Leary Wins at Lawrenceburg

C.J. Leary. - Bill Miller Photo
C.J. Leary. - Bill Miller Photo
C.J. Leary. – Bill Miller Photo

Lawrenceburg, IN — (July 26, 2014) — CJ Leary, the defending Lawrenceburg Chevrolet Sprint Car Track Champion at Lawrenceburg parked his car in victory lane for the first time this year at Lawrenceburg. Leary had not been having the best of luck lately, but with his run this past Saturday, he looked like his luck was starting to change. Jarrett Andretti took the lead on the opening lap, before 2 time champion, Joss Moffatt assumed command on lap 3. Leary had been running around the top 3 all race long when he was able to secure the lead away from Moffatt on lap 10. Meanwhile, Justin Grant had been charging hard to the front and looked to be the fastest car, reeling in the leader Leary. As the caution waved for a car spinning in turn 2, Grant running second at the time made contact with John Race, a lapped car and damaged Grant’s car. He was able to continue but something broke near the end of the feature and he limped home to third. Moffatt finished second. Shawn Westerfeld and Drew Abel rounded out the top 5. Heat race winners were TJ Heil, Shawn Westefeld, and Leary. Westefeld continues to lead the points by 95 over Moffatt and 100 over Landon Simon.

1. C.J. Leary
2. Joss Moffatt
3. Justin Grant
4. Shawn Westerfeld
5. Drew Abel
6. Landon Simon
7. Travis Hery
8. Garrett Abrams
9. Dalten Gabbard
10. T.J. Heil
11. Justin Owen
12. Pat Giddens
13. J.T. Stapp
14. David Applegate
15. Cody Gardner
16. Evan Gindling
17. Eric Semple
18. Mike Weber
19. John Race
20. Jarett Andretti