Crockett Wins on the Last Lap in ASCS Northwest Opener!

Roger Crockett made a last-lap move to win Friday night's season-opening ASCS Northwest feature event at Oregon's Cottage Grove Speedway. - Stacy Verrall photo

From ASCS Northwest Media

COTTAGE GROVE, Ore. (May 13, 2011) – ASCS Northwest 2010 Champion, Jason Solwold, started on the pole and lead 29 of the 30 lap feature, losing his lead on the last lap with a late charge from Crockett as the Omlid & Swinney Fire Protection & Security-SKS Racing-Rocket Designs-Brian Crockett Motorsports-Ostrich Engine-KPC Chassis-#11 team picked up their 10th straight Grove Classic win.

Not only was this Crockett’s 10th straight Grove Classic win, but it also marked his 40th Cottage Grove victory.

Rounding out the top five are Solwold, Seth Bergman, Josh DeWitt and Chad Groves, with Mason Moore, Rick Fauver, Chadd Noland, Reece Goetz and Colin Baker wrapping up the the top ten.

The Travis Rutz Hard Charger was Central Point Oregon’s Chadd Noland clawing his way from 19th to eighth.

Rookie shoe Goetz, DeWitt and Crockett topped heat race action for the 25-car field, with Moore winning the 15-lap “B” Main.

Don’t miss the next heated battle of ASCS Northwest sprint car action tomorrow here at Cottage Grove Speedway. Races start at 6:45pm.

ASCS Northwest Results from Cottage Grove Speedway:

First Heat (10 Laps): 1. 9r-Reece Goetz, 2. 23-Seth Bergman, 3. 10-Kyle Miller, 4. 38-Rick Fauver, 5. 23b-Colin Baker, 6. 7n-Jayme Barnes, 7. 8rc-Jason Cocking, 8. 3-Dave Hibbard, 9. 68-Rob Held.

Second Heat (10 Laps): 1. 5d-Josh DeWitt, 2. 33v-Henry Van Dam, 3. 98m-Mitch Olson, 4. 77-Stephen Allard, 5. 25c-Chad Groves, 6. 22-Garen Linder, 7. 15-Brad Groves, 8. 13-Chadd Noland.

Third Heat (10 Laps): 1. 11-Roger Crockett, 2. 39c-Jason Solwold, 3. 33-Nate Morelock, 4. 41-Dale Smith, 5. 5h-Mason Moore, 6. 10j-Jake Waddell, 7. 88-Brent Hoover, 8. 55-Trey Starks.

“B” Main (15 Laps): 1. 5h-Mason Moore, 2. 22-Garen Linder, 3. 10j-Jake Waddell, 4. 13-Chadd Noland, 5. 55-Trey Starks, 6. 15-Brad Groves, 7. 68-Rob Held, 8. 88-Brent Hoover, 9. 7n-Jayme Barnes. DNS: 3-Dave Hibbard.

“A” Feature (30 Laps): 1. 11-Roger Crockett, 2. 39c-Jason Solwold, 3. 23-Seth Bergman, 4. 5d-Josh DeWitt, 5. 25c-Chad Groves, 6. 5h-Mason Moore, 7. 38-Rick Fauver, 8. 13-Chadd Noland, 9. 9r-Reece Goetz, 10. 23b-Colin Baker, 11. 33v-Henry Van Dam, 12. 41-Dale Smith, 13. 10j-Jake Waddell, 14. 33-Nate Morelock, 15. 8rc-Jason Cocking, 16. 77-Stephen Allard, 17. 10-Kyle Miller, 18. 22-Garen Linder, 19. 98m-Mitch Olson, 20. 55-Trey Starks.

ASCS Northwest Points (Top Ten): 1. Roger Crockett 150, 2. Jason Solwold 142, 3. Seth Bergman 135, 4. Josh DeWitt 130, 5. Chad Groves 125, 6. Mason Moore 122, 7. Ricky Fauver 119, 8. Chadd Noland 116, 9. Reece Goetz 113, 10. Colin Baker 110.

Photo Gallery