Badger Midget/Micro doubleheader Saturday at Sycamore

top story bmara badger midget auto racing association





By Bryan Gapinski          top story bmara badger midget auto racing association                  
Sycamore,Ill. July 19—The Mid-State Equipment /Zimbrick Chevrolet of Sun Prairie Badger Midget Series will make their first-ever appearance at the Sycamore Speedway Saturday Night. This season marks the 80th year of sanctioning midget auto racing for the organization, oldest in the country.

The series will be part of the “DeKalb Championship Night” which features: Super Late Models, Late Models, Pure Stocks, Modified compacts and the Badger 600 Micro Series presented by My Race Pass.

Brandon Waelti on the strength of two Badger Midget feature victories this season enters the event with a 76-point lead over Robbie Ray. Ray also has two feature victories this season, both events the runner-up has been Waelti.  Third place Aaron Schuck trails Ray by an additional twenty-four points. The Joliet, Ill. driver won the July 9 midget feature at the track.

Troy Strauss a former micro feature winner at the track holds a 170-point lead of over Norm Ehrke winner of the June 18 event at Sycamore. Dave Collins, Chad Bogar, and Jake Goeglein complete the top five. Badger has sanctioned twelve micro events since 2012 at the track.
Sycamore Speedway is located approximately four miles east of Sycamore,IL and fifteen miles west of St. Charles IL, on the north side of Route 64. Fans should enter the complex through the main entrance from Route 64. Competitors can enter through the competitors entrance west of the track off of McGough Road.