Stinson Wins Photo Finish at Skyline

From Scott Wolfe

Stewart, OH — (September 7, 2012) — A nice crowd and warm-tropical weather set the back-drop for what proved to be another wonderful reception for the 4th Annual Greg Schilling Memorial at Billy Jarrell’s Skyline Speedway in Stewart, Ohio.  Two-time defending OVSCA sprint car champion Jimmy Stinson pulled off a photo finish win over Nathan Skaggs in the 410 outlaw sprint division.

410 sprint main was one of the best witnessed in many years. Initially, Danny Smith, in typical outlaw fashion blasted into the lead and seemed to have the race well in hand. Smith battle Jimmy Stinson early then began to check-out during laps 6-10. Although the short fast way was along the bottom, the track developed multiple grooves. Andrea Layfield at one time had blasted from 10th to fifth riding the rim of the track, walking a tightrope between success and disaster.
By midway, Stinson began to reel in Smith, while Nathan Skaggs went ‘elbows up’ and ran down Stinson. It appeared that Kody Kinser might make it a tight four-car slugfest. Kinser of Bloomington, IN battled Aaron Higgins hard, and had to repel the efforts of Layfield and Eric Martin who had one of his best-ever finishes and a top six in time trials.
By lap 16 Stinson had run down Smith amid heavy traffic and mounted a side-by-side challenge. Three laps later young Skaggs added the third flavor to the spicy tango, taking his number 2 to the bottom while Stinson rode the high side on either side of Smith. Skaggs took second on lap 20, with Stinson just inches behind. Skaggs passed Smith on lap 23, then a lap later Stinson followed suit as Smith nearly spun his mount as his car visibly lost traction.
Stinson officially posted second on the white flag lap as he and Skaggs crossed the line nearly in a dead heat. With fans cheering and on their feet, Skaggs led the escape through turns one and two, and into a dog fight through 3 and 4 where the dynamic duo rifled to the finish line for a narrow Stinson victory. Stinson officially led one lap–the last one for the win in the Maxim/Charlie Fisher powered B &J Welding and Contracting #84.
Said Stinson, “The key to this win was my mechanic Gary Hall. He made some changes tonight that really hooked up the car and all I had to do was drive it. Also, Thanks to Billy Jarrell for giving me great equipment. That race had to be a great race for the fans. It could have been anyone’s race right down to the wire.”
The Hard Chargers in the Sprints were Andre Layfield moving up four positions from 10th to 6th and Lance Webb moving up four positions from 14th to 10th. Bob Tucker won his first-ever sprint race with a B-main win.
Rounding out the top ten were Jimmy Stinson, Nathan Skaggs, Danny Smith, Kody Kinser, Aaron Higgins, Andre Layfield, Eric Martin, Eddie Slone, Dave Dickson, and Lance Webb.

The summary: Sept. 7, 2012

410 Sprint Cars (21)
Fast Time: Nathan Skaggs 11:99
Dash: Danny Smith, Jimmy Stinson, Nathan Skaggs, Kody Kinser, Eric Martin, Wayne McPeek
Heat One: Aaron Higgins, Greg Mitchell, Brian Benson, David Smith, Nick Forcum, Bob Tucker, Jeff Conrad, Josh Davis (DNS)
Heat Two: Eddie Slone, Andre Layfield, Dave Dickson, Lance Webb, Eddie Miller, Jesse McCreary, Eric Simple
B-Main: Bob Tucker, Jesse McCreary, Eric Simple, Jeff Conrad, Josh Davis (DNS)
Feature: Jimmy Stinson, Nathan Skaggs, Danny Smith, Kody Kinser, Aaron Higgins, Andre Layfield, Eric Martin, Eddie Slone, Dave Dickson, Lance Webb, Greg Mitchell, Wayne McPeek, Brian Benson, David Smith, Nick Forcum, Bob Tucker, Eddie Miller, Jesse McCreary