Tankersley on top at Royal Purple

tankersleyteaseFrom Bryan Hulbert

Baytown, TX —  (April 6, 2013) — In the Griffith Truck and Equipment Gulf South Region’s first visit of the season to the Royal Purple Raceway, the No. 71 of Channin Tankersley raced to his first region win of the 2013 season.

Taking the lead in the late goings of the night’s feature event, Tankersley bested early race leader Ray Allen Kulhanek to deliver the Danbury, Texas driver his second runner up finish of the weekend. Travis Rilat came from ninth to third with Brandon Berryman fourth while Travis Elliot completed the top five.

Jerry Bell grabbed sixth followed by Michael McNeil and John Carney II who came twenty-second to eighth. Tommy Bryant and Aaron Reutzel completed the top ten.

Griffith Truck and Equipment Gulf South Region
Royal Purple Raceway – Baytown, Texas
April 6, 2013

Car Count: 31

Heat 1 (8 Laps): 1. 12M-Kolt Walker; 2. 19-Klint Angelette; 3. 5X-Tyson Hall; 4. 93-Chris Sweeney; 5. 17X-Josh Baughman; 6. 66-J.J. Simmons; 7. 224-John Carney II; 8. 2-Wes Miller

Heat 2 (8 Laps): 1. 51-Beau Smith; 2. 85-Jerry Bell; 3. 24-Brandie Jass; 4. 30X-Bean Elliott; 5. 54-Evan Pardo; 6. 28-Tommy Bryant; 7. 7W-Dustin Welch; 8. 02-Harry Yerrington

Heat 3 (8 Laps): 1. 21T-Ray Allen Kulhanek; 2. 15T-Travis Elliott; 3. 31-Brandon Berryman; 4. 95-Matt Covington; 5. 17-Sean McClelland; 6. 52-Roger Oakes; 7. 69-Larry Howery; 8. 17T-Bruce Griffith Jr

Heat 4 (8 Laps): 1. 71-Channin Tankersley; 2. 29-Travis Rilat; 3. 25M-Michael McNeil; 4. 11A-Sam Hafertepe Jr; 5. 14-Michael Lang; 6. 87-Aaron Reutzel; 7. 96-Rod Craddock

B Feature 1 (12 Laps): 1. 28-Tommy Bryant; 2. 87-Aaron Reutzel; 3. 14-Michael Lang; 4. 24-Brandie Jass; 5. 66-J.J. Simmons; 6. 69-Larry Howery; 7. 54-Evan Pardo; 8. 52-Roger Oakes; 9. 17T-Bruce Griffith Jr; 10. 7W-Dustin Welch; 11. 96-Rod Craddock; 12. 02-Harry Yerrington; 13. 2-Wes Miller

A Feature (30 Laps): 1. 71-Channin Tankersley; 2. 21T-Ray Allen Kulhanek; 3. 29-Travis Rilat; 4. 31-Brandon Berryman; 5. 15T-Travis Elliott; 6. 85-Jerry Bell; 7. 25M-Michael McNeil; 8. 224-John Carney II; 9. 28-Tommy Bryant; 10. 87-Aaron Reutzel; 11. 14-Michael Lang; 12. 5X-Tyson Hall; 13. 17-Sean McClelland; 14. 95-Matt Covington; 15. 19-Klint Angelette; 16. 17X-Josh Baughman; 17. 51-Beau Smith; 18. 93-Chris Sweeney; 19. 30X-Bean Elliott; 20. 66-J.J. Simmons; 21. 69-Larry Howery; 22. 24-Brandie Jass; DNF 11A-Sam Hafertepe Jr; DNF 12M-Kolt Walker

The 2013 season marks the twenty-second year of sanctioning Sprint Car racing for the American Sprint Car Series, which brings the best of Sprint Car racing to dozens of different tracks throughout the nation and into Canada. Anchored by the Lucas Oil American Sprint Car Series presented by MAVTV American Real, ASCS also consists of eight different Regions throughout the nation.

Additional information regarding the American Sprint Car Series is available at www.ascsracing.com as well as Twitter (@LucasOilASCS) and Facebook. News and information can also be sent to you with the ASCS E-News by texting ASCS to 22828 with any mobile device.