Krietz Beats Teammate Smith For Williams Grove National Open Tune Up

Donnie Kreitz. - Rick Rarer / Photo

From Williams Grove Speedway

Mechanicsburg, PA – (September 27, 2013) – Sinking Springs’ Don Kreitz Jr. prepped for next week’s Williams Grove Speedway National Open by taking a convincing win in Friday’s National Open Tune Up race for 410 sprints at the oval.

Kreitz had to battle his teammate Ryan Smith and Brian Montieth to pick up his second oval win of the season, worth $4,000.

In the 20-lap 358 sprint main it was Jordan Givler picking up his first ever 358 victory at the track.

Kreitz started fourth in the feature field and throttled to the front quickly when the race began, allowing Montieth to lead the first lap before going out front.

As the pair burst into the third corner working the second circuit Kreitz put on a drive through the middle to drive up in front for the lead as they exited the fourth turn for control.

After that, polesitter Smith battled with Montieth for second before finally getting the spot on the eighth tour as Kreitz worked the backmarkers.

Kreitz’s traffic issues allowed Smith to close in for the lead and the younger team Kreitz driver took the lead at the line with 11 laps away only to see his boss go back out in front as the pair worked into the first turn.

It was a lead that Kreitz would then never relinquish even though the pace was slowed with 10 laps to go for stopped point leader Fred Rahmer on the frontstretch.

Montieth had repassed Smith for second just before the caution flag and the final 10 laps of the race was filled with suspense over the battle for the second spot.

Smith and Montieth kept trading the spot back and forth until finally with two laps to go Smith took the spot for the last time.

“I’m really pumped,” Kreitz said.

“I’m almost more excited for Ryan than myself.”

It was the first time that the Kreitz team cars finished one/two in a feature event at Williams Grove.

Montieth ended the race third followed by Greg Hodnett and Alan Krimes.

With Rahmer’s misfortune and Hodnett’s finish, Hodnett unofficially took over the season-long point lead by 35 markers over Rahmer.

Sixth through 10th in the main went to Pat Cannon, Lance Dewease, Steve Buckwalter, Brent Marks and Paul McMahan.

Heats for the 40-car field went to Smith, Dewease, Buckwalter and Hodnett. Smith won the dash to earn the pole for the feature.

Ryan Taylor took the consolation race.

Rahmer set fast time with a lap of 17.225 seconds.

Givler started on the pole of the 358 sprint main and would lead all 20 circuits but not before three failed attempts at an initial start.

Givler held a comfortable lead for nearly the entire event until the final lap when by his own admission he started losing focus, missing his marks and allowing Nathan Berwager to close in.

Berwager drew up on the rear bumper of Givler as the pair raced down the backstretch toward the final turns but Givler protected his lead out of the fourth corner to pick up the victory for car owner Mark Coldren.

Chandler Leiby rode home third followed by Dale Hammaker and Kevin Nouse.

Sixth through 10th went to Ted Thomas Jr., Ryan Wilson, Tim Wagaman, Matt Mountz and Matt Findley.

Heats for the 23-car field went to Givler, Brock Zearfoss and Jay Galloway.

September 27, 2013 Feature Finishes:

410 sprint cars, 25 laps: 1. Don Kreitz Jr., 2. Ryan Smith, 3. Brian Montieth, 4. Greg Hodnett, 5. Alan Krimes, 6. Pat Cannon, 7. Lance Dewease, 8. Steve Buckwalter, 9. Brent Marks, 10. Paul McMahan, 11. Adam Wilt, 12. Danny Dietrich, 13. Aaron Ott, 14. Cory Haas, 15. Kerry Madsen, 16. Jim Siegel, 17. Ryan Taylor, 18. Logan Schuchart, 19. Brian Leppo, 20. Mark Smith, 21. Gerard McIntyre Jr., 22. Fred Rahmer, 23. Stevie Smith, 24. Rick Lafferty

DNQ: Chad Layton, Nicole Bower, Jacob Allen, Davey Sammons, Dylan Cisney, Jimmy Seger, Sheldon Haudenschild, Tyler Ross, Ryan Bohlke, Brock Zearfoss, Mark Zimmerman, Jim Shuster, Troy Fraker, Trey Starks, Neal Williams, Jay Reichard

358 sprints, 20 laps: 1. Jordan Givler, 2. Nathan Berwager, 3. Chandler Leiby, 4. Dale Hammaker, 5. Kevin Nouse, 6. Ted Thomas Jr., 7. Ryan Wilson, 8. Tim Wagaman, 9. Matt Mountz, 10. Matt Findley, 11. Brad McClelland, 12. Jay Galloway, 13. Brie Hershey, 14. Leah Starner, 15. Scott Fisher, 16. Brock Zearfoss, 17. Brian Alleman, 18. Dan Richcreek, 19. Matt Boland, 20. Austin Hogue, 21. Rich Eichelberger, 22. Adrian Shaffer, 23. Scott Wilson