USAC Southwest Sprint Car Series Top Story


By Lance Jenningsusacsouthwestlogotopstory


MAY 4, 2016… After rain washed out last Saturday’s “Canyon Clash,” the USAC SouthWest Sprint Cars are ready to battle this Saturday, May 7th, at Queen Creek’s Arizona Speedway. Promoted by Jonah Trussel and located within ET Motopark, the “Second Annual Mother’s Day Celebration” will also feature Pure Stocks, Dwarf Cars, Bomber Stocks, and Lady Stocks. The Front Gates will open at 5:00pm and Racing at the fast 3/8-mile oval will start at 7:00pm. For more event and ticket information, visit www.arizonaspeedway.net or call 480.926.6688.


Since April 13, 2013, eighteen USAC SouthWest Sprint Car races have been held at the Queen Creek facility. Three-time and defending series champion R.J. Johnson leads all drivers with eleven wins followed by “Chargin” Charles Davis Jr. (5), “The Magic Man” Mike Martin (1), and Josh Pelkey (1). On April 9th, Johnson grabbed the lead from “The Magic Man” Mike Martin on the seventeenth lap and sailed to his thirty-third series triumph.


Entering the event, Stevie Sussex (Tempe, Arizona) has a 30-point lead over the competition. Piloting Gene Gile’s #13S Quarterback Academy Ellis, Sussex raced to victory at Yuma’s Cocopah Speedway on April 23rd. To date, Stevie has two feature wins, two heat race victories, one top-qualifier award, one hard charger award, five top-10 finishes, and 35 feature laps led to his credit. Stevie ranks fourth in series wins and will be looking to claim the $1,500 victory at Queen Creek.


R.J. Johnson (Tempe, Arizona) is currently second in the chase for the championship. Driving Bill Michael’s #77M Kodiak Products / Beal’s Auto Body Sherman, Johnson ran sixth in the Cocopah Speedway feature. As this writing goes to press, the three-time champion has one feature win, two heat race victories, three top-qualifier awards, nine top-10 finishes, and 34 feature laps led in the campaign. R.J. will have his sights on adding another Arizona Speedway trophy to his collection.


“Chargin” Charles Davis Jr. (Buckeye, Arizona) ranks third in the USAC SouthWest point chase. Racing the Massey Motorsports’ #50 RSS Industries / Rod End Supply RSS, Davis scored fifth at Yuma from the eleventh starting spot. Heading to Queen Creek, the five-time Arizona champion has five heat race victories, one top-qualifier award, one hard charger award, nine top-10 finishes, and 34 feature laps led on the year. “Chargin” Charles is second on the series win list with 13 main events and will be one of the favorites to watch on Saturday.


“The Magic Man” Mike Martin (Yuma, Arizona) sits fourth in the point standings. Piloting his #16 Sherwin-Williams / Boulevard Truck Maxim, Martin led the first ten laps at Yuma before scoring third at the finish line. To date, the former Hall of Fame Classic winner has three heat race victories, one hard charger award, seven top-10 finishes, and 27 feature laps led on the year. “The Magic Man” is tied for fifth on the win list with five triumphs and will be looking to add another victory to his resume.


Josh Pelkey (Peoria, Arizona) is fifth in the championship points. Driving Robbie & Gaye Allen’s #12 ABC Body Shop / Napa Auto Parts machine, Pelkey placed fourth in the Yuma 30-lap main event. Heading to Arizona Speedway, the 1997 ASCA Champion has one heat race victory, two hard charger awards and three top-10 finishes on the season. This Saturday, Josh will be looking to earn his sixth USAC SouthWest feature win.


Among the other drivers expected to be in action are Matt Rossi, Nick Aiuto, “The Bull” Tye Mihocko, Dennis Gile, Chris Bonneau, Brian Hosford, “The Radio Flyer” Bruce St. James, Andy Reinbold, Tom Ogle, Shon Deskins, Landon Cling, Dustin Burkhart, Michael Curtis, and more.


Arizona Speedway is located at 47346 N. Ironwood Road in Queen Creek, just five miles south of Mesa. To get to the track, exit Ironwood Drive on US 60, then head four miles south. Adult Tickets are $15, Senior Tickets are $12, Kids Tickets (11 & under) are FREE. For more event and ticket information, visit www.arizonaspeedway.net or call 480.926.6688.


For more information on the USAC SouthWest Sprint Car Series, visit www.southwestsprintcars.com, www.usacracing.com, or follow the series on Facebook.



2013-R.J. Johnson, 2014-R.J. Johnson, 2015-R.J. Johnson.



4-Bryan Clauson, 2-Josh Hodges, 2-Stevie Sussex, 1-R.J. Johnson.



11-R.J. Johnson, 5-Charles Davis Jr., 1-Mike Martin, 1-Josh Pelkey



  1. Stevie Sussex-306, 2. R.J. Johnson-276, 3. Charles Davis Jr.-258, 4. Mike Martin-231, 5. Josh Pelkey-225, 6. Matt Rossi-212, 7. Nick Aiuto-185, 8. Tye Mihocko-183, 9. Dennis Gile-178, 10. Chris Bonneau-159, 11. Brian Hosford-139, 12. Bruce St. James-138, 13. Andy Reinbold-137, 14. Tom Ogle-115, Shon Deskins-115, 16. Landon Cling-110, 17. Dustin Burkhart-98, 18. Bryan Clauson-79, 19. Brody Roa-72,
  2. Brady Bacon-69.