2014 Engine Pro Sprints on Dirt Presented by ARP Schedule is Released

SOD Sprints on Dirt Top Story

2013 SOD Sprints on Dirt LogoFrom Mike Strevel

Gun Lake, MI — (February 8, 2014) — The 35th season of exciting sprint car racing will begin at Crystal Motor Speedway on April 26 for the Engine Pro Sprints on Dirt Presented by ARP series. An incredible variety of events are on the calendar at speedways in Michigan, Indiana, Ohio and Ontario. A total of 20 races are currently on the schedule with three events yet to be announced.

Highlights for the 2014 season include the return to Plymouth Speedway in Plymouth Indiana for three events, including the 35th season championship race. The group will compete on May 17 for the Earl Gaerte Classic and August 16 for the 2nd Bob Newton Classic along with the October 4 season championship.

In what might be the most anticipated race in 2014 for SOD will be the return to Berlin Raceway in Marne, MI. The incredible mid-week show in September 2013 was one of the best short track events of the year with an incredible field and the 2014 race expects to be even more exciting. 2013 champion Dustin Daggett took the $5,000 first place prize and is expected back to defend his title.

The series will return to the I-96 Speedway in Lake Odessa MI on the newly constructed 3/8 mile oval on two occasions. The series will make return visits to Ohio tracks; Limaland Motorsports Park, Eldora Speedway, and Waynesfield Raceway Park twice, which includes the third annual Bob Reynolds Memorial race paying $7,000 to win and $600 to start on July 3 to support the NRA racing series. The series will compete at a total of 13 different race tracks during the 2014 championship chase.

Long time supporting tracks of the Engine Pro Sprints on Dirt Presented by ARP returning for 2014 include Merritt Speedway with two races in 2014 and the Butler Motor Speedway also with two events, both of which are being co-sanctioned by the National Racing Alliance. Crystal Motor Speedway in Crystal MI hosts three events in 2014 and holds the honors of being the only track in the country to host an event every year in the 35 year history of the winged sprint series. To commemorate this great support, the series is excited to announce that the Engine Pro Mid-Season Championship a special event on Saturday July 19 will return again with a 35th Sprints on Dirt Anniversary race. This event will pay $2,035 to win, $300 to start and have a special 35 lap length feature. The National Racing Alliance Series has agreed to co-sanction this event again in 2014; legendary sprint car racer Randy Hannagan has captured this race each of the past two years.

The Tri City Motor Speedway located near Auburn, Michigan will host the group on two occasions in 2014 on May 16 and July 18. The Engine Pro Sprints on Dirt Presented by ARP will again support the Canadian Sprint Car Nationals at Oshweken Speedway September 12-13.


The Engine Pro Sprints on Dirt presented by ARP series sanctions winged Sprint Car races at speedways throughout Michigan, Indiana, Ohio and the Canadian province of Ontario and will enjoy its 35th season of operation. The 2014 schedule can be viewed at www.sprintsondirt.com.



   2014 Engine Pro Sprints on Dirt Presented by ARP Schedule

April                 26                   Crystal Motor Speedway

May                 2                      I-96 Speedway

May                 16                    Tri City Motor Speedway

May                 17                    Plymouth Speedway

May                 23                    Limaland Motorsports Park w/NRA

May                 24                    Waynesfield Raceway Park w/NRA

May                 25                    Eldora Speedway w/NRA

June                 14                    Butler Motor Speedway w/NRA

June                 27                    TBA

June                 28                    Merritt Raceway

July                  3                      Waynesfield Raceway Park w/NRA

July                   18                   Tri City Motor Speedway

July                  19        Crystal Motor Speedway (Mid-Season Championship)w/NRA – Mike Olrich Memorial Race

July                  25                    TBA

July                  26                    Butler Motor Speedway w/NRA

August             1                      I-96 Speedway

August             2                      Merritt Speedway

August              16                   Plymouth Speedway

August             29                    TBA

August             30                    Crystal Motor Speedway

September      12                    Ohsweken Speedway

September      13                    Ohsweken Speedway

September       27                   Berlin Raceway

October           4                      Plymouth Speedway (Season Championship)