Mann Takes ASCS SOD Win at Crystal

By Mike Strevel

CRYSTAL, Mich. (July 16, 2011) – On a very hot evening at Crystal Motor Speedway Brett Mann took the eventual victory for the Engine Pro ASCS Sprints on Dirt Presented by ARP main event at the 3/8 mile oval.

A nice field of 18 winged sprint cars made the second of three appearances for the 2011 season at the fast Michigan oval.

Mann from Goshen, IN started outside row four and finished behind driver Stuart Brubaker at the finish of the A-main, a post race inspection on the Ohio driver’s engine revealed no ASCS gasket, a violation of rules procedure. This awarded the victory to Mann. There were only one caution flag during the event at lap 15 and the remainder of the feature was a battle between several of the eventual top ten finishers.

Mann stated, “It’s great winning here at Crystal and putting on a show for these great fans.” The winner of the Engine Pro ASCS Sprints on Dirt Presented by ARP feature thanked his fine sponsors including Biobased US, car owners Don and SueEllen Wilshe, Hoosier Tire and Lane Automotive.

The top ten finishers of the exciting feature race for the Engine Pro ASCS Sprints on Dirt Presented by ARP were Mann, Gary Fast, Ken Mackey, Andy Teunessen, Ryan Ruhl, Davey Brown, Ryan Grubaugh, Trey Smith, Andy Chehowski and Robert Huisken.

Heat race wins were captured by Teunessen, Ruhl and Mann. The fast car dash went to Grubaugh.

Engine Pro ASCS Sprints on Dirt Presented by ARP Results-
Saturday July 16, 2011
Crystal Motor Speedway, Crystal MI
Car Count (18)

Heat Races (Top 16 in passing points transfer to the “A” Feature)

Engler Machine and Tool Heat Race #1 (8 laps): 1. 31 Andy Teunessen 2. 20a Andy Chehowski 3. 70 Jim Lingar 4. Tim Champlain 5. 21 Matt Lumbert 6. 22t Tank Brakenberry

Lane Automotive/Comp Cams Heat Race #2 (8 Laps): 1. 3w Ryan Ruhl, 2. 10 Davey Brown, 3. 14 Gary Fast 4. 00 Ryan Grubaugh 5. 46 Robert Huisken 6. 2T Ralph Brakenberry

ARP Fastners Heat Race #3 (8 Laps): 1. 19s Brett Mann 2. 35 Stuart Brubaker 3. 25m Ken Mackey 4. 11 Trey Smith 5. 29 Marques Huffer 6. 89 Chris Pobanz

Gaerte Engines Fast Car Dash (4 Laps): 1. 00 Ryan Grubaugh 2. 8 Tim Champlain 3. 11 Trey Smith 4. 70 Jim Lingar

Engine Pro ASCS Sprints on Dirt Presented by ARP “A” Feature
“A” Feature (25 Laps): 1. 19s Brett Mann 2. 14 Gary Fast, 3. 25m Ken Mackey 4. 31 Andy Teunessen 5. 3w Ryan Ruhl 6. 10 Davey Brown 7. 00 Ryan Grubaugh 8. 11 Trey Smith 9. 20a Andy Chehowski 10. 46 Robert Huisken 11. 70 Jim Lingar 12. 29s Marques Huffer 13. 22T Tank Brakenberry 14. 89 Chris Pobanz 15. 21 Matt Lumbert 16. 2T Ralph Brakenberry 17. 8 Tim Champlain 18. 35 Stuart Brubaker (Disqualified).

Engine Pro ASCS Sprints on Dirt presented by ARP Points (Top Ten): 1. Dustin Daggett 1,112, 2. Brett Mann 886, 3. Ryan Grubaugh 865, 4. Robert Huisken 845, 5. Davey Brown 788, 6. Jim Lingar 748, 7. Matt Lumbert 734, 8. Marques Huffer 652, 9. Ken Mackey 626, 10. Ryan Ruhl 621.