Lance Dewease
Lance Dewease

From Williams Grove Speedway, Rick Rarer Photo

MECHANICSBURG, PA — Lance Dewease took full advantage of Fred Rahmer’s misfortune and went on to win the 25-lap sprint car feature Friday night at Williams Grove Speedway. Brent Marks took the lead at the start and set the pace while Rahmer and Dewease were moving through the field. Rahmer, who started tenth, was up to third on the second lap with Dewease, who started eleventh, right behind him. Rahmer took the runnerup spot from Aaron Ott on lap three then drove by Marks the next time around. Ott and Dewease passed Marks on lap five and began to dice for second place. Mechanical problems struck Rahmer on lap six, which sent him to the pits ending his night. Dewease took the lead from Ott exiting the second corner on lap seven. Once in front Dewease rolled to his 73rd career victory at Williams Grove. He also became the first 3-time winner in 2010 at the Grove. Dewease earned $4290 for his performance. His total included lap money and a $500 bonus based on his starting position. Greg Hodnett came from the 15th starting position to finish second and may have had the fastest car on the race track at the finish although he would have needed a caution flag to catch Dewease. Hodnett’s finish moved him back into first place in the Lawrence Chevrolet point standings. Ott settled for third. Danny Dietrich came from 14th to steal fourth from Tyler Walker on the last lap. Chad Layton came from 13th to sixth. Mark Smith, Brian Montieth, Doug Dodson and Alan Krimes completed the top ten. Heats for the 26 sprint cars in competition were won by Chris Meleason, Montieth and Dodson. Adam Wilt won the consolation race. In the 20-lap 358 feature Cory Haas started tenth and took the lead from Amy Ott on lap 15, then held off a last lap charge by Pat Cannon to score his first victory of the season. Logan Schuchart, Scott Geesey, Kyle Moody, Ott, Todd Rittenhouse, Jr., Billy Johns, Jimmy Reppert and Danny Massey completed the top ten. Haas, Moody, and Chad Trout claimed heats for the 30 358s in competition. The consolation race went to Chad Criswell.

Williams Grove Speedway Feature Finishes – June 25, 2010

Sprint Car Feature – 25 laps – 1. Lance Dewease, 2. Greg Hodnett, 3. Aaron Ott, 4. Danny Dietrich, 5. Tyler Walker, 6. Chad Layton, 7. Mark Smith, 8. Brent Marks, 9. Brian Montieth, 10. Doug Dodson, 11. Alan Krimes, 12. Brian Leppo, 13. Adam Wilt, 14. Keith Kauffman, 15. Steve Buckwalter, 16. Chris Meleason, 17. Troy Fraker, 18. Jon Brennfleck, 19. Buzz Wilson, 20. Todd Zinn, 21. Justin Henderson, 22. Fred Rahmer, 23. Rick Lafferty, 24. Don Kreitz, Jr. DNS: Derek Sell. DNQ: Chris Shuttlesworth.

358 Sprint Feature – 20 laps – 1. Cory Haas, 2. Pat Cannon, 3. Logan Schuchart, 4. Scott Geesey, 5. Kyle Moody, 6. Amy Ott, 7. Todd Rittenhouse, Jr., 8. Billy Johns, 9. Jimmy Reppert, 10. Danny Massey, 11. Glenndon Forsythe, 12. John Barnett, 13. Jessica Anderson, 14. Blane Heimbach, 15. Nicole Bower, 16. Chad Trout, 17. Nate Hammaker, 18. Doug Hammaker, 19. Brie Hershey, 20. Matt Boland, 21. Stewart Smith, 22. Brian Garland, 23. Chad Criswell, 24. Rich Eichelberger. DNQ: Nathan Berwager, Steve Fannasy, Bob Anderson, Jason Shultz, Eric Tomecek, Ted Thomas