Dietrich wins at Lincoln

Danny Dietrich. - Jan Dunlap Photo

From Bill Meyer

Abbottstown, PA — (July 18, 2015) — Dietrich came from 12th starting spot, nursed an injured motor over the final 16 laps, and claimed the $5,040 top prize in the 28th Annual and final DARYL GOHN/GLENN GOHN, SR. MEMORIAL for 410 sprint cars in the Pigeon Hills Saturday night. The extra money was put up by friends, family members, and sponsors.

“I hurt a motor there with nine laps to go trying to pass (Tim) Glatfelter going into three,” said Dietrich, who shut it down as soon as he took the checkered flag and went to the infield for some assistance, “As soon as I turned the corner (on the ninth lap) it started going south. We’re just lucky to be standing here”

Polesitter Brandon Rahmer led the first 20 laps and had an impressive two-second lead in lapped traffic over outside front row starter Tim Glatfelter as late as lap 17. On lap 18, Dietrich caught Robbie Kendall for third, and then took second from Glatfelter following caution restart on lap 20.

Dietrich continued his surge, taking the lead from Rahmer in turns thee and four of lap 21. It was the debris caution on the last restart with two to go that led to Dietrich’s concern.

“I was worried about it taking off on that last restart,” said Dietrich, “I know daggone well we’ll show up tomorrow and have another motor. We’ve got another one in the shop that’s just as good.”

Despite the engine issue, Dietrich crossed 1.10 seconds ahead of Glatfelter, with Brandon Rahmer settling for third, Kendall fourth, and Austin Hogue fifth. Sixth through tenth were 11th-starting and point leader Brian Montieth, Billy Dietrich, Cory Haas, Jim Siegel, and Tyler Ross.

Heats for the 24 410’s on hand were won by Siegel, Brandon Rahmer, and Kyle Moody.

Two-time track champ Jeff Rohrbaugh moved into a tie with Cory Haas as the all-time winningest 358 sprint drivers after coming from 11th starting spot to score his 13th career Lincoln win in the 25-lap Nouse Signs and Graphics Summer Series feature event.

And he didn’t waste any time, advancing to third by lap the end of lap two.

Third-starting Kyle Denmyer led the first lap before spinning in front of the field and collecting Troy Wagaman, Jr. on turns one and two of lap two, resulting in Denmyer being knocked onto his side.
Both cars were done for the night.

Sixth-starting Cody Fletcher assumed the lead for the lap two restart, and held off Rohrbaugh for the next 14 laps before Rohrbaugh took the lead on lap 15. Rohrbaugh raced away to convincing 7.01 second win over a charging Doug Hammaker, who started 12th and grabbed the runner-up spot from Fletcher with three laps to go.

Fletcher crossed third, with Chandler Leiby and Adrian Shaffer completing the top five.

Heats for the 33 358’s on hand were won by Matt Campbell, Nathan Prezenica, Wagaman, and Leiby, with Brie Hershey winning the consolation.

Chad Glatfelter delivered a 90th birthday present to his grandfather by claiming the 15-lap Central PA Legends feature. Glatfelter started fourth, took the lead from outside front row starter and race-long leader Mason Chaney on lap four, and withstood the constant challenges of both Travis McClelland and Lincoln points leader Bob Stough over the final eight laps.

McClelland and Stough finished second and third, with Chad Earnst and Harlon Leppo rounding out the top five.

Heats for the 26 Central PA Legends on hand were won by Stough, Leppo, and Chad Glatfelter.

Next Saturday night, July 25th, Lincoln Speedway will be dark as the 410 Sprinters will be traveling elsewhere locally for a big weekend show.

Then in two weeks, August 1st, it will be YORK COUNTY RACING CLUB NIGHT on PEPSI NIGHT with a 3-division show of 410 Sprints, 358 Sprints, and Central PA Legends. Gates open at 5:30 PM, racing set to get underway at 7:30 PM.

To get all the latest news, results, schedule changes and rule changes, visit Lincoln Speedway’s website at to stay up-to-date on all the action or pending weather conditions at Central Pennsylvania’s “Premier” Saturday night race track – The Fabulous Lincoln Speedway.

Saturday, July 18, 2015
Abbottstown, PA
410 SPRINT FEATURE FINISH (25 Laps) – 1. 48-Danny Dietrich ($5, 040); 2. 39-Tim Glatfelter; 3. 88-Brandon Rahmer; 4. 55K-Robbie Kendall; 5. 52-Austin Hogue; 6. 21-Brian Montieth; 7. 8-Billy Dietrich; 8. 11C-Cory Haas; 9. 59-Jim Siegel; 10. 5-Tyler Ross; 11. 51-Freddie Rahmer; 12. 99M-Kyle Moody; 13. 15-Adam Wilt; 14. 1*-Tim Wagaman; 15. 2W-Glenndon Forsythe; 16. 44-Chase Dietz; 17. 3B-Randy Baughman; 18. 91-David Quackenbush; 19. 22-Bryn Gohn; 20. 77AU-Darren Mollenoyux (DNF); 21. 21T-Scott Fisher (DNF); 22. 87-Alan Krimes (DNF); 23. 16-Gerard McIntyre, Jr. (DNF); 24. 69-Shane Hoff (DNF). No Time

Lap Leaders – Brandon Rahmer (1-20), Danny Dietrich (21-25)

410 Sprint Heat One Finish (10 laps) – 1. 59-Jim Siegel; 2. 52-Austin Hogue; 3. 11C-Cory Haas; 4. 21-Brian Montieth; 5. 8-Billy Dietrich; 6. 21T-Scott Fisher; 7. 44-Chase Dietz; 8. 69-Shane Hoff (DNF). Time – 2:24.121

410 Sprint Heat Two Finish (10 laps) – 1. 88-Brandon Rahmer; 2. 51-Freddie Rahmer; 3. 15-Adam Wilt; 4. 87-Alan Krimes; 5. 5-Tyler Ross; 6. 3B-Randy Baughman; 7. 16-Gerard McIntyre, Jr.; 8. 22-Bryn Gohn. Time – 2:25.451

410 Sprint Heat Three Finish (10 laps) – 1. 99M-Kyle Moody; 2. 39-Tim Glatfelter; 3. 55K-Robbie Kendall; 4. 48-Danny Dietrich; 5. 2W-Glenndon Forsythe; 6. 1*-Tim Wagaman; 7. 77AU-Darren Mollenoyux; 8. 91-David Quackenbush. Time – 2:28.172

Nouse Signs & Graphics Summer Series
358 SPRINT FEATURE FINISH (25 laps) – 1. 45-Jeff Rohrbaugh; 2. 66-Doug Hammaker; 3. 66A-Cody Fletcher; 4. 119-Chandler Leiby; 5. 27S-Adrian Shaffer; 6. 17-Cole Young; 7. 16-Matt Campbell; 8. 47K-Kody Lehman; 9. 21-CJ Tracey; 10. 13-Ryan Higgins; 11. 35-Tyler Esh; 12. 97-Brie Hershey; 13. 21T-Glenndon Forsythe; 14. 45H-Jeff Halligan; 15. 28-Matt Findley; 16. 23A-Chris Arnold; 17. 5A-Brian Allman; 18. 30-Seth Kearchner; 19. 22-Nathan Prezenica; 20. 19D-Wyatt Hinkle (DNF); 21. 15-Lucas Montgomery (DNF); 22. 90-Jordon Givler (DNF); 23. 38D-Kyle Denmyer (DNF); 24. 19-Troy Wagaman (DNF). No Time

Lap Leaders – Kyle Denmyer (1), Cody Fletcher (2-14), Jeff Rohrbaugh (15-25)

358 Sprint Heat One Finish (10 laps/5 qualify) – 1. 16-Matt Campbell; 2. 45-Jeff Rohrbaugh; 3. 66-Doug Hammaker; 4. 23A-Chris Arnold; 5. 15-Lucas Montgomery (DQ’d); 6. 97-Brie Hershey; 7. 23-Todd Rittenhouse, Jr.; 8. 47-Michael Hamer; 9. 21X-Kyle Abrahims. Time – 2:26.97

358 Sprint Heat Two Finish (10 laps/5 qualify) – 1. 22-Nathan Prezenica; 2. 45H-Jeff Halligan; 3. 38D-Kyle Denmyer; 4. 17-Cole Young; 5. 21T-Glenndon Forsythe; 6. 30-Seth Kerchner; 7. 90-Jordon Givler; DNS – 51N-Nick Palmerino. Time – 2:33.16

358 Sprint Heat Three Finish (10 laps/5 qualify) – 1. 19-Troy Wagaman, Jr.; 2. 47K-Kody Lehman; 3. 21-CJ Tracey; 4. 19D-Wyatt Hinkle; 5. 5A-Brian Allman; 6. 23J-Jake Eldreth (DNF); 7. 00-Chris Frank (DNF); 8. 89-Ashley Cappetta (DNF). No Time

358 Sprint Heat Four Finish (10 laps/5 qualify) – 1. 119-Chandler Leiby; 2. 66A-Cody Fletcher; 3. 27S-Adrian Shaffer; 4. 13-Ryan Higgins; 5. 28-Matt Findley; 6. 35-Tyler Esh; 7. 9-Ryan Hanson; 8. 98-Sammy Sabedrea (DNF). No Time

358 Sprint Consolation Finish (12 laps/5 qualify) – 1. 97-Brie Hershey; 2. 90-Jordon Givler; 3. 35-Tyler Esh; 4. 30-Seth Kearchner; 5. 15-Lucas Montgomery; 6. 89-Ashley Cappetta; 7. 47-Michael Hamer; 8. 9-Ryan Hansen; 9. 21X-Kyle Abrahims; 10. 98-Sammy Sabedra; 11. 51N-Nick Palmerino (DNF); 12. 23-Todd Rittenhouse, Jr. (DNF); 13. 23J-Jake Eldreth(DNF); DNS – 00-Chris Frank. No Time