ims Indianapolis Motor Speedway

By J Douglas Boles

INDIANAPOLIS, Wednesday, May 25, 2011 – The most impressive gathering of Indianapolis 500 veterans in history – more than 100 drivers – will sign autographs at “The World’s Largest Autograph Session” during A.J. Foyt Day festivities Saturday, May 28 at the Indianapolis Motor Speedway.

An added attraction to the autograph session will be the participation of 95-year-old Dick Harroun, the son of inaugural Indianapolis 500 winner Ray Harroun. Dick Harroun’s father drove the famed Marmon “Wasp” to victory in 1911.

All activities during A.J. Foyt Day are free, including the autograph sessions. Public gates open at 8 a.m.

Thirteen retired Indianapolis 500 winners will sign autographs with this year’s starting field of 33 drivers, which includes five active past winners, from 9-10 a.m. in the Pagoda Plaza.

More than 100 retired Indianapolis 500 veterans and Dick Harroun will sign from noon-4 p.m. in the Pagoda Plaza.

Four-time Indianapolis 500 winner A.J. Foyt will sign in an exclusive autograph session from 11:55 a.m.-12:25 p.m. in the Pagoda Plaza. One-hundred wristbands will be distributed for the autograph session at 9 a.m. in the Pagoda Plaza, with one per person.

No wristbands are required for the other two autograph sessions.

Other fan-friendly activities Saturday at IMS include:

•A public question-and-answer session with Chase Rookie of the Year candidates on the Coca-Cola Stage in the Pagoda Plaza from 8:45-9 a.m.

•A full-scale memorabilia show from 9 a.m.-4 p.m. in the IMS infield already so popular that vendor space sold out within 48 hours.

•The annual drivers’ meeting from 10:30-11 a.m. on pit road adjacent to the Tower Terrace grandstand, which includes awards presentations and last-minute instructions to the starting field.

•Live music by Nadine Bernecker from 11-11:30 a.m. on the Coca-Cola Stage.

•A.J. Foyt will participate in a question-and-answer session from 11:30-11:45 a.m. on the Coca-Cola Stage.

•An all-day display of 19 vintage sprint and midget race cars in the IMS infield, with several driven by the greatest legends of the Brickyard: Foyt, Andretti, Rutherford and the Unsers.

•The Red Bull Battle at the Brickyard will showcase top bicycle motocross riders from around the world competing on a concrete playground from 10 a.m.-4 p.m. at the Flag Lot. The Flatland BMX competition is similar to break-dancing on a bicycle.

•A display of cars from the Mazda Road To Indy that is grooming the future stars of the Indianapolis 500. Cars from The Cooper Tires presents the USF2000 National Championship powered by Mazda, the Star Mazda Championship presented by Goodyear and Firestone Indy Lights will be on display starting at 11 a.m. in the Pagoda Plaza.

•Book signings featuring authors of new books about the Indianapolis Motor Speedway and its history.

•A “Virtual Indy 500” that will feature fans across the world racing in a full-length Indianapolis 500 on the PC simulation at noon. Selected fans also will compete at 3:30 p.m. against Indianapolis 500 drivers in an sprint race appearing on the large video boards at IMS, with prizes including Race Day packages to the 2011 Indianapolis 500 and more.

The Indianapolis Motor Speedway Hall of Fame Museum will be open with its incredible new exhibition of 67 Indianapolis 500-winning cars. Museum admission is just $5 for adults and $3 for ages 6-15, with children under 6 free.


(Participants subject to change)

Past Winners Signing from 9-10 a.m.*

Mario Andretti

Kenny Brack

Eddie Cheever Jr.

Gil de Ferran

Emerson Fittipaldi

Parnelli Jones

Arie Luyendyk

Rick Mears

Johnny Rutherford

Tom Sneva

Al Unser

Al Unser Jr.

Bobby Unser

* — Also signing from 9:30-10:30 a.m. Friday, May 27 at IMS Hall of Fame Museum

Veterans Signing from Noon-4 p.m.

Donnie Allison

Bill Alsup

Jeff Andretti

Eric Bachelart

Tom Bagley

Patrick Bedard

Donnie Beechler

Gary Bettenhausen

Tom Bigelow

Billy Boat

Raul Boesel

Claude Bourbonnais

Buzz Calkins

Tyce Carlson

Pancho Carter

Michael Chandler

Steve Chassey

P.J. Chesson

Wally Dallenbach

Derek Daly

Dominic Dobson

Paul Durant

Don Edmunds

Billy Englehart

Wim Eyckmans

Teo Fabi

Dennis Firestone

Spike Gehlhausen

Phil Giebler

Paul Goldsmith

Scott Goodyear

Stephan Gregoire

Mike Groff

Roberto Guerrero

Dan Gurney

Janet Guthrie

Jim Guthrie

Dean Hall

Pete Halsmer

Bob Harkey

Scott Harrington

Shigeaki Hattori

Jon Herb

Jack Hewitt

Andy Hillenburg

Mike Hiss

Howdy Holmes

Chuck Hulse

Stefan Johansson

Bobby Johns

Herm Johnson

John Jones

PJ Jones

Bernard Jourdain

Mel Kenyon

Jimmy Kite

Steve Knapp

Phil Krueger

Lee Kunzman

Bob Lazier

Jaques Lazier

Greg Leffler

Joe Leonard

Randy Lewis

Jeff MacPherson

George Mack

Art Malone

John Martin

Hideshi Matsuda

Hiro Matsushita

Jim McElreath

Robby McGehee

Roger Mears

Jack Miller

Rocky Moran

Roberto Moreno

Tero Palmroth

Max Papis

Johnny Parsons

Ted Prappas

Scott Pruett

Bill Puterbaugh

Eldon Rasmussen

Hector Rebaque

Willy T. Ribbs

Billy Roe

Lyn St. James

Eliseo Salazar

Joe Saldana

Vern Schuppan

Bill Simpson

Jerry Sneva

George Snider

Didier Theys

Brian Till

Johnny Unser

Bill Vukovich II

Bruce Walkup

Chuck Weyant

Bill Whittington

Don Whittington

Cory Witherill

Denny Zimmerman


2011 Indianapolis 500 tickets: Tickets are on sale for the 100th Anniversary Indianapolis 500, “The Most Important Race in History,” on Sunday, May 29, 2011 at Indianapolis Motor Speedway.

Race Day ticket prices start at just $30. Fans can buy tickets online at, by calling the IMS ticket office at (317) 492-6700, or (800) 822-INDY outside the Indianapolis area, or by visiting the ticket office at the IMS Administration Building at the corner of Georgetown Road and 16th Street between 8 a.m.-5 p.m. (ET) Monday-Friday.

Children 12 and under will be receive free general admission to any IMS event in 2011 when accompanied by an adult general admission ticket holder.

Tickets for groups of 20 or more also are on sale. Contact the IMS Group Sales Department at (866) 221-8775 for more information.