Skinner Snares ASCS Gulf South Win at Jackson!

2010 ascs American Sprint Car Series

By Lonnie Wheatley

JACKSON, Miss. (July 2, 2011) – Marshall Skinner proved to be too much to handle in the second leg of the Smiley’s Racing Products ASCS Gulf South Fourth of July weekend triple Saturday night main event at Jackson Motor Speedway.

Starting from the front row outside, Skinner gunned into the lead at the drop of the green flag and led all 25 circuits to post the $2,000 triumph in his third career overall ASCS Regional triumph and first since February of 2007.

Skinner, in Bobby Sparks’ No. 91 entry, was pressured by Friday night Gary Wright until “The Texan” fell victim to mechanical woes under a lap 16 caution period precipitated by a Michael McNeil encounter with the retaining wall.

Skinner held off eighth-starter Channin Tankersley the rest of the way, with ninth-starter Travis Rilat, current Gulf South points leader Ray Allen Kulhanek and Travis Elliott rounding out the top five.

After starting from the pole position, Brandon Berryman finished sixth in his 100th consecutive ASCS Gulf South appearance with Bean Elliott, 18th-starter Greg Rilat, George White and Tommy Bryant completing the top ten.

Berryman, Bryant, Tankersley and Skinner topped heat race action, with White winning the “B” Main.

Smiley’s Racing Products ASCS Gulf South Results from Jackson Motor Speedway:

First Heat (8 Laps): 1. 31-Brandon Berryman, 2. 15T-Travis Elliott, 3. 29-Travis Rilat, 4. 5c-Chris Coker, 5. 93-Chris Sweeney, 6. 7-Philip Faulkner, 7. 24-Brandie Jass.

Second Heat (8 Laps): 1. 28-Tommy Bryant, 2. 9-Gary Wright, 3. 87-Aaron Reutzel, 4. 10-George White, 5. 35-Greg Rilat, 6. 25m-Michael McNeil, 7. 17-Bruce Griffith, Jr.

Third Heat (8 Laps): 1. 71-Channin Tankersley, 2. 21T-Ray Allen Kulhanek, 3. 88-Scottie McDonald, 4. 3-Gary Watson, 5. 23-Darryl Wills, 6. 52-Roger Oakes, 7. 74x-Joshua Hodges.

Fourth Heat (8 Laps): 1. 91-Marshall Skinner, 2. 30x-Bean Elliott, 3. 19-Klint Angelette, 4. 69-Larry Howery, 5. 51s-Beau Smith, 6. 12b-Logan Bledsoe.

“B” Feature (12 Laps): 1. 10-George White, 2. 5c-Chris Coker, 3. 51s-Beau Smith, 4. 35-Greg Rilat, 5. 25m-Michael McNeil, 6. 52-Roger Oakes, 7. 74x-Joshua Hodges, 8. 7-Philip Faulkner, 9. 23-Darryl Wills, 10. 69-Larry Howery, 11. 24-Brandie Jass, 12. 17-Bruce Griffith, Jr., 13. 12b-Logan Bledsoe.

“A” Feature (25 Laps): 1. 91-Marshall Skinner, 2. 71-Channin Tankersley, 3. 29-Travis Rilat, 4. 21T-Ray Allen Kulhanek, 5. 15T-Travis Elliott, 6. 31-Brandon Berryman, 7. 30x-Bean Elliott, 8. 35-Greg Rilat, 9. 10-George White, 10. 28-Tommy Bryant, 11. 88-Scottie McDonald, 12. 87-Aaron Reutzel, 13. 19-Klint Angelette, 14. 93-Chris Sweeney, 15. 51s-Beau Smith, 16. 5c-Chris Coker, 17. 3-Gary Watson, 18. 52-Roger Oakes, 19. 9-Gary Wright, 20. 25m-Michael McNeil.

Smiley’s Racing Products ASCS Gulf South Region Points (Top Ten): 1. Ray Allen Kulhanek 1,770, 2. George White 1,743, 3. Tommy Bryant 1,717, 4. Chris Sweeney 1,646, 5. Brandon Berryman 1,629, 6. Channin Tankersley 1,614, 7. Travis Elliott 1,588, 8. Aaron Reutzel 1,578, 9. Greg Rilat 1,510, 10. Beau Smith 1,433.