Superior Speedway to host All Star Circuit of Champions for first time ever

All Star Circuit of Champions

By Brian Liskai

CAMARGO, IL. (7-26-11) – The All Star Circuit of Champions
have added a new track to the eight race Thunder Through the Plains
extravaganza. Superior Speedway in Superior, Wisconsin will host the
traveling 410 sprint car series on Tuesday, Aug. 16 for a $5,000-to-win

This is the first time the All Stars have visited the track. The Superior
Speedway race is part of the All Stars’ traditional “Thunder Through the
Plains” which has taken on a new twist this year. The All Stars have
created separate regions with separate point funds for 2011. The Thunder
Through the Plains comprises the Western Region with points awarded during
each of the eight events. The overall champion will earn $10,000!

It all kicks off Thursday, July 28 at Red River Co-Op Speedway in Winnipeg,
MB, Canada (rain date of July 29. Following are the dates of the “Thunder
Through the Plains:”

July 28 – Red River Co-Op Speedway, Winnipeg, MB – $5,000 (rain date of
July 29)

July 31 – Husets Speedway, Brandon, S.D. – $5,000

Aug. 3 – Red River Valley Speedway, Fargo, N.D. – $5,000 (rain date of Aug.

Aug. 6 – Knoxville Raceway, Knoxville, Iowa – $5,000

Aug. 8 – Southern Iowa Speedway – Front Row Challenge, Oskaloosa, Iowa,

Aug. 14 – Husets Speedway, Brandon, S.D., $5,000

Aug. 16 – Superior Speedway, Duluth, Minn., $5,000

Aug. 17 – Red RiverValleySpeedway, Fargo, N.D., $12,000

You can bet two-time and defending All Star champion Tim Shaffer – who has
caught fire lately, winning a pair of World of Outlaw events – will be
gunning for all the cash. However, he trails three-time All Star champion
Dale Blaney in the $20,000-to-win Ohio Region and National point standings.
Also look for 2010 Knoxville Nationals Rookie of the Year David Gravel to
continue to apply pressure to both Shaffer and Blaney as he sits third in
both the Ohio Region and National point standings. Also, expect to see 2010
All Star Rookie of the Year Cap Henry, two-time All Star Champion Greg
Wilson, Tony Stewart Racing’s Jessica Zemken and more.

With so much money on the line, fans could also see current Knoxville point
leader and former World of Outlaw champion Danny Lasoski along with former
Knoxville and Huset’s champion TMac Terry McCarl follow the All Stars along
with 2011 Kings Royal winner Tyler Walker and a host of other national and
regional stars.

For more information go to