ASCS Canyon Region set to kick off 2012 Season

2010 ascs American Sprint Car Series

From Bryan Hulbert

Tulsa, OK (March 12, 2012) – After hosting the 2012
season opening races for the Lucas Oil American Sprint Car Series
presented by MavTv, Canyon Speedway Park in Peoria, Arizona prepares
to kick off yet another chase for glory as the ASCS Canyon Region
headlines the track’s season opener on Saturday March 17th.

With 21 confirmed dates, plus an addition trio of to be determined
dates, making up the 2012 ASCS Canyon Region schedule, the 2012 season
marks the sixth season of competition for the American Sprint Car
Series’ lone non-wing division.

In 2012 the ASCS Canyon Region will see races in Arizona, New Mexico,
and west Texas. The bulk of the dates will be held in the “Grand
Canyon State” with single night events in El Paso, Texas and Las
Cruces, New Mexico.

Going into the 2012 season Jeremy Sherman and Charles Davis Jr. are
the undisputed kings of Arizona non-wing racing as the only two
drivers to have earned championships in the Canyon Region; Sherman
with three and Davis with two. Combined, the pair of drivers have
accounted for 54 victories of the 94 races scheduled between 2007 and

The 2012 season also marks the thirty-first year of racing at Canyon
Speedway Park. Under the management of Kevin Montgomery, the 3/8 mile
clay oval will see competition thirty times with a rotation of eleven

Quick Notes:

ASCS Canyon Region 2012 Season Opener

Location: Canyon Speedway Park

Date: March 17, 2012

Times: Gates Open at 5pm / Racing beings at 7pm

Directions (from Canyon Speedway Park is
located in North Peoria off Lake Pleasant Parkway, then 1.3 miles West
on Carefree Highway.  For more information please, contact the track
at 602-258-RACE(7223) or additional information regarding Canyon
Speedway Park can be found at

The 2012 season marks the 21st year of sanctioning Sprint Car racing
for the American Sprint Car Series, which brings the best of Sprint
Car racing to dozens of different tracks throughout the nation and
into Canada. Anchored by the Lucas Oil Sprint Car Series, ASCS also
consists of ten different Regions throughout the nation.

Additional information regarding the American Sprint Car Series is
available at