USAC United States Auto Club CRA California Racing Association Logo

By Lance Jennings

SANTA MARIA, CA – MAY 16, 2012… The cars and stars of the Amsoil USAC/CRA Sprint Car Series will return to action this Saturday, May 19th, at Kings Speedway in Hanford. Joining Scott Woodhouse’s action packed card will be the USAC Western Midgets, IMCA Modifieds, IMCA Sport Mods, and WRA Vintage Cars. The spectator gates will open at 5:00pm, with racing scheduled to begin at 6:30pm.

Last year, the 3/8-mile facility provided one of the most dramatic races of the campaign. Bud Kaeding scored the 30-lap feature victory on May 7th after restarting at the back. Nic Faas claimed second after starting nineteenth and Matt Mitchell raced to third from his thirteenth starting spot. On November 13th, Levi Jones won the season finale and the USAC National crown at Hanford, while Mike Spencer claimed his fourth straight USAC/CRA championship.

Heading into Saturday’s fourth round of competition, Temecula’s Mike Spencer holds an eleven point advantage. At Perris on April 28th, the pilot of Ron Chaffin’s #50 Madera Produce / Grubstake Mini Storage Maxim nearly swept the show by earning his second fast time award, placing second in his heat race, and winning his second feature of the year. Spencer and the Bruce Bromme Jr. led team will have their sights on the Hanford victory and making history with another title.

Nic Faas of Huntington Beach is second in the point chase. Driving Mark Alexander’s #4 Scott Sales Company / Competition Suspension Inc. Spike, the 2008 Rookie of the Year was second quick, scored his second heat race win of the year, and claimed seventh in the April 28th feature. Faas won the season opener at Perris on February 25th and will be looking to add Saturday’s main event to his title chase.

Yorba Linda’s Matt Mitchell is currently third in the standings, thirteen points behind Spencer. Piloting the J.W. Mitchell Motorsports’ #37 J.M. Mancha Realtors / Sierra Springs Water Maxim, Matt was ninth fast in time trials, third in his heat race, and nearly stole the Perris feature from Spencer before scoring second. The former USAC Western Midget Series Rookie of the Year will be looking to score his first victory of 2012 at Hanford.

Ryan Bernal of Hollister sits fourth in the championship points. Driving the Kittle Motorsports’ #18 Pace Lighting / PJ1 Lubricants Sherman, Bernal was seventh quick, third in his heat race, and tenth in the April 28th feature. Last year’s USAC West Coast 360 Rookie of the Year will have his eyes set on his first career USAC/CRA win on Saturday.

Riverside’s “Dynamite” David Cardey is fifth in the point standings. Piloting his #59 Circle Track Performance / Victory Race Cars Viper, the former California Lightning Sprint Champion was third quick, second in his heat race, and claimed third in the Perris main event. Cardey is no stranger to victory lane and will drive a new Moose Racing #92 entry later in the season.

Among the other top contenders expected to be in action are Yorba Linda’s Austin, Cody and “The Ripper” Rip Williams, Buena Park’s Brody Roa, Richard and Jace Vander Weerd of Visalia, Ventura’s Cory Kruseman, Camarillo’s Josh Ford, Seth Wilson of Las Vegas, and many more.

Kings Speedway is located on the Kings County Fairgrounds at 801 South 10th Avenue in Hanford, California. Reserved Grandstand tickets are $20 and General Bleacher tickets are $17. Advance tickets are on sale now and camping is available on the fairgrounds. For more event and ticket information, visit or call (559) 584-RACE (7223).

The Amsoil USAC/CRA Sprint Car Series would like to thank Hoosier Tire, Circle Track Performance, Competition Suspension Inc., DJ Safety, Diversified Machine Inc., Extreme Mufflers, Hilborn Fuel Injection, Integra Shocks, Keizer Wheels, LRB Inc. Race Products, Ringers Gloves, Rod End Supply, SBI Fuel Systems, Saldana Racing Products, and Sander Engineering for their support.

For more information on the Amsoil USAC/CRA Sprint Car Series, visit or follow the series on facebook.
1. Mike Spencer-207; 2. Nic Faas-196; 3. Matt Mitchell-194; 4. Ryan Bernal-160; 5. David Cardey-142; 6. Austin Williams-140; 7. Brody Roa-136; 8. Rip Williams-121; 9. Richard Vander Weerd-107; 10. Cory Kruseman-106; 11. Josh Ford-99; 12. Seth Wilson-94; 13. David Bezio-93; 14. Jace Vander Weerd-90; 15. Greg Alexander-85; 16. Cody Williams-81; 17. Jake Swanson-78; 18. Josh Pelkey-51; 19. Tony Everhart-41;—. Ronnie Gardner-41.

May 19: Kings Speedway – Hanford, CA
May 26: Perris Auto Speedway – Perris, CA (Salute To Indy)
June 2: Cocopah Speedway – Yuma, AZ
June 15: **Ocean Speedway – Watsonville, CA
June 16: **Santa Maria Speedway – Santa Maria, CA
July 4: Perris Auto Speedway – Perris, CA (Firecracker 30)
July 28: Perris Auto Speedway – Perris, CA (California Racers Hall of Fame Night)
August 10: **Ocean Speedway – Watsonville, CA
August 11: **Santa Maria Speedway – Santa Maria, CA (Wagscash)
August 18: Perris Auto Speedway – Perris, CA
September 1: **Calistoga Speedway – Calistoga, CA (Louie Vermeil Classic)
September 2: **Calistoga Speedway – Calistoga, CA (Louie Vermeil Classic)
September 5: **Silver Dollar Speedway – Chico, CA (Non-Points)
September 15: Perris Auto Speedway – Perris, CA
October 6: Perris Auto Speedway – Perris, CA (Southern California Fair)
October 26: *Canyon Speedway Park – Peoria, AZ (Hall of Fame Classic)
October 27: *Canyon Speedway Park – Peoria, AZ (Hall of Fame Classic)
November 2: *Perris Auto Speedway – Perris, CA (Budweiser Oval Nationals)
November 3: *Perris Auto Speedway – Perris, CA (Budweiser Oval Nationals)
* = Co-Sanctioned Event With USAC National Sprints.
** = Co-Sanctioned Event With USAC Western Classic Racing Series.
This schedule is subject to change.