Crockett Wins ASCS Northwest Speedweek Round Two at Willamette

Roger Crockett
Roger Crockett

By Lonnie Wheatley

LEBANON, Ore. (July 13, 2010) – Roger Crockett topped the second round of the American Sprint Car Series Northwest Speedweek by wiring the field in Tuesday night’s 30-lap feature at Willamette Speedway.

The reigning ASCS Northwest champion gunned into the lead from the pole position at the drop of the green flag and never looked back en route to his fourth series win of the year Wheatley, aboard the Omlid & Swinney Fire Protection & Security No. 11 entry.

Crockett was chased to the stripe by Lucas Oil ASCS National Rookie of the Year contender Kyle Hirst, who rallied from the 18th starting position to snare runner-up honors.

Steven Tiner claimed the show position, while Jason Johnson rebounded from a mid-race spin to snare fourth after starting 15th.

Monday night’s opening round winner Travis Rilat rounded out the top five, with 16th-starter Mitch Olson, Henry Van Dam, Chadd Noland, Kyle Miller and Josh DeWitt completing the top ten.

Brady Bacon, Crockett, Logan Forler and Jayme Barnes topped heat race action for the 35-car field, with Johnson and Olson winning the twin “B” Mains.

Piloting a second Andrew Marshala entry, Bacon was forced pitside after an opening lap melee that also eliminated Seth Bergman and Randy Pierce. Jay Cole held down the runner-up position until flipping with 21 laps in the books. There were no injuries.

Round Three of the ASCS Northwest Speedweek takes place Wednesday night at Sunset Speedway in Banks, OR, before concluding with the Lucas Oil ASCS presented by K&N Filters National series at Grays Harbor Raceway’s $10,092-to-win Fourth Annual Fred Brownfield Memorial in Elma, WA, on Friday and Saturday.

ASCS Northwest Results from Willamette Speedway:

Heat One: 1. 99-Brady Bacon, 2. 29-Travis Rilat, 3. 13-Chadd Noland, 4. 23-Seth Bergman, 5. 41-Jason Johnson, 6. 21w-Vern Wheeler, 7. 25c-Chad Groves, 8. 87a-Andrew Marshala, 9. 27dd-David Hoiness.

Heat Two: 1. 11-Roger Crockett, 2. 08-Steve Vague, 3. 94-Steven Tiner, 4. 98m-Mitch Olson, 5. 33v-Henry Van Dam, 6. 6-Kyle Hirst, 7. 26f-Shane Forte, 8. 23b-Colin Baker, 9. 72-Glenn Borden, Jr.

Heat Three: 1. 2L-Logan Forler, 2. 10-Kyle Miller, 3. 6n-Billy Nutter, 4. 96-Mack Brown, 5. 22-Garen Linder, 6. 19-T.J. Hartman, 7. 73-Danielle Huson, 8. 11w-Shane Broers, 9. 2m-Mike Melwicks.

Heat Four: 1. 7n-Jayme Barnes, 2. 12p-Randy Pierce, 3. 0j-Jay Cole, 4. 39c-Jason Solwold, 5. 55-Trey Starks, 6. 5d-Josh DeWitt, 7. 5n-Seth Nunes, 8. 55x-Ryan Gomes.

First “B” Feature: 1. 41-Jason Johnson, 2. 33v-Henry Van Dam, 3. 19-T.J. Hartman, 4. 22-Garen Linder, 5. 23b-Colin Baker, 6. 73-Danielle Huson, 7. 55-Trey Starks, 8. 11w-Shane Broers, 9. 55x-Ryan Gomes, 10. 5n-Seth Nunes, 11. 72-Glenn Borden, Jr.

Second “B” Feature: 1. 98m-Mitch Olson, 2. 6-Kyle Hirst, 3. 5d-Josh DeWitt, 4. 27dd-David Hoiness, 5. 2m-Mike Melwicks, 6. 26f-Shane Forte, 7. 96-Mack Brown, 8. 87a-Andrew Marshala, 9. 25c-Chad Groves, 10. 21w-Vern Wheeler.

“A” Feature (30 Laps): 1. 11-Roger Crockett, 2. 6-Kyle Hirst, 3. 94-Steven Tiner, 4. 41-Jason Johnson, 5. 29-Travis Rilat, 6. 98m-Mitch Olson, 7. 33v-Henry Van Dam, 8. 13-Chadd Noland, 9. 10-Kyle Miller, 10. 5d-Josh DeWitt, 11. 2L-Logan Forler, 12. 19-T.J. Hartman, 13. 08-Steve Vague, 14. 0j-Jay Cole, 15. 39c-Jason Solwold, 16. 6n-Billy Nutter, 17. 7n-Jayme Barnes, 18. 23-Seth Bergman, 19. 12p-Randy Pierce, 20. 99-Brady Bacon.

ASCS Northwest Region Points (Top Ten): 1. Roger Crockett 997, 2. Jason Solwold 884, 3. Mitch Olson 869, 4. Seth Bergman 828, 5. Jayme Barnes 776, 6. Henry Van Dam 768, 7. Trey Starks 640, 8. Garen Linder 636, 9. T.J. Hartman 629, 10. Brock Lemley 608.