Trail-Way champions honored at 42nd annual banquet

Trail Way Speedway Logo 2013 Trail Way Speedway Logo 2013 Tease trail-wayFrom Kalida Landis

Hanover, PA — (December 6, 2014) — A full house of drivers, crew members, and personnel gathered to celebrate the conclusion of a successful 42nd racing season at Trail-Way Speedway. “Some of you have been racing for a year, others for 30 years. You will look back on the fun times you had at the races.” said Brad Hostetter, Trail-Way Speedway’s secretary and race coordinator, “Thank you for your support.”

Brad Hostetter also spoke about the planning of the 2015 season. Trail-Way is set to open with two Saturday afternoon shows on March 21st and 28th. Trail-Way will then open under the lights on Friday, April 3rd. Visit the Trail-Way booth at the various indoor race shows over the winter for a copy of the printed 2015 season schedule. The completed schedule will also be posted on the track’s website soon.

Awards were presented to the top ten points finishers from the six main divisions that raced this season. Announcer Scott Hockensmith thanked Precise Racing Products, Hoosier Tire Mid-Atlantic, and One Stop Motors for their season sponsorship. Crown Trophy and Delco Designs were also acknowledged for providing trophies and personalized checks for the champions.

Brad McClelland claimed the 358 Sprint Car Championship with a season full of big money feature wins.

“It’s going to be hard to top.” said McClelland of his championship season, but McClelland plans to return to the T-W for 2015. McClelland picked up nine wins in 20 starts, and always had fans on the edge of their seats during his charge to the front. McClelland also sits on top of the 358 Sprint Car All-Time win list, with 42 victories.

Wyatt Hinkle was awarded the “Rookie of the Year” award. Hinkle claimed his first career win on Sept. 19th and completed the season 7th in points.

Dan Furman was named 2014 Street Stock Champion for the second year in a row. Furman was one of three drivers to win this season in the Street Stock division. It was Furman who won half of the races he started (7 wins out of 14 starts) and finished in the top ten 12 times.

“If it weren’t for my crew,” said Furman after receiving his awards, “I wouldn’t be where I am.”

Joey Harrison, finished 5th in season points, and was also given the “Rookie of the Year” award for the Street Stocks.

Matt Chronister claimed the Limited Stock Track Championship with seven trips to victory lane this season and he finished in the top five 18 times.

“It’s a real competitive class,” said Chronister, “but I like the competition.”

Cody Klinedinst, who finished 5th in season points, was awarded the “Rookie of the Year” for his efforts this season.

Brad Weber claimed the 600cc Micro Sprint Track title in a close points race with last year’s champ, Jim Young. The division saw eight different winners in the 8 races this season. Weber’s season was highlighted by five top five finishes and one win.

“Finally this year we got the nice consistent run,” noted Weber during his interview.

The “Rookie of the Year” prize went to Alyson Dietz.

Steven Cox claimed the Mason-Dixon 270cc Micro Sprint Track Championship for the third time. But he only came out on top by 1 point over Brian Marriott in the final points race. There were also no repeat winners in the 270cc Micros this year. In talking about next season, Cox said, “Hopefully we can make it a repeat [of this season].”

Motorama Races and Shows will be held at the Pennsylvania Farm Show Complex in Harrisburg, PA on February 21-22, 2015. Make sure you join us for the nation’s largest all indoor motorsports event with one million square feet of exhibit space and five rooms of racing! For tickets and other information regarding the show please visit the website,

For all the latest news and related information from Trail-Way Speedway, fans are reminded to visit the speedway website at The complete story and agate from each race night is posted shortly after the final checkered falls.