2016 SOS schedule released

sos2016From Tommy Goudge

London, ON — (February 11, 2016) — Southern Ontario Sprints officials are pleased to announce the schedule for the tour’s 21st season of racing. The SOS will award championship points in events at Brighton Speedway, Humberstone Speedway, Merrittville Speedway, Ohsweken Speedway, and South Buxton Raceway in 2016, and continue their tradition as an affiliate sanction of the Canadian Sprint Car Nationals at Ohsweken.

Brighton Speedway in Brighton, Ontario is once again the anchor track for the tour, and hosts the season opener on Saturday, May 21. The tour will also travel to Brighton for Saturday night races on June 18, July 9, and August 6, plus the annual Labour Day Classic weekend Saturday, September 3, and Sunday, September 4. Winners at Brighton last season included Mitch Brown (May 16), Glenn Styres (June 20, July 11), Cory Turner (August 8), Charlie Sandercock (September 5), and Rick Wilson (September 6). More information about Brighton Speedway is available at www.BrightonSpeedway.com

Humberstone Speedway in Port Colborne, Ontario will host a pair of SOS events in 2016, with Sunday night races set for June 5, and August 7. Parker Price-Miller (May 17), and Glenn Styres (August 9) claimed Humberstone wins last season. More information about Humberstone Speedway is available at www.HumberstoneSpeedway.com

The Southern Ontario Sprints will celebrate Canada Day at Ohsweken Speedway in Ohsweken, Ontario for the annual “SOS vs. Corr/Pak” challenge event with the track’s weekly 360 Sprint Car division on July 1. The tour will also be back at Ohsweken in a non-points capacity as an affiliate sanction for the 12th annual Canadian Sprint Car Nationals weekend on September 16 and 17. Glenn Styres claimed the win in the SOS vs. Corr/Pak event at Ohsweken on July 3 last season. More information about Ohsweken Speedway is available at www.OhswekenSpeedway.com

South Buxton Raceway in Merlin, Ontario hosted the first event in Southern Ontario Sprints history on May 18, 1996, and has three Saturday night SOS events on the 2016 schedule. Chris Jones (June 6) and Mitch Brown (July 4) claimed wins at South Buxton in 2015. More information about South Buxton Raceway is available at www.SouthBuxtonRaceway.ca

Merrittville Speedway in Thorold, Ontario is set to host the SOS Championship event for the second year in a row. The 2016 title chase will conclude at Merrittville on Friday, September 9 as part of a big weekend of racing at the track. Mitch Brown locked up his first SOS championship with a win at Merrittville on September 11 last year. More information about Merrittville Speedway is available at www.MerrittvilleSpeedway.com

Make your plans now to attend events on the 2016 calendar and celebrate 21 years of homegrown Canadian Sprint Car racing!

Sat. May 21 – Brighton Speedway
Sat. June 4 – South Buxton Raceway
Sun. June 5 – Humberstone Speedway
Sat. June 18 – Brighton Speedway
Fri. July 1 – Ohsweken Speedway – SOS vs. Corr/Pak
Sat. July 2 – South Buxton Raceway
Sat. July 9 – Brighton Speedway
Sat. August 6 – Brighton Speedway
Sun. August 7 – Humberstone Speedway
Sat. August 13 – South Buxton Raceway
Sat. September 3 – Brighton Speedway – Labour Day Classic
Sun. September 4 – Brighton Speedway – Labour Day Classic
Fri. September 9 – Merrittville Speedway – SOS Championship
Fri. September 16 – Ohsweken Speedway – Night Before the Nationals (no points)
Sat. September 17 – Ohsweken Speedway – Canadian Sprint Car Nationals (no points)