Sprint Series of Oklahoma in Action This Saturday Night at Oklahoma Sports Park

Sprint Series of Oklahoma Top Story Logo SSO

From David Smith Jr.

OKLAHOMA CITY, ok. (July 31, 2017) — After an unscheduled weekend off, the Sprint Series of Oklahoma IMCA RaceSaver Sprint Car Series presented by Smiley’s Racing Products will be back in action this coming Saturday night as they make their second and final appearance of the season at Oklahoma Sports Park in Ada.

This event will be race number ten on the 2017-point season and, despite not having reached victory lane thus far this season, Fairview, Oklahoma driver Jake Martens currently holds an 18-point lead over defending series and IMCA sprint car national champion Andy Shouse. Shouse has won three events this season, including over a twenty-six-car field at Oklahoma Sports Park back on June 24.

Despite missing one event back in May, Joe Wood, Jr. has climbed to third in the standings while Chad Koch is one point behind Wood in fourth.

Fifth through tenth in the standings are Loyd Clevenger, Blake Dacus, Chris Kelly, Tristan Oakes, Justin Fisk and Steven Shebester.

Drivers who have reached victory lane thus far this season include Shouse (3); Wood (2); Shebester, Koch, Todd Schartz and Michale Day (1).

Also slated to compete are Cody Whitworth, Brandon Anderson, Jerry Jumper, Blake Scott, Blake Dacus as well as rookies Dillon Laden, Cody Jarvis, Justin Mowery and Josh Toho. Several North Texas drivers have also indicated their intentions on competing “north of the Red River.”

Saturday night at Oklahoma Sports Park in Ada will see Gates open at 5:00 PM with race action slated for a 7:30 PM start time. Grandstand admission is $15 for adults; $13 for ages 11-15 and all seniors while children ten and under admitted into the grandstands for free. All pit passes are just $30. The track address is 8300 West Hwy 3w and is located ten miles west of Ada on Hwy 3w. For more track information check out the OSP website www.oklahomasportspark.com.

The 2017 season for the SSO is presented by Smiley’s Racing Products and the series would also like to thank the following contingency partners for this season: Saldana Racing Products; Pyrotech Fuel Cells; Keizer Wheels, Competition Suspension; Outlaw Wings; Danny Halloway’ Martens Machine Shop; Messmer Racing LLC.

To stay up to date on the daily happenings with the Sprint Series of Oklahoma, find them on their official facebook page: Sprint Series of Oklahoma.

You are also encouraged to call the SSO at (405) 417-2202 or (405) 818-9007 for any and all questions concerning the series and if you are interested in climbing aboard as a series partner or contingency sponsor.

Current Sprint Series of Oklahoma Point Standings through 7/22

1) Jake Martens 331, 2) Andy Shouse 313, 3) Joe Wood Jr. 282, 4) Chad Koch 281, 5) Loyd Clevenger 263, 6) Blake Dacus 256, 7) Chris Kelly 246, 8) Tristan Oakes 212, 9) Justin Fisk 206, 10) Steven Shebester 192, 11) Cody Whitworth 184, 12) Brandon Long 182, 13) Dillon Laden 173, 14) Jerry Jumper 159, 15) Blake Scott 150, 16) Gary Owens 147, 17) Zach Blurton 139, 18) Michelle Melton 136, 19) Shayla Waddell 135, 20) Tanner Conn 133