Sheil Sweeps Away Competition

From RMMRA Media

Byers, CO. (May 23, 2010) – Former RMMRA Driver Champion Chris Sheil, driving the Mike Crissinger owned Auto Image Collision Center, Bell Racing, Peterson Fluid Systems Spike/Esslinger swept the competition on a dry slick, very dusty conditions at the new 1/3 mile dirt oval Colorado Motorsports Park Sunday afternoon.

Sheil started on the pole for the shorten 20 Lap “A” Feature with points leader Keith Rauch on the outside. Sheil took the lead on the start with Rauch following. Rauch challenged Sheil for the lead a few time until mechanical problems sent him to the pits. With several yellow flags waved for spinouts and crashes due to dusty condition, Sheil maintained his lead. With the laps winding down, the battle for the runner-up position was intensifying between veteran open wheel driver Greg Schaefer, rookie Midget driver Cole Wood and Julee Jamison. When the dust cleared, it was Sheil, Wood, Jamison, Schaefer and rookie Midget driver Cory Mallo rounding out the top five positions.

Heat race winners were Butch Middleton and Chris Sheil.

The next race for the RMMRA will be in two weeks, when they battled it out against the POWRI group, sanctioned by POWRI for the 1st Annual Chad McDaniel Memorial at the 1/3 mile Solomon Valley Raceway in Beloit, Kansas.

The 2010 Series Sponsors are Triple X Race Co, USA Performance along with several contingency sponsors.

For more information on the Rocky Mountain Midget Racing Association, log on to


Heat One (8 Laps) – Butch Middleton, Greg Schaefer, Scott Fennell, Cory Mallo (R), Tony Rossi (DNS – Mechanical), Todd Plemons (DNS – Mechanical).

Heat Two (8 Laps) – Chris Sheil, Keith Rauch, Cole Wood (R), Julee Jamison, Justin Mallo, Robert Hanley, Scott Soder.

A Feature (20 Laps) *Note – Shorten to 15 Laps, due to track conditions* – 1. Chris Sheil 2. Cole Wood (R) 3. Julee Jamison 4. Greg Schaefer 5. Cory Mallo (R) 6. Justin Mallo 7. Robert Hanley (DNF – Mechanical) 8. Keith Rauch (DNF – Mechanical) 9. Tony Rossi (DNF – Mechanical) 10. Butch Middleton (DNF – Mechanical) 11. Scott Fennell (DNF -Mechanical).