Davis Gets it Done in CSP Season Finale!

Charles Davis Jr. (Lonnie Wheatley Photo)

Lonnie Wheatley

Charles Davis Jr. Lonnie Wheatley photo
Charles Davis Jr.
Lonnie Wheatley photo

 PEORIA, Ariz. (October 22, 2016) – Charles Davis, Jr., saved the best for last by bringing the curtains down on the 2016 Canyon Speedway Park season during Saturday night’s Hank Arnold Memorial with his first USAC Southwest Sprint Car feature win of the year.

While “Chargin’ Charles” bested the USAC Southwest Sprint Car ranks, other Hank Arnold Memorial winners included George Fronsman in IMCA Stock Cars, Paul O’Connor in IMCA Hobby Stocks, Jarrett Martin in Micro Sprints and Tim Cotherman in Dwarf Cars.

While USAC Southwest points leader R.J. Johnson set the quick time in qualifying, it was fellow third row starter Davis, Jr., racing to the front to capture his first CSP win since April of 2014 aboard the Massey Motorsports No. 50 entry.

Davis, Jr., was chased to the line by Mike Martin with Stevie Sussex, pole starter Brian Hosford and Tye Mihocko rounding out the top five.

George Fronsman put an exclamation point on his Allscapes IMCA Stock Cars vs. SCRA Stock Cars championship season by racing to his 14th overall CSP triumph of the season ahead of Steve Bitting and Derrick Askren, while Paul O’Connor took advantage of his front row outside starting position to reel off his second consecutive Scottsdale Muffler & Automotive IMCA Hobby Stock vs. Renegade win ahead of Joe Vlasity and Jacob Madrid.

Jarrett Martin raced from the pole position for his third CSP win of the year in Micro Sprint action ahead of Mike Colegrove and Paul Martin with Tim Cotherman scoring his first Dwarf Car win of the year at CSP in front of Cory Brown and Ed Schule.

Canyon Speedway Park

October 22, 2016 – Hank Arnold Memorial Results

USAC Southwest Sprint Cars:

QUALIFICATIONS: 1. R.J. Johnson, 77M, Michael-13.818 (New Track Record); 2. Charles Davis Jr., 50, Massey-14.213; 3. Chris Bonneau, 78, Bonneau-14.258; 4. Stevie Sussex, 21AZ, Burkhart-14.583; 5. Tye Mihocko, 5, Mihocko-14.640; 6. Brian Hosford, 22B, Weber-14.942; 7. Mike Martin, 16, Martin-14.983; 8. Matt Lundy, 98, Lundy-15.291; 9. Tanner Grau, 34, Team AZ-15.295; 10. Landon Cling, 54, Cling-15.655; 11. Andy Reinbold, 19, Underwood-15.658; 12. Dennis Gile, 13, Gile-15.931; 13. Matt Rossi, 02, Rossi-15.952; 14. Bruce St. James, 7K, St. James-16.205; 15. Brent Yarnel, 29B, Yarnell-18.266.


FEATURE: (30 laps) 1. Charles Davis Jr., 2. Mike Martin, 3. Stevie Sussex, 4. Brian Hosford, 5. Tye Mihocko, 6. Matt Lundy, 7. R.J. Johnson, 8. Andrew Reinbold, 9. Landon Cling, 10. Bruce St. James, 11. Tanner Grau, 12. Chris Bonneau, 13. Dennis Gile, 14. Brent Yarnell, 15. Matt Rossi.. NT


FEATURE LAP LEADERS: Laps 1-22 Hosford, Laps 23-30 Davis.