Burt roars back into the chase!

marysville raceway park mrpFrom Bob Burbridge

Marysville, CA – (August 26, 2013) – Grass Valley’s Jeremy Burt trounced the field Saturday night in the featured MRP Winged Pacific Sprint Car main event.  Local stars Cort Dozier, Misty Castleberry and Jeremy Hammons also won feature events. It was Richmond Gear Night at the Races at Paul and Kathy Hawes’ Marysville Raceway Park.
Burt rocketed away from the field from his front row starting position and was the fastest thing on the raceway virtually all night long. A late race slowdown with 4 to go didn’t offer any help to the rest of the field. 3-time champ Colby Wiesz from Colfax and 5-time champ, Yuba City’s Korey Lovell, put on a great show for the runner-up spot. That battle lasted some 15 laps before Wiesz slipped by Lovell just before the lap 21 yellow flag. Wiesz and Lovell ran under the checkers in 2nd and 3rd.
A stirring fight went on all race long for 3rd through 6th as a quartet of racers slugged it out in mid-pack. Marysville’s Brandon Dozier, Woodland’s Peter Paulson, Sparks Nevada’s Mike Monahan, Grass Valley’s Billy Wallace and Oroville’s Heath Hall switched positions will regularity during the middle stages of the event. Brandon Dozier got 4th followed by Paulson. Championship point leader Wallace and Monahan were a distant 6th and 7th as the checkers flew.
Hall and Marysville’s Brandon Dozier got heat race victories.
With the victory Burt took a big chunk out of Wallace’s point lead in the series. Burt is now just 21 points behind as the series heads into the final races of the season. The heat is on as this Wallace/Burt rivalry for the title continues to amaze. As we’ve noted in the past, Burt has been quick in late season events. Burt was awarded some $1000 in cash and some $1100 in Contingency Connection bonuses for the victory. Lovell took his 3rd Legal Shield Quick Time Shootout C-note.
Misty Castleberry so dominated the Pro 4 Sprint Car feature that it turned into a runaway. She almost ended her night in a crash that nearly had her upside down on the opening lap of her heat race. But her feature event performance has virtually clinched the title in the series. Matt Beardslee, who at least kept Castleberry in sight, and Dan Morgan finished behind the fleet lady racer.
Marysville’s Cort Dozier continued with his pattern; if he finishes, he wins. Once again the versatile chauffeur put in a wire to wire victory in the MRP Super Stock division. Dozier was so dominant that the 2nd pace finisher, point leader Ray Trimble of Auburn, was nearly a lap down at the finish. While it was a walk away up front, there was some entertaining, fender-rubbing racing going on behind.
Trimble, Sean Hulsey and James Castleberry were having a dice for 2nd when Castleberry suddenly slowed and allowed the others to get 2nd and 3rd respectively. That’s where they finished. Local legend, the ageless Willie Horn did the best passing job of the night coming from the back to 5th ahead of a very competitive Aaron Taylor from Knight’s Landing. Castleberry and Dozier grabbed heat race honors.
The entertaining MRP Hobby Stock feature was a family affair as defending champion; Yuba City’s Jeremy Hammons won again. This time, however, dad Jerry Hammons roared into 2nd by the time the checkers flew. Early race leader Eddie Hammett had mechanical issues that sidelined him. Hammett won the heat race.
Next Saturday night Yuba City Scrap and Steel will present the return of the Mighty Winged Pacific Sprint Cars. It will be the 14th annual “Ice Cream Night” celebrating the birthdays of MRP sprint car racers, and twins, Korey and Kevin Lovell. Free ice cream will be given out to every spectator and participant in the house. 2nds will be offered until it runs out. The MRP Wingless Sprint Cars and their knot-tight point race will also be featured. The popular MRP Super Stocks and Hobby Stocks will offer fendered fans a treat. The colorful and entertaining Nor Cal Dwarf Cars will also be on the card.

Pit Gates open at 3. Grandstands open at 5. Legal Shield Quick Time Shootout is at 6:30 PM with races starting at 7.15 PM.