URSS Sprints Headline Saturday’s Soderberg Memorial at DCRP!

URSS United Rebel Sprint Series Top Story

urssFrom Lonnie Wheatley

Dodge City, KS — (September 22, 2014) — Dodge City Raceway Park is set for one last hoorah to finish off the 2014 season. And that takes place this Saturday night’s with the United Rebel Sprint Series headlining the Second Annual Jerry Soderberg Memorial Championship event atop the 3/8-mile clay oval in southwest Kansas.

Not only will the United Rebel Sprint Series (URSS) finish off its 2014 campaign, but it will also be the final night of championship chase action for the track’s IMCA Modifieds, IMCA Sport Modifieds, IMCA Stock Cars, Thunder Cars and Hornets.

Saturday’s racing action will go green at 7:00 p.m.

In the URSS ranks, Arvada, CO, racer Jake Bubak is just one night away from securing his second series National championship.

Winner of the URSS portion of the Steve King Memorial on June 28, the 19-year-old carries an 86-point advantage over Great Bend’s Zach Blurton in Saturday night’s action. Blurton topped last year’s Soderberg Memorial Championship event.

While Bubak has a healthy lead, Blurton is just eight points ahead of Liberal’s Steven Richardson in the battle for second with fourth-ranked Jeremy Huish just 20 points ahead of Jed Werner and Luke Cranston, who enter the night tied for fifth in points.

Three different drivers have reached URSS victory lane in as many events at DCRP this season including Bubak along with Zac Taylor on May 10 and then most recently, Jared Kern on July 25.

There have been eight different winners in as many URSS events at DCRP dating back to 2012, with Bubak the only one to repeat since his first score in July of 2012.

While the URSS Sprint Car ranks finish off the 2014 season, so do the track’s five championship chase divisions. And, while Jeff Kaup, Perry Misner and Jarett Lunow all but have their respective titles secured in IMCA Sport Modifieds, IMCA Stock Cars and Hornets, respectively, the IMCA Modified and Thunder Car titles are still up for grabs.

Vying for a second consecutive IMCA Modified track championship at DCRP, Wichita’s Austin Allen is just 13 points ahead of Hugoton’s Ryan Heger entering Saturday night’s action. Heger has topped the season-ending event at DCRP over each of the past two years.

Only five points separate Matt O’Hair from William Bauer entering the final evening of Thunder Car action. O’Hair led the points race much of the way last year before slipping to third in the final events.

Tickets to Saturday’s Second Annual Jerry Soderberg Memorial Championship event at DCRP are just $15 for adults with children 11 and under free when accompanied by an adult.

Dodge City Raceway Park is located on the south edge of Dodge City, KS, on US 283, then 0.9 miles west on US 56, then 0.1 miles south. For more information, contact the track at 620-225-3277 or check www.dodgecityraceway.com.