Lucas Oil ASCS heads for Double Header at I-30 Speedway

American Sprint Car Series

Bryan Hulbert

Tulsa, OK (May 13, 2012) – Affectionately known as “Hammer Hill” I-30
Speedway in Little Rock, Arkansas is set to host the Lucas Oil ASCS
presented by MAVTV this Friday May 11th and Saturday May 12th.

This weekend’s double-header marks rounds ten and eleven in the 2012
championship hunt which took a dramatic turn coming out of competition
at the Salina Highbanks and Riverside International Speedway two weeks

Taking the points lead after his second national tour win of 2012 at
the Salina Highbanks Speedway, Oklahoma native Wayne Johnson was able
to stretch his advantage from three to thirty markers over Jason
Johnson after the MVT 41 was forced to use his second provisional of
the season when a failed ignition switch in his qualifying heat put
Johnson deep in a B-Feature.

Continuing a season of unmatched consistency, Wayne Johnson’s Missile
Motorsports 77x has yet to finish outside the top five; even holding
onto a fifth place finish at the Rock ‘N Roll 50 after sustaining a
broken nose when what was described as a muffler destroyed Wayne’s

Although the last outing of the Roush/Yates 41 was less than
desirable, it was not enough to remove Jason Johnson far from the top
tier and has certainly not put much of a kink in a season of otherwise
strong runs. Entering this weekend’s two nights of competition Johnson
has claimed victory on three occasions along with six top five and
nine top ten finishes.

Still searching for his first win of the season Brady Bacon continues
to sit third in points. With eight top ten runs to go along with five
podium finishes in only nine starts, with four being runner up
finishes, the driver of the Fatheadz Eyewear 99 has again proven to be
a formidable opponent having already past a combined 71 cars in A-Main
competition this season.

After getting upside down to start off the 2012 season, the Champion
Brands 45x of Johnny Herrera has been on the comeback trail. Fighting
into fourth in the championship standings Herrera, who has four top
five and six top ten runs so far this season, sits a mere three points
away from taking away the third spot.

Rounding out the top five in points heading into I-30 Speedway is Gary
Wright. After fire consumed his car at the Rock ‘N Roll 50, Wright
spent this past weekend shaking down a new ride with the Speedway
Motors ASCS Warrior Region at Lucas Oil Speedway. It proved to be a
test run worth making a wright was able to uncover a faulty steering
gear in the process. Also looking for his first win of the season,
Wright has still managed a pair of top five runs as well as seven top
ten finishes.

Brad Loyet currently occupies sixth in national points, bouncing back
from a low of twelfth earlier this year with four consecutive top five
finishes including a second at the Rock ‘N Roll 50. Tony Bruce Jr.
sits seventh after missing the show at Riverside with Danny Wood
eighth. Seth Bergman, who picked up his first National Tour win at
the Rock N’ Roll 50, sits ninth with Dustin Morgan rounding out the
top ten.

Of the driver in the top ten half have visited victory lane at I-30
Speedway. Gary Wright leads in overall wins with thirteen. Jason
Johnson has four wins to his credit while Tony Bruce Jr. and Wayne
Johnson each have three. Brady Bacon currently has a pair of wins at
the Arkansas quarter mile oval.

The Series:

Lucas Oil American Sprint Car Series presented by MAVTV

When and Where:

Friday May 11th – I-30 Speedway – Little Rock, AR – Pits open @ 5pm /
Racing begins @ 7:30pm

Saturday May 12th – I-30 Speedway – Little Rock, AR – Pits open @ 5pm
/ Racing begins at 7:30pm

Track Information:

Directions (according to NSD) – I-30 Speedway – Located 7 miles
southwest of Little Rock on I-30 to exit 126 (county line road), then
south to frontage road, then east (SSR)

Address: 12297 Interstate 30, Little Rock, AR 72209

Phone #: 501-455-4567


ASCS I-30 History: For every journey there must be a beginning and the
American Sprint Car Series National Tour that means I-30 Speedway.
Founded in 1992 in Oklahoma, the first official National Tour event
was held on May 15, 1993 at I-30 with Mike Ward taking the win. Since
then the Lucas Oil ASCS presented by MAVTV has returned 56 times with
23 different winners.

I-30 Speedway Winners: Gary Wright (13), Garry Lee Maier (4), Jason
Johnson (4), Tim Crawley (4), Mike Ward (4), Terry Gray (4), Tony
Bruce Jr. (3), Wayne Johnson (3), Brad Sweet (3), Brady Bacon (2),
Shane Stewart (2), Travis Rilat (2), Danny Lasoski (2), Eric Sandage
(1), Jason Myers (1), Jeff Swindell (1), Nick Smith (1), Pete Butler
(1), Ricky Logan (1), Sam Hafertepe Jr. (1), Sammy Swindell (1), Tim
Schaffer (1), Zach Chappell (1)

Lucas Oil ASCS presented by MAVTV Driver Points (top 10): 1. Wayne
Johnson 1,217; 2. Jason Johnson 1,187; 3. Brady Bacon 1,157 4. Johnny
Herrera 1,060; 5. Gary Wight 1,039; 6. Brad Loyet 1,023; 7. Tony Bruce
Jr. 997; 8. Danny Wood 984; 9. Seth Bergman 944; 10. Dustin Morgan 931

Lucas Oil ASCS presented by MAVTV Owner Points (top 10): 1. Wayne
Johnson 1,217; 2. JJR/Stenhouse 1,185; 3. B.B.R. 1,157 4. Herrera/Main
1,060; 5. Gary Wight 1,039; 6. Loyet Motorsports 1,023; 7. One Eight
Motorsports. 997; 8. Wood Racing 984; 9. P.P.M 944; 10. M&M
Motorsports 931

2012 Feature Winners: Jason Johnson-3, Wayne Johnson-2, Tony Bruce
Jr., Seth Bergman-1, Dustin Morgan-1, Danny Wood-1

Lucas Oil American Sprint Car Series presented by MAVTV – A Look Ahead

May 23 Valley Speedway (Grain Valley, MO)

May 24 I-80 Speedway (Greenwood, NE)

May 26-27 Great American Dirt Track (Jetmore, KS) – 4th Steve King Memorial

June 8-9 Eagle Raceway (Eagle, NE) – Eagle Nationals

June 15-16 Devil’s Bowl Speedway (Mesquite, TX) – Summer Nationals

Lucas Oil American Sprint Car Series presented by MAVTV on the web:

All Lucas Oil American Sprint Car Series national events are broadcast
live on for anyone who is unable to attend the races
live. Official results, points, and race notes are posted at The Lucas Oil ASCS presented by MAVTV can also be
found on Facebook and Twitter.

Lucas Oil ASCS on TV: A full schedule of tape-delayed races for the
2012 season can found at

The Lucas Oil American Sprint Car Series presented by MAVTV is
scheduled to compete 68 times throughout the United States with divers
competing for their share of a $250,000 point’s fund.

The 2012 season marks the 21st year of sanctioning Sprint Car racing
for the American Sprint Car Series, which brings the best of Sprint
Car racing to dozens of different tracks throughout the nation and
into Canada. Anchored by the Lucas Oil American Sprint Car Series,
ASCS also consists of ten different Regions throughout the nation.

Lucas Oil Products is the title sponsor of the American Sprint Car
Series. More information can be found on Lucas Oil Products at MavTv is the presenting sponsor of the American
Sprint Car Series. For information regarding availability and listings
in your area log onto

Associate sponsors for the Lucas Oil American Sprint Car Series
presented by MavTV include: Hoosier Racing Tire, Brodix, Geico, E3
Spark Plugs, General Tire, K&N Filters,, Schoenfeld
Headers,, Weld Wheels, Maxwell Industries, Print
Place, Simpson, Wesmar Racing Engines, and Hilborn Injection Systems.

Additional information regarding the American Sprint Car Series is
available at