Turner, Barney, and Price-Miller Win at Night Before the Canadian Nationals

Parker Price-Miller. (Dale Calnan photo)

From Tommy Goudge

OHSWEKEN, Ont. (September 13, 2019) – Rain was all around Ohsweken Speedway on Friday night, but the wet weather held off just long enough for all of the scheduled racing to be completed in the Night Before the Nationals presented by Burger Barn and Bradshaw Brothers.

Cory Turner. (Dale Calnan photo)
Cory Turner, Jason Barney, and Parker Price-Miller took full advantage of their opportunity by claiming wins in the Triple 15’s for the Kool Kidz-Corr/Pak 360 Sprint Cars and locking themselves into Saturday night’s Canadian Sprint Car Nationals A-Main. Meanwhile, Logan Shwedyk and Kyle Wert finished their seasons off with wins in the Middleport Mechanical Thunder Stock and HRW Automotive Mini Stock divisions, respectively.

The first of the three Triple 15’s began with Mark Smith and Cory Turner on the front row. Smith was looking for the third Night Before the Nationals win of his career, but Turner had other ideas and took the lead from Smith on lap three. Smith spent the remainder of the caution-free race unsuccessfully trying to chase Turner down, but Turner took his first Night Before the Nationals win by 1.239 seconds. Smith settled for the runner-up spot, followed by Jared Horstman, Shone Evans, and Ryan Turner.

Dylan Westbrook and Jason Barney made up the front row for the second Triple 15, but third place starter Max Stambaugh quickly entered the fray to lead the first lap. Barney did not allow Stambaugh to get away though, and took the lead at the start/finish line at the completion of lap two. Yellow flags for Tyler Rand and Al Gilleta Jr. followed, but Barney stayed ahead of the field to take the win by 1.232 seconds over Mitch Brown. Stambaugh, row four starter Sam Hafertepe Jr., and row five starter Jordan Poirier rounded out the top five.

Jason Barney. (Dale Calnan photo)
The third Triple 15 of the night started with Parker Price-Miller and Jonathan Preston on the front row. It appeared two-time CSCN winner Price-Miller was going to run away with the win, but Matt Farnham had other ideas; the rookie 360 Sprint Car driver drove past Price-Miller on lap five and began to open a lead. Farnham’s lead shrunk as he negotiated traffic and Price-Miller adjusted his line. Disaster almost struck for the leaders with two laps to go, as Price-Miller had a big run out of turn four and almost got squeezed into the wall as Farnham drifted up the track. Farnham fought off a slide job from Price-Miller in turn one on the last lap, but Price-Miller drove around the outside to take the win in turns three and four. Farnham settled for second, followed by Preston, Jake Brown, and Billy VanInwegen.

Shone Evans, Mark Smith, Steve Poirier, Mitch Brown, Jared Zimbardi, and Dylan Westbrook claimed heat race wins for the 49 car field. Triple 15 winners Cory Turner, Jason Barney, and Parker Price-Miller earned guaranteed starting spots in Saturday night’s 35 lap Canadian Sprint Car Nationals A-Main, and will start 11th or better in the $10,000 USD-to-win event.

Night Before the Nationals
Ohsweken Speedway
Ohsweken, ONT
Friday September 13, 2019

Heat Race #1:
1. 87x-Shone Evans
2. 15-Dan Nanticoke
3. 17m-Max Stambaugh
4. 15h-Sam Hafertepe Jr.
5. 28-Jordan Poirier
6. 84-Tyler Rand
7. 21-John Burbridge Jr.
8. 0-Glenn Styres
9. 77x-Alex Hill

Heat Race #2:
1. 55m-Mark Smith
2. 67x-Parker Price-Miller
3. 9-Steve Lyons
4. 88h-Josh Hansen
5. 28m-Conner Morrell
6. 99-John Trenca
7. 15f-Mike Ferrell
8. 46-Kevin Pauls

Heat Race #3:
1. fm28-Steve Poirier
2. 17-Jared Horstman
3. 7ny-Matt Farnham
4. 10-Jan-Jake Brown
5. 28f-Davie Franek
6. 1-Holly Porter
7. 7-Caleb Wood
8. 22jr-Allen Giletta

Heat Race #4:
1. 10-Mitch Brown
2. 87-Jason Barney
3. 22-Shawn Silter
4. 5d-Shane Ross
5. 23-Devon Dobie
6. 8-Hannah Ferrell
DQ. 3-Denny Peebles

Heat Race #5:
1. 35-Jared Zimbardi
2. 13-Cory Turner
3. 22p-Jonathon Preston
4. 91-Ryan Turner
5. 46c-Ryan Coniam
6. 85-Dustin Daggett
7. 68-Aaron Turkey
8. 9b-Scott Burk

Heat Race #6:
1. 47x-Dylan Westbrook
2. 7c-Dylan Swiernik
3. 79-Jordan Thomas
4. 56-Billy VanInwegen
5. 16L-Roger Levesque
6. 36-Kyle Moffit
DQ. 2-Dave Axton

Feature #1:
1. 13-Cory Turner
2. 55m-Mark Smith
3. 17-Jared Horstman
4. 87x-Shone Evans
5. 91-Ryan Turner
6. 9-Steve Lyons
7. 28m-Conner Morrell
8. 28f-Davie Franek
9. 1-Holly Porter
10. 23-Devon Dobie
11. 15-Dan Nanticoke
12. 7-Caleb Wood

Feature #2:
1. 87-Jason Barney
2. 10-Mitch Brown
3. 17m-Max Stambaugh
4. 15h-Sam Hafertepe Jr.
5. 28-Jordan Poirier
6. 47x-Dylan Westbrook
7. 79-Jordan Thomas
8. 84-Tyler Rand
9. 88h-Josh Hansen
10. 22-Shawn Silter
11. 22jr-Allen Giletta
12. 7c-Dylan Swiernik

Feature #3:
1. 67x-Parker Price-Miller
2. 7ny-Matt Farnham
3. 22p-Jonathon Preston
4. 10-Jan-Jake Brown
5. 56-Billy VanInwegen
6. 5d-Shane Ross
7. 21-John Burbridge Jr.
8. 8-Hannah Ferrell
9. 46c-Ryan Coniam
10. 16L-Roger Levesque
11. 99-John Trenca
12. 35-Jared Zimbardi
13. 15f-Mike Ferrell