999-Marc DeBeaumont, 2000-Wally Pankratz, 2001-Danny Ebberts, 2002-Robby Flock, 2003-Steve Paden, 2004-Johnny Rodriguez, 2005-Jerome Rodela, 2006-Jerome Rodela, 2007-Johnny Rodriguez, 2008-Nic Faas, 2009-Garrett Hansen, 2010-Alex Schutte, 2011-Cory Kruseman, 2012-Shannon McQueen, 2013-Ronnie Gardner, 2014- Ronnie Gardner, 2015-Ronnie Gardner.



3-Ronnie Gardner.



8-Robby Flock, 8-Sleepy Tripp, 7-Billy Boat, 5-Jay Drake, 4-Jordan Hermansader, 3-Ronnie Gardner, 3-Steve Paden, 3-Ron Shuman, 3-Jimmy Sills, 3-Danny Stratton, 3-Josh Wise, 2-Hank Butcher, 2-Bob Davison, 2-Ronnie Day, 2-Garrett Hansen, 2-P.J. Jones, 2-Page Jones, 2-Trey Marcham, 2-Wally Pankratz, 2-Frank Pedregon, 2-Alex Schutte, 2-Shane Scully, 1-Bobby Boone, 1-Greg Bragg, 1-Larry Brown, 1-Tyler Brown, 1-Johnny Cofer, 1-Dave Darland, 1-Michelle Decker, 1-Larry Derwin, 1-Danny Ebberts, 1-Nic Faas, 1-Terry Farrar, 1-Billy Felts Jr., 1-Josh Ford, 1-Stan Fox, 1-Damion Gardner, 1-Scott Hansen, 1-Rick Hendrix, 1-Gary Howard, 1-Ryan Kaplan, 1-Kasey Kahne, 1-Cory Kruseman, 1-Brad Kuhn, 1-Josh Lakatos, 1-Jason Leffler, 1-Thomas Meseraull, 1-Troy Rutherford, 1-Graham Standring, 1-Cody Swanson, 1-Brad Sweet, 1-Rich Vogler, 1-Rip Williams.



  1. Ronnie Gardner-245, 2. Michael Faccinto-216, 3. Sean Dodenhof-173, 4. Frankie Guerrini-167, 5. Tyler Dolacki-160, 6. Randi Pankratz-155, 7. Cory Elliott-141, 8. Cody Swanson-133, 9. Terry Nichols-123, 10. Robert Dalby-115, 11. Maria Cofer-113, —. Troy Rutherford-113, 13. Courtney Crone-103, 14. Darren Hagen-89, 15. Shannon McQueen-78, 16. Robby Josett-77, 17. Shane Golobic-74, 18. Alex Schutte-68, 19. Britton Bock-64, 20. Dylan Ito-63.