Coleman Gulick Grabs Gas City Finale

Coleman Gulick. - T.J. Buffenbarger Photo

From Bob Buffenbarger

Gas City, IN — (September 28, 2012) — Gas City I-69 Speedway brought down the curtain in fine style Friday night with Coleman Gulick winning the “Jack Himelick Fall Final” 25 lap feature.

32 wingless warriors signed in for battle on the well prepared track on a cool but pleasant evening. After season point awards were handed out on the front stretch the sprint car feature pushed off after Ross Rankine had won the USAC Ignite feature.

Dave Darland in the driving the Phillips #71p car started on the pole with Coleman Gulick along side. Darland led the initial circuit with Gulick getting under Darland to take the lead on lap two which he held to the finish. The red flag flew on lap four after Travis Welpott appeared to blow up and had a engine fire. He was not injured.

The battle for positions behind Gulick were heating up early with 8th starting Bryan Clauson and CJ Leary slicing and dicing with Chris Gurley, Shane Cottle and James Bradshaw. As the laps wound down, Clauson eventually got around a very strong Leary for 3rd. Meanwhile Gulick was on a rail with Darland maintaining 2nd throughout the feature with both drivers negotiating lapped traffic.

At the checkers it was Gulick, Darland, Clauson, Leary, Shane Cottle and Jon Stanbrough from 19th.

Heats races were won by Chris Gurley, Gulick, CJ Leary and Clauson. Kyle Robbins picked up the B main victory.


Heat #1 Winner – Chris Gurley

Heat #2 Winner – Coleman Gulick

Heat #3 Winner – CJ Leary

Heat #4 Winner – Bryan Clauson

B-Main Winner – Kyle Robbins


1. Coleman Gulick

2. Dave Darland

3. Bryan Clauson

4. CJ Leary

5. Shane Cottle

6. Jon Stanbrough

7. Chris Gurley

8. James Bradshaw

9. Tracy Hines

10. Matt Westfall

11. Conner Donelson

12. Jon Sciscoe

13. Tyler Hewitt

14. Ted Hines

15. Kyle Robbins

16. Tyler Courtney

17. Wesley Gordon

18. Parker Price-Miller

19. Travis Welpott

20. Billy Puterbaugh, Jr.