USAC / CRA Sprint Car showcase at the PAS Saturday

Austin Williams – 4th in USAC/CRA Point Standings. (Lance Jennings /

Austin Williams – 4th in USAC/CRA Point Standings.  (Lance Jennings /
Austin Williams – 4th in USAC/CRA Point Standings. (Lance Jennings /
From Lance Jennings

Perris, CA — (April 28, 2015) — This Saturday, May 2nd, the Amsoil USAC/CRA Sprint Car Series will return to action at Perris Auto Speedway. Promoted by Don Kazarian, the fifth point race will also feature the PAS Senior Sprint Cars and Young Gun Sprint Cars. The spectator gates will open at 5:00pm, with racing at “America’s Premier Dirt Track” scheduled to begin at 7:00pm. For more event information, visit the track’s website at or call 951.940.0134.

Located on the Lake Perris Fairgrounds, Perris Auto Speedway hosted the inaugural USAC/CRA event on March 6, 2004. Since then, the traditional 410 cubic-inch powered sprint cars have returned their “home track” 171 more times. “The Demon” Damion Gardner leads all drivers with 32 wins at Perris and Nic Faas holds the 1-lap track record of 15.833, set on February 25, 2012.

NOTICE TO COMPETITORS: Per USAC/CRA rules, all fuel-injected 410 and 360 powered sprint cars must run the Hoosier 105/16 Medium Right Rear Tire and all four corners must be Hoosier. Cars must pass a tech inspection and one-way radios are mandatory for drivers. USAC/CRA charges a $25 entry fee to all competitors and the series rule book can be found online at

After running second to Richard Vander Weerd at Perris’ “So-Cal Showdown” on April 18th, “The Demon” Damion Gardner of Concord has taken over the point lead. Holding a five-point advantage, the pilot of Mark Alexander’s #4 Scott Sales Company / Weld Racing Spike has one main event win, three heat race victories, four top-10 finishes, and 16 feature laps led to his credit. This Saturday, the defending champion will be looking to earn his series leading 59th career triumph.

Temecula’s Mike Spencer ranks second in the Amsoil USAC/CRA point standings. Driving Ron Chaffin’s #50 Grubstake Mini Storage / Madera Produce Maxim, Spencer clamed third in the “So-Cal Showdown.” To date, the five-time champion has two Woodland Auto Display Fast Time Awards, four top-10 finishes, and seven feature laps led in the campaign. Tied with “The Kruser” Cory Kruseman for second on the USAC/CRA win list, Mike will have his sights on scoring his 36th main event win.

Matt Mitchell of Yorba Linda sits third in the chase for the championship. Racing his #37 Campbell Bros. Storage / Pit Boss Jacks Maxim, Mitchell flipped in his heat race and rebounded to take sixth in the April 18th feature. Heading to Saturday’s event, the defending USAC West Coast Sprint Car Champion has one heat race victory, four top-10 finishes, and 7 feature laps led on the year. Currently tied with Levi Jones, Bud Kaeding, and Blake Miller for thirteenth on USAC/CRA’s win list, Matt will be looking for his 7th feature victory.

Yorba Linda’s Austin Williams has climbed to fourth in the point standings. Piloting Jack Jory’s #2 John Jory Corporation / AMA Plastics Spike, Williams ran fifth in the “So-Cal Showdown.” Entering Saturday’s race, the 2009 Rookie of the Year has two top-10 finishes on the season. With three career USAC/CRA victories to his credit, Austin will have his sights on his first “home track” win.

Jake Swanson of Anaheim is fifth in the championship standings. Driving Tom and Laurie Sertich’s #92 Huntington Beach Glass & Mirror / Ram-Bull Racing Victory, Swanson earned the Woodland Auto Display Fast Time honors and scored nineteenth at Perris after an early exit. At press time, the 2012 Rookie of the Year has three top-10 finishes on the year. This Saturday, Jake will be looking to win his first USAC/CRA main event.

Currently seventeenth in points, Michael Curtis of Cottonwood, Arizona leads the chase for Rookie of the Year honors. California’s Parker Colston, Tommy Malcolm, and Anthony Lopiccolo are also in contention.

Among the other drivers expected to be in action are Richard Vander Weerd, “The Cadillac” Cody Williams, Brody Roa, Logan Williams, “Super” Rickie Gaunt, David Bezio, Jace Vander Weerd, Chris Gansen, Terry Schank Jr., and more.

Perris Auto Speedway is located on the Lake Perris Fairgrounds at 18700 Lake Perris Drive in Perris, California. Adult tickets are $20, Senior tickets are $20, Active Military, Students (13-18), and Kids tickets (6-12) are $5. Children’s tickets (5 and under) are FREE. For more event information, visit the track’s website at or call (951) 940-0134.

The Amsoil USAC/CRA Sprint Car Series thanks Hoosier Tire, Circle Track Performance, Competition Suspension Inc., DJ Safety, Diversified Machine Inc., Extreme Mufflers, Huntington Beach Glass & Mirror, Keizer Wheels, Pyrotect Racing Cells, Rod End Supply, Saldana Racing Products, Ultra Shield Race Products, and Woodland Auto Display for their support. If you or your company would like to become part of the series, email PR Director Lance Jennings at

For more information on the Amsoil USAC/CRA Sprint Car Series, visit or follow the series on Facebook ( or Twitter ( Mike Truex’s Loudpedal Productions has DVDs available for purchase that feature the Amsoil USAC/CRA Sprint Car Series. For more information, call (805) 407-7229 or visit