Martin Scores Swamp Cabbage Shootout Victory

Top Gun Sprint Car Series

From the Top Gun Sprint Car Series

Clewiston, FL — The Top Gun Sprints made their first visit of 2011 to the Hendry County Motorsports Park in Clewiston on Saturday February 26, 2011. There were 14 cars at the track to give fans two heat races and a 25 lap feature race.

The heat races are lined up using a pill pull system, and Mark Ruel Jr. in the 83 had the pole for the start of the first heat race with Tim George in the 1* on the outside, Tim George took the race lead at the start and held on to take the race win. Johnny Gilbertson had the pole for the start of the second heat race in the 27 car with Danny Martin in the 24 on the outside, Danny Martin took the initial race lead and went on to take the heat win.

Using a passing points system to line up the feature race and a six car inversion, Terry Witherspoon in the 43 car had the pole for the start of the feature race, with Ryan Partin in the 14 car on the outside. The race got underway and Lap 1 seen first caution with Tyler Godwin clipped big tire in turn four, with broken parts was done for the night. On the next complete restart Danny Martin come from the 4th position and took the race lead and never looked back taking the win. Ryan Partin in the 14 finished in second place, followed by Terry Witherspoon in the 43, Mark Ruel Jr. in the 83, with Tim George in the 1* car finishing out the top 5. The KSE Hard Charger Award went to Jimmy Ballew Jr. in the 0 car.

The Top Gun Sprints will be at North Florida Speedway March 19, 2011 .

Top Gun Sprints

Hendry County Motorsports Park, February 26, 2011

Heat #1

1) 1* Tim George (Venice, FL)

2) 14 Ryan Partin (Orlando, FL)

3) 83 Mark Ruel Jr. (Jacksonville, FL)

4) 43 Terry Witherspoon (West Jefferson, NC)

5) 6 Mike Schroeder (SouthWestRanches, FL)

6) 0 Jimmy Ballew Jr. (Riverveiw, FL)

7) 59 Danny Statter (Deltona, FL)

Heat #2

1) 24 Danny Martin (Sarasota, FL)

2) 4C Tyler Godwin (Tampa, FL)

3) 14W Danny Jones (Valrico, FL)

4) 27 Johnny Gilbertson

5) 36 Ken Laureno (Port Charlotte, FL)

6) 01 Rebecca George (Venice, FL)

7) 8 Rich Alexander (Tampa, FL) DNS

Feature: 1) 24 Danny Martin; 2) 14 Ryan Partin; 3) 43 Terry Witherspoon; 4) 83 Mark Ruel Jr.; 5) 1* Tim George; 6) 27 Johnny Gilbertson; 7) 0 Jimmy Ballew Jr.; 8) 6 Mike Schroeder; 9) 36 Ken Laureno; 10) 01 Rebecca George; 11) 8 Rich Alexander; 12) 14W Danny Jones; 13) 59 Danny Statter; 14) 4C Tyler Godwin