Jay Russell wires Warrior Region at Double X

American Sprint Car Series ASCS Warrior Region Logo 2011

American Sprint Car Series ASCS Warrior Region Logo 2011From Bryan Hulbert


California, MO — (July 28, 2013) —  The Speedway Motors Warrior Region made their third trip of 2013 to the Double X Speedway in California, Mo. on Sunday with Jay Russell breaking into victory lane for the first time this season.


Taking the lead from the start, the Elwood, Kan. driver never relinquished the top spot in the night’s 30 lap Clyde Wood Memorial A-Feature.


Current Speedway Motors Warrior Region points leader Jonathan Cornell crossed second followed by Kyle Bell, Adam Jones, and Tyler Blank to make up the top five. Randy Martin, Chris Morgan, Curtis Evans, Mitchell Moore, an Josh Fisher completed the top ten.


Speedway Motors Warrior Region

Double X Speedway – California, Mo.

Sunday, July 28, 2013


Car Count: 24


Heat 1 (8 Laps): 1. 28-Jonathan Cornell; 2. 76-Jay Russell; 3. 9M-Mitchell Moore; 4. 48-Randy Martin; 5. 34-Corey Nelson; 6. 49-Tyler Elliott; 7. 7K-Kelly Newcomb; DNF 38-Cody Baker


Heat 2 (8 Laps): 1. 4J-Tim Crawley; 2. 1P-Curtis Evans; 3. 77-Chris Morgan; 4. 24-Lanny Carpenter; 5. 86X-Josh Fisher; 6. 5-Matt Close; 7. 9-Casey Baker; DNF 92J-J.R. Topper


Heat 3 (8 Laps): 1. 72-Curtis Boyer; 2. 86-Kyle Bellm; 3. 75-Tyler Blank; 4. 1A-Adam Jones; 5. 4-Evan Martin; 6. 31-Bryan Grimes; 7. 8-Jeff Wingate; DNS XX-A.J. Wirts


B Feature 1 (12 Laps): 1. 49-Tyler Elliott; 2. 38-Cody Baker; 3. 5-Matt Close; 4. 8-Jeff Wingate; 5. 92J-J.R. Topper; 6. 9-Casey Baker; DNF 7K-Kelly Newcomb; DNS XX-A.J. Wirts


A Feature (30 Laps): 1. 76-Jay Russell; 2. 28-Jonathan Cornell; 3. 86-Kyle Bellm; 4. 1A-Adam Jones; 5. 75-Tyler Blank; 6. 48-Randy Martin; 7. 77-Chris Morgan; 8. 1P-Curtis Evans; 9. 9M-Mitchell Moore; 10. 86X-Josh Fisher; 11. 38-Cody Baker; 12. 49-Tyler Elliott; 13. 34-Corey Nelson; 14. 31-Bryan Grimes; 15. 5-Matt Close; DNF 4-Evan Martin; DNF 24-Lanny Carpenter; DNF 4J-Tim Crawley; DNF 8-Jeff Wingate; DNF 72-Curtis Boyer


Lap Leader(s): Jay Russell (1-30)