Walton wins at Trail-Way

Trail-Way Speedway Top Story

From Kalida Landis

Hanover, PA — (July 1, 2016) — Tyler Walton has ten career wins, including one this season, in the micro-sprints at Trail-Way Speedway.

But on Friday night, he scored his first career win in the 358 sprint car division.

“Wow! I don’t know what to say,” said Walton after exiting the Roger McKeehan #4R in victory lane, “We got off to such a terrible start that I thought Roger was going to get rid of me. The car has been fast. It was just waiting on the driver.”

Walton started on the outside of the front row, beat polesitter Austin Kirby to the first turn, and drove flawlessly through lapped traffic to lead every lap. Seth Kearchner ran second every lap, actually pulling alongside Walton in lapped traffic a few times. He crossed .86 seconds behind the winner, with Doug Hammaker, David Holbrook, and Jeff Halligan rounding out the top five.

Sixth through tenth were J.B. Cunningham, Dwight Leppo (who actually tipped onto his side and brought out the red flag in turn two of lap 12, but changed a flat tire and returned to the track for the restart), Kirby, hard charger Zach Euculano (who started 15th), and Dan Richcreek.

Qualifiers for the 15 sprint cars were won by Leppo and Halligan.

Tomorrow, Saturday, July 2nd, Trail-Way hosts the first of two Junk Car Demolitions of the 2016 season. Joining the “Kings of Crash” Junk Car Demo, will be the Figure 8 and Powder Puff classes. The Limited Stocks will participate in the Trail-Way/Susquehanna Shootout. Gates open at 4:00 p.m., with heats beginning at 6:00 p.m.

The following Friday night, July 8th, Trail-Way Speedway will be dark in preparation for the Sunday, July 10th Armin Hostetter Memorial, the finale of a three-track Shootout with Lincoln and Susquehanna Speedways. Joining the 410 Sprints will be the 600 Micro Sprints, who will be racing the second leg of the Trail-Way/Linda’s/Path Valley Shootout.

For all the latest news and related information from Trail-Way Speedway, fans are reminded to visit the speedway website at www.trail-wayspeedway.com. The complete story and agate from each race night is posted shortly after the final checkered flag.


FEATURE (25 Laps) – 1. 4R-Tyler Walton; 2. 30-Seth Kearchner; 3. 66-Doug Hammaker; 4. 77-David Holbrook; 5. 41-Jeff Halligan; 6. 39-JB Cunningham, Jr.; 7. 4-Dwight Leppo; 8. 28-Austin Kirby; 9. 10-Zach Euculano (Big Mike’s Crabhouse Hard Charger); 10. 80M-Dan Richcreek; 11. 10T-Brody Treaster; 12. 64-Randy Whisler (DNF); 13. 10B-Brandon Noel (DNF); 14. 12-Mike Bittinger (DNS); 15. 19D-Wyatt Hinkle (DNS).

Lap Leaders: Tyler Walton (1-25)

358 Sprint Heat 1 Finish (10 Laps/All Qualify) – 1. 4-Dwight Leppo; 2. 77-David Holbrook; 3. 30-Seth Kearchner; 4. 4R-Tyler Walton; 5. 80M-Dan Richcreek; 6. 10B-Brandon Noel; 7. 64-Randy Whisler; 8. 19D-Wyatt Hinkle (DNF). No time.

358 Sprint Heat 2 Finish (10 Laps/All Qualify) – 1. 41-Jeff Halligan; 2. 66-Doug Hammaker; 3. 39-JB Cunningham, Jr.; 4. 28-Austin Kirby; 5. 10T-Brody Treaster; 6. 12-Mike Bittinger (DNF); 7. 10-Zach Euculano (DNS). No time.