Hillier, Lemley, McCabe and Warner Win Season Opening Races at Skagit

skagitFrom Kelly Hart


Alger, WA — (April 20, 2013) — The racing vortex kept the wet weather at bay as ASA Member track Skagit Speedway got their 2013 season opener completed. Picking up the initial main event wins were Chad Hiller (410 Sprints), Brock Lemley (360 Sprints), Zach McCabe (Sportsman Sprints) and Tom Warner (Outlaw Tuners).


Hillier turned early race misfortune into gold as the from his 6th starting spot he watched as the two rows in front of him tangle on the initial start moving him to outside front row on the restart. Using that advantage Hillier beat Kevin Smith into the first turn on the start then held on for the 25-lap win. Hillier was followed by Travis Jacobson, and Brock Lemley rounding out the top three. Lemley and Eric Fisher won the 8-lap heat races. Hillier set fast time at 11.179 seconds.


Brock Lemley started off 2013 just like he did 2012, winning his first main of the year in a new car and new team. Leading all 25-laps of the main event, Lemley lapped the field all the way up to the 4th place car. Heat race wins went to Cam Smith and Derek Roberts. Randy Price set fast time on his birthday with a lap of 11.629.


Opening night wins are always special, but even more special when they are your first ever win in the division. Zach McCabe kept the car low and fast to run away with the Sportsman Sprint division 20-lap main win. McCabe bested 2012 champion Steve Parker and Cory Swatzina for the win. Heat race wins went to Ben Gunderson and Swatzina.


The Outlaw Tuner 17-lap main event win came down to the final lap as Tom Warner held off Brandon Berg in heavy traffic at the finish line. Patrick Adams finished third. Warner and Berg won the heat races.


Racing action returns to Skagit Speedway Saturday night April 27th with three classes of Sprint Cars and the Outlaw Hornets in action. Gates open at 5pm with racing at 7pm.


410 Sprints

Fast time Chad Hillier 11.179

Heat 1 Eric Fisher, Trey Starks, Travis Jacobson, Chad Hillier

Heat 2 Brock Lemley, Kevin Smith, Jonathan Jorgenson, Alec Covert

Main Chad Hillier, Jacobson, Lemley, Fisher, Jorgenson, Covert, Starks, Smith

Lap leaders Chad Hillier 1-25

Hard Charger Hillier +5 positions gained


360 Sprints

Fast time Randy Price 11.629

Heat 1 Cam Smith, Brock Lemley, Mitch Olson, Mack Brown, Bud Ashe

Heat 2 Derek Roberts, Kelsey Carpenter, Rod Perkins, Matt Jensen, Liam Ryan

Main Brock Lemley, Carpenter, Olson, Smith, Roberts, Perkins, Ashe, Ryan, Price, James, Brooke, Custer, Bollinger, Jensen, Brown

Lap Leaders Brock Lemley 1-25

Hard Charger Mitch Olson +7 positions gained


Sportsman Sprints

Heat 1 Ben Gunderson, Clayton Sibley, Zach McCabe. James Bundy, Dave Mead

Heat 2 Cory Swatzina, Steve Parker, Bill Rude, Kurt Meyers, Stephen Reeves

Main Zach McCabe, Parker, Swatzina, Bundy, Rude, Sibley, Meyers, Mead, Gee, Lewellen, Clark, Fox, Gunderson, Oudman, Reeves, Otis

Lap Leaders Zach McCabe 1-20

Hard Charger Skylar Gee +5 positions gained


Outlaw Tuners

Heat 1 Tom Warner, Freddie Vela, Rick Young, Clint Meins, Tina Thibert

Heat 2 Brandon Berg, Patrick Adams, Vance Hibbard, Matt Ploeg, John Edwards

Main Tom Warner, Berg, Adams, Young, Vela, Ploeg, Gunderson, Meins, Hibbard, Eric Thibert, Vos, Ballenger, Edwards, Helms, Boudreau, Toth, Tina Thibert

Lap leaders Tom Warner 1-17

Hard Charger Jon Gunderson +10 positions gained