By Dick Jordan, Jan Dunlap photo

Toledo, OH……..Jerry Coons Jr. of Tucson, Ariz. won Saturday’s “Rollie Beale 150” at the Toledo Speedway but Levi Jones edged Bud Kaeding by two points to win the 2010 USAC Silver Crown championship! Jones finished seventh and Kaeding eighth in the 150-lap race, leaving Jones as the champion. Coons took the lead on lap 59 when leader Jacob Wilson slid into the third turn wall. Coons then led the final 92 laps in his Rotondo Weirich/Champion Brands Beast/Toyota. Kody Swanson finished a close second ahead of Bobby East, Bryan Clauson and A.J. Fike. The championship battle turned on lap 124 when Kaeding, running ahead of Jones and headed for the title, was involved in a three-car tangle on the backstretch. He was able to continue but needed to pass Jones to claim the championship. The title is Jones’ first in the Silver Crown series. Tanner Swanson flipped during the lap 124 accident but escaped injury.

USAC SILVER CROWN CHAMPIONSHIP RACE RESULTS: October 16, 2010 – Toledo, Ohio – Toledo Speedway – “Rollie Beale 150”

QUALIFICATIONS: 1. Jerry Coons Jr., 27, RW-14.970; 2. Jacob Wilson, 07, WBR/Team 6R-14.974; 3. Bud Kaeding, 29, BK-14.978; 4. Levi Jones, 10, Stewart/Curb Agajanian-15.008; 5. Kody Swanson, 19, Team 6R-15.018; 6. Bobby East, 6, Klatt-15.038; 7. Tracy Hines, 25, Vance-15.039; 8. A.J. Fike, 3, RFMS-15.041; 9. Tanner Swanson, 23, Team 6R/TK-15.119; 10. Bryan Clauson, 22, Stewart/Curb Agajanian-15.126; 11. Brian Tyler, 21, Team 6R-15.151; 12. Russ Gamester, 51, Gamester-15.193; 13. Shane Hollingsworth, 20, Nolen-15.257; 14. Zach Daum, 50, Daum-15.304; 15. Justin Carver, 991, Edwards/RE-15.326; 16. Jeff Swindell, 199, Edwards/RE-15.506; 17. Troy DeCaire, 52, Vance-15.527; 18. Derek Hagar, 91, Hagar-15.638; 19. Dave Darland, 41, Paternoster-15.745; 20. Zach Martini, 125, Sachs/Yermal-16.662.

FEATURE: (150 laps) 1. Jerry Coons Jr., 2. Kody Swanson, 3. Bobby East, 4. Bryan Clauson, 5. A.J. Fike, 6. Brian Tyler, 7. Levi Jones, 8. Bud Kaeding, 9. Justin Carver, 10. Zach Daum, 11. Dave Darland, 12. Russ Gamester, 13. Derek Hagar, 14. Zach Martini, 15. Tanner Swanson, 16. Tracy Hines, 17. Shane Hollingsworth, 18. Jeff Swindell, 19. Troy DeCaire, 20. Jacob Wilson. NT


FEATURE LAP LEADERS: Laps 1-58 Wilson, Laps 59-150 Coons.

FINAL SILVER CROWN POINTS: 1-Jones-405; 2-Kaeding-403; 3-K.Swanson-394; 4-Clauson-366; 5-Coons-354; 6-Fike-338; 7-Tyler-327; 8-East-313; 9-Shane Hmiel-299; 10-Hines-256.

Photo Gallery