Peters Powers to NCRA Sprint Car Victory Lane!


Park City, Kansas – July 4, 2011 – Former series champion Mike Peters became the sixth different feature winner in the seven events that have been held thus far this season as he led wire to wire to claim the National Championship Racing Association of Park City, Kansas presented by Smiley’s Racing Products sprint car feature Monday night at 81 Speedway in Park City, Kansas. The event would close out a holiday weekend full of racing action to celebrate the Independence Day weekend for the series and their three divisions.

Current series point’s leader C.J. Johnson of Quinter, Kansas started on the pole for the 25 lap feature but it was outside from row starter Peters who would take the advantage on the starts.

The start of the feature finale would be delayed by a caution and a couple of red flags for flips and crashes that would include Kirby Robe, Tanner Mullins, Taylor Velasquez, Jon Freeman, Kris Miller and Zach Blurton. There were no serious injuries.

Once drivers settled down it was back to racing action with Peters powering his way into the lead. Former five-time series champion Garry Lee Maier would chase Peters throughout the event, which would go caution free after the first lap miscues.

Despite dealing with lapped traffic early and often, Maier couldn’t get close enough to mount a series challenge with Peters holding on to claim the victory, the nineteenth of his career with the series.

Johnson settled for third while Patrick Stasa had an impressive night staying in the top five for most of the night and came home fourth. Liberal, Kansas driver Jason Martin rounded out the top five.

Heat races for the 22 car field were won by Jeremy Campbell, Peters and Robe.

It was not a good night for defending series champion Campbell. Driving his own #10c sprinter, Campbell was running up front with the leaders when the power steering sidelined him to the pits late in the event, leading to a thirteenth place finish.

Next stop for the NCRA of Park City, Kansas presented by Smiley’s Racing Products sprint car division will be on Saturday night, July 16th for the 55th annual Hutchinson Grand Nationals, atop the Kansas State Fairgrounds in Hutchinson, Kansas for a potential $5000 to win event.

NCRA Sprints 7/4/2011

81 Speedway/Park City, Kansas

NCRA Heat 1:1. Jeremy Campbell (Wichita, Ks), 2. Jon Freeman (Salina, Ks), 3. Taylor Velasquez (Turpin, Ok), 4. Garry Lee Maier (Dodge City, Ks), 5. J.D. Johnson (Wichita, Ks), 6. Steven Richardson (Liberal, Ks), 7. Jordan Whitehead (Andover, Ks), 8. Jordan Weaver (Woodward, Ok),

NCRA Heat 2:1. Mike Peters (Wichita, Ks), 2. CJ Johnson (Quinter, Ks), 3. Tanner Mullens (Andale, Ks), 4. Jeff Stasa (Kingman, Ks), 5. Zach Blurton (Jetmore, Ks), 6. Cody Forshee (Wichita, Ks), 7. Kris Miller (Arnett, Ok),

NCRA Heat 3:1. Marc Robe (Wichita, Ks), 2. Luke Cranston (Plains, Ks), 3. Jason Martin (Liberal, Ks), 4. A.J. Selenke (Wichita, Ks), 5. Patrick Stasa (Kingman, Ks), 6. Kacee Frazier (Tulsa, Ok), 7. Matt Covington (Glenpool, Ok),

NCRA Sprint A:1. 51 Mike Peters (Wichita, Ks), 2. 1x Garry Lee Maier (Dodge City, Ks), 3. 45x CJ Johnson (Quinter, Ks), 4. 91 Patrick Stasa (Kingman, Ks), 5. 36 Jason Martin (Liberal, Ks), 6. 21t Taylor Velasquez (Turpin, Ok), 7. 0 Steven Richardson (Liberal, Ks), 8. 91 Jeff Stasa (Kingman, Ks), 9. 92 Jordan Weaver (Woodward, Ok), 10. 20 Luke Cranston (Plains, Ks), 11. 2j Zach Blurton (Jetmore, Ks), 12. 8w Jordan Whitehead (Andover, Ks), 13. 10c Jeremy Campbell (Wichita, Ks), 14. 00 Kacee Frazier (Tulsa, Ok), 15. 43 A.J. Selenke (Wichita, Ks), 16. 98 J.D. Johnson (Wichita, Ks), 17. 21 Marc Robe (Wichita, Ks), 18. 81 Jon Freeman (Salina, Ks), 19. 99 Tanner Mullens (Andale, Ks), 20. 21 Cody Forshee (Wichita, Ks), 21. 33 Kris Miller (Arnett, Ok), 22. 11c Matt Covington (Glenpool, Ok)