Washington Midget Racing Association Readies For 69th Season Of Racing

Washington Midget Racing Assoc
Washington Midget Racing Assoc
Washington Midget Racing Assoc

By Ben Deatherage

Spanaway, Washington- Midget racing has a long and storied history in the United States.  Traces can be found as far back as the inter-war days of the 1930’s from tracks all over the country.  Sadly, many of these organizations have vanished throughout the decades.  However, one such organization can boast that they are still around and racing to this day.  The organization is the Washington Midget Racing Association or WMRA for short.


The WMRA has produced some memorable races and legendary names throughout the long and storied history of the organization, going as far back as 1945.  Names like Shorty Templeman, Bob Gregg, Ken Peterson, Palmer Crowell, John Starks, Rick Moss, and Mike Bliss have been able to hoist the champion’s crown on high over multiple seasons.  In fact, current defending champ Tony Seidelman is looking to make to make history and win his sixth consecutive WMRA title.  Shorty Templeman (1949-53), Rick Moss (1993-97), and Seidelman (2011-15) hold the record for five championships in a row while overall Rick Moss has recorded the most titles with ten.


The 2016 racing schedule will feature the series visiting four different facilities in the state of Washington and the Canadian province of British Columbia.  A total of nine dates are on tap for the upcoming campaign that should really be one action packed event after the other.


“I think this year is going to be really great,” commented Tony Seidelman, Vice President of the WMRA, “there are going to be some new drivers apart of the series that have never been on asphalt before. It’s great that there is an interest from new people in this deal and it will make it even better in the years to come.”


The season opens up on April 23rd in central Washington at Ephrata Raceway Park for the only visit at the facility.  Agassiz Speedway, British Columbia, will host the WMRA three times including May 14th, June 11th, and September 10th.  Another track the tour will frequent on a regular basis is Tenino, Washington’s South Sound Speedway where May 28th, June 25th, July 9th, and September 24th will be the scheduled dates.  The other facility on the calendar is one visit to the Wenatchee Valley Super Oval on August 27th in central Washington.


For the latest news and information log on to www.wmraracing.wix.com/wmra .  Also follow he Washington Midget Racing Association via Facebook by clicking “Like” on their page to follow them on your favorite mobile devices.



April 23rd-Ephrata Raceway Park-Ephrata, Washington

May 14th-Agassiz Speedway-Agassiz, British Columbia

May 28th-South Sound Speedway-Tenino, Washington

June 11th-Agassiz Speedway-Agassiz, British Columbia

June 25th-South Sound Speedway-Tenino, Washington

July 9th-South Sound Speedway-Tenino, Washington

August 27th-Wenatchee Valley Super Oval-Wenatchee, Washington

September 10th-Agassiz Speedway-Agassiz, British Columbia

September 24th-South Sound Speedway-Tenino, Washington



Classis Window Products

PP&S Heating and Air

Pioneer Muffler

Bellingham Autoworks

Tiger Construction and Excavation

R.F. Architecture



1945- Allen Heath

1946- Chick Barbo

1947- Allen Heath

1948- Stan Muir

1949- Shorty Templeman

1950- Shorty Templeman

1951- Shorty Templeman

1952- Shorty Templeman

1953- Shorty Templeman

1954- Mel McGaughy

1955- Mel McGaughy

1956- Pogo Lundquist

1957- Bob Gregg

1958- Bob Gregg

1959- Palmer Crowell

1960- Bob Gregg

1961- Palmer Crowell

1962- Bob Gregg

1963- Ken Petersen

1964- Ken Petersen

1965- John McIntyre

1966- Ken Petersen

1967- Ken Petersen

1968- Bob McLees

1969- Ken Petersen

1970- Eric Gibson

1971- Ken Petersen

1972- Ken Petersen

1973- Palmer Crowell

1974- Eric Gibson

1975- Sonny Hanson

1976- Jim Edwards

1977- Arnie Starks

1978- Ed Shefchik

1979- Trevor Boys

1980- Dennis Kitts

1981- Mike Munce

1982- Palmer Crowell

1983- Billy Kennelly

1984- Dennis Kitts

1985- Terry Petter

1986- Rick Moss

1987- Rick Moss

1988- Mike Stryker

1989- Mike Bliss

1990- Mike Bliss

1991- Mike Stryker

1992- Dennis Kitts

1993- Rick Moss

1994- Rick Moss

1995- Rick Moss

1996- Rick Moss

1997- Rick Moss

1998- John Starks

1999- John Starks

2000- John Starks

2001- John Starks

2002- Ken Ferris

2003- Rick Moss

2004- Rick Moss

2005- Rick Moss

2006- Spence Gatrell

2007- Evan Margeson

2008- Mark Atkinson

2009- Ben Petter

2010- Mark Atkinson

2011- Pat Bliss/Tony Seidelman

2012- Troy Globe/Tony Seidelman

2013- Tony Seidelman

2014- Tony Seidelman

2015- Tony Seidelman