Wheelie Contest to Top Off Monster Series Stop at Burlington Saturday!


From Bill W

April 22, 2011 – The much anticipated Monster Energy™ Sprint Series opener is upon us! The 34 Raceway in West Burlington, Iowa will play host to the first ever race in series’ history on Saturday night, April 23. In addition, track promoter, Amy Laue, has announced a “Wheelie Contest” that will be run at the conclusion of the 25-lap feature event. Already, $1,250 (and counting) has been raised to support the contest. Sponsors include www.Ratewin.com, a website dedicated to cheap car insurance rates.

Already, Laue and the 34 Raceway had boosted the purse to a level paying $2,500 to the winner and $300 to start. Over 35 drivers have already expressed their intentions on running the inaugural event in the Monster Series presented by the fledgling Midwest Open Wheel Association. With some shows already rained out, and others in danger, more drivers are inquiring about participation in this exciting event!

A full program will be run for the sprints, including qualifications, heats, a B main, a dash and the 25-lap feature event.

Pit gates open at 4:00 p.m., with Grandstands opening at 5:00 p.m. Time trials start at 7 p.m. Pit Passes are $25, with Grandstand Admission $18 for Adults, $15 for Seniors and Students. Kids 10 and under are FREE.

To check out more information on the Rules and Procedures, Drivers, Schedules, Updates and More for the Monster Energy Sprint Car Series, visit the series’ website at www.MidwestOpenWheel.com!

Meet Your Favorite Drivers and get FREE Lunch at O’Reilly Auto Parts Saturday From 11:00 a.m. to 1 p.m.!

The O’Reilly Auto Parts, Monster Energy Drink, Pepsi sponsored MOWA 410 Outlaw Sprint Shootout will kick off with a Drivers Meet-n-Greet at the Burlington O’Reilly’s Auto Part Store from 11:00 am to 1:00 p.m. with a free lunch and Pepsi products! Several of the drivers competing on Saturday are expected to attend the event. O’Reilly Auto Parts can be found at 123 Roosevelt Ave (Hwy 61) in Burlington.

Updated Tentative Driver Roster for Saturday’s Race (subject to change)!

1, Mitch Wissmiller, Saybrook, IL

1, Jayson Ditsworth, Gladstone, IL

1m, Jim Moughan Jr., Springfield, IL

2, Josh Higday, Des Moines, IA

3, Matt Sutton, Macomb, IL

7K, Robby Wolfgang, Sioux Falls, SD

7TW, Brandon Wimmer, Fairmount, IN

10, Rager Phillips, Pleasantville, IA

10s, Jeremy Standridge, Springfield, IL

12, Jerrod Hull, Sikeston, MO

12, Brian Rieck, Troy, MO

12, Lynton Jeffrey, Prairie City, IA/Sydney, NSW, Aust.

14P, Kaley Gharst, Decatur, IL

17A, Austin McCarl, Altoona, IA

21, Brian Brown, Grain Valley, MO

21x, Joey Moughan, Springfield, IL

23, Robbie Standridge, Springfield, IL

28, Justin Springer, Pekin, IL

35, Jimmy Hurley, Springfield, IL

42, Cory Bruns, Lincoln, IL

44, AJ Bruns, Lincoln, IL

47, Brett Samonds, Springfield, IL

49, Josh Schneiderman, West Burlington, IA

51J, Ryan Jamison, Mediapolis, IA

52F, Logan Faucon, Elkhart, IL

53H, Matt Harms, Lacon, IL

55, Terry McCarl, Altoona, IA

65, Jordan Goldesberry, Springfield, IL

71R, Ryan Anderson, Deloit, IA

77u, Chris Urish, Elkhart, IL

81, Austin Johnson, Shakopee, MN

83, Korey Weyant, Springfield, IL

84, Ben Wagoner, Emden, IL

95, Tommy Rockwell, Towanda, IL

96, Nathan Charron, Lincoln, IL

98, JC Bland, Springfield, IL

99, Jimmy Davies, Oquawka, IL

Monster Energy™ Sprint Series Drivers Interviewed Online

Dewain Hulett of Tri-State Speed Review sat down with three MOWA drivers (Joey Moughan, JC Bland, Ben Wagoner) and 34 Raceway promoter Amy Laue for some in depth interviews at the following link…


Check Out Our Promo Video!

Check out our preview video for the series provided by Ross Wece at the following link!


2011 Monster Energy™ Sprint Car Series Tentative Schedule

Saturday, April 23 – 34 Raceway – $2,500 to win (West Burlington, IA)

Friday, May 13 – Jacksonville Speedway (Jacksonville, IL)

Friday, May 27 – Fayette County Speedway (Brownsville, IL)

Friday, July 1 – Jacksonville Speedway – $2,500 to win Leon Smith Memorial (Jacksonville, IL)

Friday, July 8 – Lincoln Speedway (Lincoln, IL)

Sunday, July 31 – Shepp’s Speedway (Alexander, IL)

Friday, August 19 – Jacksonville Speedway (Jacksonville, IL)

Friday, September 2 – Lincoln Speedway (Lincoln, IL)

Saturday, September 17 – Spoon River Speedway – Tom Knowles Memorial (Canton, IL)

Saturday, September 24 – 34 Raceway – $4,000 to win (West Burlington, IA)

Friday, September 30 – Jacksonville Speedway – Season Championship (Jacksonville, IL)