Pittman Wins URC Opener at New Egypt

urc United Racing Company Logo

From URC

New Egypt, NJ — Daryn Pittman driving the Mike Heffner owned sprint car won the sixty-fourth season opener for the Rislone URC Sprint Series. Pittman of Owasso, OK charged from his tenth starting position, moving into third before the completion of the first lap. Pittman took the top top spot when race leader Ed Aikin broke coming out of turn four. Pittman held off several challenges from lady race Becca Anderson who was driving the Dave Betts Towing #22. Pittman was up to the challenge and took the win, earning $2,000 for his efforts.

Three heat race events were presented with victories going to Jonathan Swanson, Eddie Wagner and Becca Anderson as Josh Weller won the “B” main driving the Scott McClaren owned sprint car.

In the twenty-five lap feature event, Jonathan Swanson and his Pioneer Pole Building sprinter jumped to an early and very impressive lead. Meanwhile, Daryn Pittman was making up a lot of ground, moving from the tenth position to third before the first lap was complete. Swanson continue to set the pace with Ed Aikin now pressuring for the lead. On lap nine, Aikin became the new leader.

Aikin appeared to the have field covered, then on lap twelve mechanical problems brought the Aikin sprint car to a stop in turn four. At that point, Daryn Pittman inherited the lead followed by Becca Anderson, JJ Grasso, Curt Michael and Eddie Wagner.

With Pittman on the point, Becca Anderson and former URC Champion JJ Grasso had the best shot of challenging Pittman. On two occasions Anderson was in a position to make a pass for the lead but Pittman was up to the challenge and remained the space setter. For the final laps, Pittman held off all competitors to score his first career URC win. Anderson delivered an impressive second place finish followed by JJ Grasso, Curt Michael and Eddie Wagner.

FEATURE FINISH: Daryn Pittman, Becca Anderson, JJ Grasso, Curt Michael, Eddie Wagner, Jonathan Swanson, Mark Bitner, Robbie Stillwaggon, Rory Janney, Art Liedl, Dave Ely, Alain Bergeron, Tim Hogue, Kramer Williamson, Randy West, Bill Unglert, Kevin Darling, Steve Whary, Andy Best, Troy Betts, Chris Weiss, Josh Weller, Ed Aikin, Jason Clauss. DNQ- – Tim Higgins.

Fred’s Trailer Parts Hard Charger – – – Bill Unglert
LikeWise Fast Time of the Night- – – Josh Weller in the “B” Main
Engler Tool & Machine 1st Heat- – – Jonathan Swanson
Brad Penn Oil 2nd Heat- – – Eddie Wagner
Pioneer Pole Building 3rd Heat- – Becca Anderson
Bar’s Leaks “B” Main- – – Josh Weller

Coming Rislone URC Sprint Series events
APR 16 Delaware International
MAY 7 Black Rock (CR)
MAY 14 Selinsgrove (CR) Gunn Memorial
MAY 28 Delaware International
MAY 29 Georgetown