Broughton Wins OVSCA Feature

From Scott Wolfe

Stewart, OH — (May 19, 2012) — A beautiful spring night and 90 cars in five classes entertained the large crowd at Billy Jarrell’s Skyline Speedway Friday night where rookie Ryan Broughton, Chillicothe, Ohio area driver claimed the tantalizing twenty-five lap Ohio Valley Sprint Car Association (OVSCA) 410 sprint car main. K-C Burdette, Parkersburg, WV became the second straight GM Crate Engine to win a Super Late model win in the Tru-Tech AMRA Late Models, while veteran Doug Henry, Beverly, OH grabbed the Malta Windows AMRA Modified main, Burdette took the Semi Late main, and Cole Mayle won the Mike’s Auto Body mini-wedge main.

Just like last week young Ryan Broughton jumped into the early lead in the OVSCA main. Broughton vaulted into the initial lead over veteran Jimmy Nier of Piketon, OH. On the third lap Jeff Conrad slammed the third turn wall, but was uninjured. Broughton, who led over half the race last week, went green-to-checkered this week for the huge win over a veteran field.

At the ten lap mark, Nathan Skaggs, another up-and-coming driver, put a slide job on Nier for third. That came five laps after Dave Dickson grabbed second from Nier in a drag race into turn one.

Unlike last week when the master Danny Smith played a game of cat-and-mouse with Broughton, the young terror showed much poise in working the traffic and charging on to the win. Dickson won a tight battle for second over Skaggs, while Jimmy Stinson and Aaron Higgins worked their way into the top five.

Up from the mini-sprints, the twenty-year old charger and son of former chauffeur Tony Broughton was elated in victory lane after his first ever 410 win.

“We are learning each time out and we are pretty good on these slick tracks,” said Broughton. “It means so much to get this win, especially for my Dad–he makes this car work. Sometimes we are out to lunch on the tacky tracks, but tonight this was my kind of racing. Thanks to everyone who made this win possible.”

Broughton’s George Fisher GF-1 Chassis/ HG Fisher powered 22 was the class of the field, lapping cars into the top ten and winning by nearly a half track.

Behind Broughton and rounding out the top ten were Dickson, Nathan Skaggs, Aaron Higgins, Jimmy Stinson, Jimmy Nier, Wayne McPeek, Brian Benson, Josh Davis, and Eric Martin.

The hard charger was Wayne McPeek in a 13th to 6th place run.